We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Obliging and Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The New Beach Hotel
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Great Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2013

I travelled with a friend on an Alpha Tour to this hotel. The hotel is on the sea front directly opposite the pier. Reception is the only facility on the ground floor, although there is a small lift, should this be required to other floors. The dining, bar and lounge areas being on the first floor. Some bedrooms on this floor and the two floors above. Despite the extremely cold windy weather outdoors, the hotel was comfortably warm. The room we shared was pleasant and clean and the water in the shower always hot. The only problem with the room was that we were unable to adjust one of the two radiators, which did make the room overly warm, especially during the night. We found all staff to be extremely friendly and helpful. I believe the menu is the same which ever Alpha hotel you stay in, so there were no surprises. Food adequate, but hardly first class cusine. This 'holiday' proved to be a welcome break, but I am glad that I have other more exciting times planned. Our coach load was the only coach in the hotel and this left the evenings (although entertainment was on offer three out of four nights) feeling somewhat lacking in atmosphere. I would recommend this hotel and the Alpha tour to anyone who wants a reasonably priced break.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Billmarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2013

Spent the weekend here with a party of friends and found all the staff very welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble. Rooms are very clean and tidy and the rates for the time of year were good value. I will definately be returning next year.

My only criticism (which was shared by others) was that the breakfast sausage doesn't taste too good. But don't let that put you off staying. Credit were it's due!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stan_from_Dorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013 via mobile

I stayed here over the weekend of 22nd-24th March with a few friends and found everything to be excellent. The rooms were good, clean and warm. The staff were brilliant and could not do enough for you. The hotel location is also good with everything you need a short walk away.
We have booked to return to this hotel again next year.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barker2473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Just stayed here for 4 nights with Alpha, and was pleasantly surprised after some of the negative reviews. Our room was at the back of the hotel but was obviously recently refurbished with nice tiles and shower in the bathroom and the bedding was relatively new. the food was adequate without being exciting and the staff were very nice. Our coach was only half full and we were the only ones staying there so we got the best of attention. The entertainment was very good but they didnt have much of an audience. Kate on the bar is a darling. the nightclub problem is no longer an issue as it closed 3 weeks ago and the hotel may be taking it over. The location is very good on the seafront and on one of the main streets going into the centre. All in all a very pleasant stay and would not hesitate to go back again

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JACKNORMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Living just under four hours away from Great Yarmouth and having less than 8 hours to find a hotel to stay in, this was a rushed choice. I did use TripAdvisor and look up some of the reviews and dismissed some of the more negative ones immediately. I'm pleased I did.

Admittedly the entrance is not up to much, but this hotel is one of those books which you don't judge by it's cover.

The steps up to two sets of doors make getting in with suitcases difficult. The reception doesn't look much either but...

Throughout our two night stay, every member of staff we encountered was utterly superb in their approach to customer service. We arrived quite late, around 9:45pm and still need to eat out. I had told the receptionist over the phone (her name escapes me sadly) that I wished to take my wife out to an Indian restaurant.

While checking in I saw pages and pages of Google Maps printed out which I thought was rather odd and couldn't understand why these may be littering the reception desk. It soon became clear...

The receptionist had gone to the trouble of researching at least 5 Indian restaurants in Great Yarmouth, printing out maps for each one showing the directions. This gesture alone makes me feel guilty grading the New Beach four 'blobs' out of five, but here are the reasons why:

- I needed to iron a shirt but the iron was dirty
- 'Do not disturb' door tags weren't provided
- Sausages at breakfast need to come from a quality Great Yarmouth butcher, not bought in from Brakes catering suppliers or worse

The showers are hot with good water pressure and the car parking is dealt with by cheap permits. There are only a few areas where the hotel needs to improve in order to be awarded five 'blobs' in my view.

Room Tip: From our experience and based on reviews from others we recommend rooms on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ConsumerBloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

There is a night club and lap dancing club under the hotel but my sister and i were on the third floor so it wasnt to bad for us, but other people complained about hearing the kitchen fan and heard people on the fire escape loud and swearing, My sister was told the only rooms left had a sea view so we were charged an extra 22.00 pound each and a lady we were talking to paid an extra 80.00 cant remember why but she only had a bath with no shower attachment so she had to buy a jug to wash her hair,food was average, the first waitress we had was rude an sharp like we were an inconvenience to her but the second waitress was so nice she was from portugal. the entertainment the female singers were very good the male singers average very disappointing last night young girl singer bingo then nothing couldnt even watch the t.v.s as they didnt bother to get anybody out to re boot them it was as though [oh well you lot are going tomorrow] one chap told us its gone down so much in the past year but the bedrooms were clean so well done to the cleaning staff.

Room Tip: Higher floor third if possible, over looking see view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Brilliant Hotel with wonderful Staff, homely, efficient and accommodating.
A big thanks go to Ben the Manager, that met our needs perfectly, wonderful gentleman.
and Patsy who was always there to help us. not that we were a problem, but it was lovely seeing a friendly face every time you entered the Hotel.
Enjoyed sitting on the balcony watching the night life, it was great.

Would recommend this wonderful Hotel to everyone xxxxxx
Mrs Pauline Quadling

Room Tip: Room with a wonderful sea view and Great Yarmouth at its best at 6pm on a brilliant sunny morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paulline Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#13 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
224 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#16 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
429 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#1 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
524 reviews
0.5 mi away
Knights Court Hotel
Knights Court Hotel
#2 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
473 reviews
0.4 mi away
Furzedown Hotel
Furzedown Hotel
#5 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Beach Hotel

Address: 67 Marine Parade, Great Yarmouth NR30 2EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Great Yarmouth
#2 Best Value Hotel in Great Yarmouth
Price Range: £52 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The New Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Beach Hotel - Great Yarmouth (3 Alpha grading - AA 3 Star)Superbly situated in Great Yarmouth's most central and lively location, directly opposite Britannia Pier and a short walk from the shops. Currently undergoing a major refurbishment which increased the bedrooms to 95 by early summer 2016, all with central heating and private bath or shower and WC, tea/coffee making facilities, internal telephone, hair dryer and Freeview TV. From 2016 all public areas are located on the ground floor including a quiet lounge and a new bar lounge, both overlooking the sea front and a new restaurant and entertainment room where entertainment is provided most evenings. Free WiFi in public areas. Two lifts serve most rooms. On street car parking can be arranged at no extra cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The New Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Beach Hotel Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing