We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of some TLC!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Great Yarmouth
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We booked the Comfort Hotel for a night, having stayed here in the past. We were offered either a double room or a family room for the same price, and so presuming that the family room would be larger, opted for that. On arrival, we were booked in without a problem, and directed to the room. It had two single beds and a double, and although it was clean, it was very dated. The furniture was chipped and scratched, and there was hardly enough room for two people in the space between the beds, let alone a family!
The two pre-requisites for a good hotel stay for us are a powerful shower and fluffy towels. This hotel had neither. The 'shower' was over the bath, and to describe It as a trickle would be kind. There was a shower curtain (which to me in this day and age is totally unacceptable) across the bath which when drawn left no room to actually shower without it sticking to you!! This is gross really if you think how many other people it has stuck to. Towels were clean but a bit rough.
Breakfast was cheap and cheerful, with the staff seemingly in a fluster trying to fill up the self-service buffet, but the cold buffet looked nice and fresh.
All in all this is for me a hotel which I would not want to stay in again. When we first stayed here it was lovely, but unfortunately it seems to have been neglected and now needs some time and money spending on the rooms especially, to bring it up to scratch

Room Tip: Have a look at the room if possible before you agree to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clickster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKCHotels, Manager at Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I am so sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us.

We pride ourselves on our great customer service, but this does not seem to be the experience you received during your stay.
Some of our bedrooms are in need of 'a little TLC', and we hope to start this in the not too distant future. Maintenance have been informed of your comments regarding the shower and will be dealing with the issues you mentioned but I can only apologise that this was not sorted during your stay had we been made aware.
Thank-you for bringing to our attention the texture of the towels, we are currently in contact with our laundry company to resolve any issue.

I sincerely hope that you stay with us again in the future for you to experience our usual high standards.

Kind Regards

Amanda Blyth
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 422 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

we stopped Friday till Sunday what hospitality we was given tea & coffee on arrival cases taken to our rooms, most of us went to the races on the Friday afternoon so they rearranged evening meals to seven o clock so we didn't have to rush about when we got back and the meals were waiting for all meals after that was a pleasure to eat and plenty of food could not fault any of the week-end

Room Tip: room 106 ground floor behind reception little bit of noise but the size and comfort made up for that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoventryTrevorb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKCHotels, Manager at Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank-you for your kind feedback, we are delighted you along with your large party of friends enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves on our customer service along with our fantastic 'home from home' freshly cooked meals, you would have been one of the first to try our 'home grown' free range eggs from one of 'our girls' too!
We do hope to welcome you back to the Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Hotel was booked for a Sunday night, as a stop off before our mon-Fri break at a nearby caravan site.

Room size for family was excellent, clean and comfortable with all our requirements - a little outdated but still better value than most 'cheap' chain hotels. Good size beds and our room had a view over the front street, but also from the side across to the pier/sea. Car parking right outside hotel, and free, worked out very well. I guess in busy summer months getting a space could be more of a challenge!!

Bar was reasonable although we only had two drinks, not much seating but sufficient for us on this occasion. Friends ate in bar and found the found average, but no real big issues just what expected for prices/demand in hotel. Breakfast was good, decent selection and while we ate at 8am hot buffet was still hot.

Location excellent, you're closer to the old pier and winter gardens but no trouble. The stroll to the 'town' area took about twenty mins.

Great little bargain...just needs a bit of TLC in some areas.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bluemoonkid10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This is a great hotel just of the main street through Yarmouth. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The rooms were a double, which was fine but the bathroom you had to shut the door before you could get to the loo and a family room which was great. The breakfast was lovely with a great choice of food. It was very clean and very tidy, will be staying there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helmethead06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Have stayed in this hotel on a number of occasions. Every time has been very clean and comfortable. Good location just off the main front and round the corner from the casino.

Good value for the stay. Didn't have breakfast on this occasion but have done in the past which was also good and varied.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

staff were nice , situated in a good place ,wasn,t that impressed with the rooms didn't feel clean ,the food in restaurant was ok only ate there once for convenience , not many spaces for parking outside and was told to park underneath hotel one night where there is no lighting etc which could be very dangerous not being able too see where you are going once parked and pretty scary as anyone could be lurking about

Room Tip: close too beach and shops that's my only positive on this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank essexchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

The hotel staff were ok, the welcome was a bit staid, and the waiter for our evening meal, seemed flustered (there were only 9 guests having a meal) but they were ok overall. our room was very large and airy, but what the hell is that smell, it seems that when you came into the room this smell (like sewerage) hit you hard, but then seemed to dispel as you walked around the room?We would have asked for another room, but we knew the hotel was full. The evening meal and breakfast were ok, but the curry was the mildest I have ever eaten.
We would try other hotels in the area, rather than go back to this one, mainly because of that smell.

Room Tip: Our room was 303and the stairs were a bit steep, but as the hotel was full we did not ask for anothe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christopher P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#16 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
304 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#1 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
1,088 reviews
0.9 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#13 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
519 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Sea Princess
The Sea Princess
#20 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
583 reviews
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Great Yarmouth Hotel
Travelodge Great Yarmouth Hotel
#3 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth

Address: 14 Albert Square, Great Yarmouth NR30 3JH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Great Yarmouth
Price Range: £40 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YOUR NUMBER 1 CHOICE FOR BUSINESS & LEISURE IN GREAT YARMOUTH!Ideally located just a minute's walk from Great Yarmouth's Golden Mile, the 3 star Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth is a superb base for a leisure break by the sea with plenty to see & do in the surrounding area including the Norfolk Broads.For the business visitor to Great Yarmouth, we are within easy reach of all business centres, Gapton Hall, South Denes & the Euro Centre as well as being just a 2 mile drive from North Denes heliport.Hotel facilities include 'Below Decks' Restaurant, offering great food in a contemporary atmosphere at competitive prices. Our well stocked 'Lookout Bar' and lounge offers bar meals & light bites at great prices & FREE WI-FI. Our 100 capacity Garden Suite offers a civil ceremony license, air conditioning, natural lighting over looking the enclosed hotel gardens (perfect for relaxing in the seaside sunshine!). We also offer Free on-site & on road parking with no restrictions and FREE WI-FI throughout.The hotel boasts a variety of 50 tastefully decorated en-suite bedrooms including Family rooms all with tea/coffee making facilities, cable television, telephone, radio/alarm, hair-dryer & Free Wi-Fi internet access.PLEASE NOTE: The hotel does not have a lift. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing