We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“horrible place”
Review of The Sea Princess

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sea Princess
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Great Yarmouth
Takeley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“horrible place”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

we arrived saturday afternoon we were told where to find our room lift was ok but didnt like the idea of leaving our car keys with hotel so they could move cars around , we got to our room well horror it was clean in its own way very dated and paint coming off we had a twin room and the end of my husbands bed was actually discusting all stained and dirty and the room had a funny smell. we were there just for one nite wouldnt have stayed any longer the bathroom was horid cant describe it actually horified , we were rite next to the lift so alot of noise and people slamming doors and the teles were very high up . the breakfast was disgusting and service poor i couldnt even eat the toast it was horid just the smell of the place put me of eating there eat up the road in a nice coffee bar. couldnt wait to leave he said was every thing ok i said if you like that kind of thing , would never never never stay here again disgusting

Room Tip: i cant even rate it it was disgusting
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank iris492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    87
    71
    64
    150
See reviews for
89
239
18
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2014

THE HOTEL is by the sea with an excellent location.We were greeted by a very friendly manager.Our room overlooked the sea and was very spacious with tea/coffee making facilities.
The breakfast in the morning was plentiful and served with a smile.We would definitely return again as our stay was made very welcome.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Advertised as 4 star and newly decorated
Clearly not as everything is 'dated'
We opened the door, room 24, and were greeted by dirt in the pan
The stench pipe had a leak
We had booked for the week
In the hope of getting a tan.
The place had a smell and a wobbly floor
And the lock was broke on the door
Stained bed covers from previous lovers?
On the towels there seemed to be more
We complained to the boss who looked at a loss
But clearly could not give a toss!
We had a sea view
But you wouldn't have knew
As the glazing was covered in dew
The no power shower was found in the cupboard
Right beside the curtain less loo.
We went for a rekkie
In search of our brekkie
It was found in the dining room hall
If we weren't mistaken
The sausage and bacon
Was cooked at the last Christmas ball!
Mushrooms of rubber, snotty eggs and beans too
It didn't take long to require the loo.
Green mould on the toast
We complained to the host
She said it was only that slice!
We sat and ate the cheap meal on the plate
That wasn't even fit for the mice
It all seems that this is your lot
The outside seat painted over the rot
The floor in reception is starting to dip
You have to watch out or you will trip
Always smiling and wanting to please
The manager seemed full of wit
But a different story when overheard on the phone
That the last six years had been ( rhymes with ducking fit !)
Under the circumstances don't take any chances
By booking a room at this place
You can tell by our rhyme
That it's like doing time
So go somewhere else with your case.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Louise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Great Yarmouth hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

As a former guest house owner I can only describe this"hotel" as a disgrace.
We booked for five nights arriving on the 15 June and departed on the 16 June! The first room they showed us was very small and cramped with cheap furniture. The wardrobe doors were off the runners and the cistern to the W.C. was loose and hanging on with one screw.We complained and were offered another room that was worse than the first. We had booked a sea-view room and this one was at the back of the hotel over looking the car park.
We stated that we were not happy with the accommodation and would not be staying.Where upon we were offered a family room with a nice bay window over looking the sea.We thought that this room was suitable and moved in.However when we came to look around we found that it was far from wonderful-a more apt description would be " disgraceful".
The shower room was more like a broom cupboard so small that there was only room for a shower and a W.C. with the wash hand basin in a small anti-room more like a box-room measuring 6'0''by 6'0'' with a single bed and the W.H.B.
The main room housed a single and a double bed. There was no more than 9" between the bed and the wardrobe. One set of drawers and two small chairs. no place for suitcases so they had to go on the bed. The room was so small that you had to move around side-ways. And this was with only two people.-heaven help you if there was four!
I only hope that they have the necessary fire certificate.
The only saving grace was the dining room which was spotless and a very good breakfast.
Unfortunately we had paid in advance and we are still trying to get our money back.
We booked our hotel from the Great Yarmouth Tourist Guide 2013. On complaining to the Tourst Board we were informed that Hadleigh Gables was no longer advertised. We think that this speaks for itself.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Beryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Went on a coach trip.the hotel was very clean.THe room was very tidy and cleaned every day.The breakfast had a wide variety and dinners where very well prepared.wpuld definitely recommend this hotel.WE will go back again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rekha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Just returned from a 5 day break at the Hadleigh Gables only downside is that the rooms are small.Food was lovely & always hot, staff are friendly & very helpful - even made us sandwiches to take to races in the evening.Would definitely recommend this hotel & we will certainly be going again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed one night at Hadleigh Gables and have to say after reading all the negative reviews on here that I wasn't really looking forward to it. However we were pleasently surprised, the rooms (although quite small) were clean and comfortable. The hotel itself is perfectly placed and you can almost fall onto the beach from the front door.Enjoyed our stay and we will go back

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.9 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#13 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
406 reviews
0.0 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#14 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
181 reviews
0.8 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#15 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
280 reviews
0.3 mi away
The New Beach Hotel
The New Beach Hotel
#10 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#3 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sea Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sea Princess

Property: The Sea Princess
Address: 6-7 North Drive, Great Yarmouth NR30 1ED, England (Formerly Hadleigh Gables Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sea Princess 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are assured of a warm welcome at this sea front hotel. Family run, we have 40 bedrooms all en-suite 4 of them have disabled friendly wet room showers and balconies overlooking wellesley park. We can cater for coach parties or individuals. Special diets etc. with at least 4 nights live entertainment you dont have to go far to enjoy yourselves. We have a new lift to all floors please give us a try. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Sea Princess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hadleigh Gables Great Yarmouth
The Sea Princess Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing