We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made to feel at home :-D”
Review of The Trevross

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Trevross
Ranked #45 of 99 Great Yarmouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 May 2014

As soon as we arrived after a Long 7 hours journey we was welcomed with door open and immediately helped in with luggage. Not only was we made to feel very welcome by Anna the managers wife but she also helped me carry Our luggage Which weighed a ton up 2 Flights of stairs. My mother had a lovely conversation with her for a while and we felt Like nothing was too Much trouble we would definately Recommend this lovely b & b if you was ever staying in great yarmouth!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank faithful27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gobold, Owner at The Trevross, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

It was a pleasure to meet you and no trouble at all to assist you. We are already looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2014

The management are very rude..would argue with you without the need to..Disturbing at late time..coming in nightwear and knocking at your room door for silly reasons...very unprofessional..They talk loudly in the corridor and argue about getting in complains in the morning because of noise we didnt make..we have been to many guest house before but this is the WORST experience we ever had!!Please be careful..you pay for what you get!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank honesrov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gobold, Owner at The Trevross, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

We have contacted Tripadvisor to have this review removed. A similar review was left on the site where the booking came from and that has been removed already. The guests caused problems and did not even stay in addition they threatened to leave bad reviews if we did not comply with there demands. We did not comply and now we have to see this false, malicious and inaccurate review. We hope tripadvisor will remove it like the other company but after 2 weeks of waiting we reluctantly have no alternative but to leave this comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

The hotel is very well located for the sea front and city centre but the room was very basic with a small double bed rather than a normal size double bed and communal shower and wc!
The TV was located on top of a build-in wardrobe which meant that you had to be laying down on the bed to watch it!
The mattress was so soft that it felt like a water bed and therefore was very uncomfortable.
The shower was located on the floor above us and i tried 3 times to get in but it was always occupy so we had to leave without showering as we did not want to risk being overcharged for checking out late.
There was a communal toilet on the floor below us and above us but not in the room!
I toilet was locked by a bolt but obviously not strong enough to stop anybody getting in as i got caught with my panties down by another guest (even though the bolt was on!)
Everytime we left the hotel to go out, there was always a group of people smoking outside the hotel which we did find quite intimidating too.
All in all i would not recommend this place to anybody and will definitely no go back there.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sylvie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gobold, Owner at The Trevross, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

We are sorry you were disappointed but we are not a hotel we are a budget B&B. We have many rooms and you should have said something when there and we could have moved you to a larger room. We should have pointed out the other toilets and showers to you so sorry about that. Another guest told us about the lock and this has been fixed.

The room you stayed in is one of the few we have not yet refurbished. It will in the new year and perhaps you could visit again and let us know and we will put you in a bigger refurbished room.

As for the smoking we were very busy that weekend, we use do have smoking rooms but have now gone totally non smoking so when busy unfortunately people do gather outside.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I wasn't expecting a lot from this place as it was cheap and we only wanted somewhere to sleep for a couple of nights. What we got was a very comfortable bed in a clean boarding house.....exactly what it says on the tin. No frills but at this price I am not disappointed, in fact pleasantly surprised. A good base for a cheap holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gobold, Owner at The Trevross, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

We are glad your expectations were fulfilled. We just try to offer somewhere friendly, clean and at a affordable price. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gobold, Owner at The Trevross, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 June 2013

I have read a lot of reviews on here but I must say I found the Trevross to be a very good place to stay.

If you want somewhere to get your head down each night, clean and tidy then you can't go wrong. It's very basic but the beds were very comfy. The owner told us he has had all new mattresses put in. I had a couple of good nights here and slept like a baby.

The location is brilliant very just off Marine Parade and is superb for all the attractions. We were a stag party of 18 and the owner showed us where to park our minibus for free and he was very accomodating to our needs. There is no breakfast here but just up the road is Merlins, which is a sports bar. We based ourselves here and the food is excellent value.

I would definitely stay here again and if your booking a stag do then do let the owner know as he can sort you out some free passes to clubs and bars.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank bigborisbushkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gobold, Owner at The Trevross, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

Thank you for the great review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and thank you for coming. Hope the wedding is great and see you all again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

would reccomend a stay here was was great value for money,our room and rest of hotel very clean, all the staff were very helpful,its set in an ideal location to stay in for town shops and beach/seafront,will defnatley stay here again, and also reccomend to anyone we know that are going to this seaside town

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gobold, Owner at The Trevross, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you for the kind review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#15 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
429 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#17 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
308 reviews
0.4 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#13 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Wellesley Park Hotel
Wellesley Park Hotel
#50 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
34 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Elmfield
The Elmfield
#21 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
175 reviews
0.1 mi away
Willows Guest House
Willows Guest House
#11 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Trevross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trevross

Address: 56-57 Apsley Road, Great Yarmouth NR30 2HG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Great Yarmouth
Price Range: £29 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Trevross 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 23 bedroom budget bed & breakfast guest house in central Great Yarmouth. 1 Minute from the seafront and only 5 mins from the town centre. Open all year round. Free self service style contential breakfast included. Free Wi-Fi, Digital Freeview TV, towels & toiletries, ample coffee, tea, water, biscuits & chocolate, in all rooms. Own key, 24 hour access, late breakfast, late check-in, late check-out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your The Trevross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Trevross Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing