We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Damp, smelly run down hotel in an awful seaside town.”
Review of The Sea Princess

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Sea Princess
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Great Yarmouth
caxton, cambs
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Damp, smelly run down hotel in an awful seaside town.”
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Me and 2 mates stayed here for the legends of rock weekend and we booked it because it was cheap. The hotel was cold, damp, dark and very run down. As i got a lift up to my room in the lift i walked out of the lift to be greeted with water gushing through a strip light!! very dangerous. My room was cold, dark and the carpet was very filthy and the same carpet was in the bathroom and it was wet and smelly. The toilet seat was broken and moved. The only good thing about the room was the very comfy bed! we all agreed on that! breakfast was not nice. We ordered full English and it came within 1 minute and was cold, it had been pre cooked and was cold and looked depressed. The cereal table was tesco value stuff, i wouldn't feed my cat that! all in all cheap but very nasty!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrblakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    87
    71
    64
    150
See reviews for
89
239
18
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2013

We stayed at the Hadleigh Gables hotel the night before the Legends of Rock festival. We found the owner & his staff very friendly & helpful. Our room was basic but more than adequate for our needs & at £49 was excellent value for money with the full English breakfast included.
We would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fecoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Very friendly hotel. Clean, roomy and very welcoming. Good value. Perfect location. Close to all amenities. Off road parking, which was great, didn't want to leave the car in a car park. It was nice to get a drink at the bar in the evening. Had a lovely time, would definitely stay here again, if we go to this region.
Mr. & Mrs. Linley

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jackie2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We stayed, off season, for 1 night visiting family at this hotel. The choice of Hadleighs was purely down to economics as it was the cheapest on Laterooms. We thought whatever it's like, at £35 for 2 including breakfast we'd nothing to lose. What a pleasant surprise!!! There were plenty of off road parking. It's on the seafront and within walking distant of the shops + amusements. Warm welcome by the owner, who show us up to our room. The room was dated but clean throughout included the ensuite. Modern flat screen DVD TV with freeview. Bed was comfortable with crisp bedsheets. The hotel has a spacious well stock bar with live entertainment. Finally, breakfast in the morning was served by 2 very cheerful waitresses and nothing was too much to ask. Only thing we like to change, is to change their present brand of teabags. Much better than some of the more expensive hotels we've stayed in! Would return again and would recommend to anyone!!!

Room Tip: If you want a quiet night, ask for a room away from the bar as they've live entertainment on at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryNSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanford le Hope, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012

We went on a Tinsel and Turkey Break coach trip. The Hotel was old but very clean, the first room we were given was not very big but we swapped with a fellow traveller and this room was lovely with a sea view. The hotel was warm and friendly and the waiter/barman Jorge was good, food was also good and the entertainment. Only dissapointment was no christmas crackers or music on the "Christmas Day" meal.

Room Tip: room 16 big and with a sea view, great twin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 60Val
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

this hotel was dirty, smelly and generally unwelcoming. i will never stay there again. there was no proper quilt on the bed just a thin sheet and it was freezing. me and my partner were put in room 8. infact the what we saw of the hotel put us off even trying the breakfast. i would sooner sleep on the beach than there again

Room Tip: do not stay in room 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ginadixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Great Yarmouth hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 November 2012

I took a coach group to the hadleigh gables hotel in great yarmouth.The management made us feel very welcome and were very facilitating.All the bedrooms were very clean and newly decorated with free wi-fi.The evening meals and breakfast was very good and plentiful.The restaurant staff were very efficiant.The evening entertainment was very good.Overall a very good stay and would recommend this hotel and have booked for next year as all of my group were very happy.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.9 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#13 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
406 reviews
0.0 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#14 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
181 reviews
0.8 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#15 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
280 reviews
0.3 mi away
The New Beach Hotel
The New Beach Hotel
#10 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#3 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sea Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sea Princess

Property: The Sea Princess
Address: 6-7 North Drive, Great Yarmouth NR30 1ED, England (Formerly Hadleigh Gables Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sea Princess 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are assured of a warm welcome at this sea front hotel. Family run, we have 40 bedrooms all en-suite 4 of them have disabled friendly wet room showers and balconies overlooking wellesley park. We can cater for coach parties or individuals. Special diets etc. with at least 4 nights live entertainment you dont have to go far to enjoy yourselves. We have a new lift to all floors please give us a try. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Sea Princess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hadleigh Gables Great Yarmouth
The Sea Princess Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing