We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dog friendly 100%”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Seashells Guest House
Ranked #47 of 100 Great Yarmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
maldon essex
Level Contributor
104 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Dog friendly 100%”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This B&B is REALLY dog friendly!

Sasha, our 11 month old puppy was made to feel welcomeby Sue, the owner, on arrival (not just the usual...ok you have a dog...make sure it behaves)

She was given some home made treats when she arrived and a sausage at every breakfast for her morning snack.

Sue is a wonderful friendly lady who you cannol fail to warm to!

The room was cosy with a huge bed with a dog friendly throw on top for napping dogs!

Beware the full english breakfast... good enough to make anyone break their diet, with extremely tasty bacon to die for.

Thoroughly recommended for anyone who wants to stay near the seafront in a central position in Great Yarmouth even if you are not accompanied by a hound or two.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank darkangel10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    29
    4
    4
    9
See reviews for
45
133
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My wife and I have stayed at this B+B twice now with our son. Each time sue has made us welcome, The food is excellent and the rooms are very clean and well kept and Sue is a very friendly lady who like to take good care of her guests. Our room had T.V with D.V.D player, Kettle on suit shower and toilet, my wife would love to take the bed home with us as its super king size. The B+B its self is not far from the sea front within short walking distance as are the shops much to my Wife delight. We will definitely be staying here again. Thank you sue for making us so welcome. our son tom has autism and sue recognised this out and she was great with him.so we thank her very much. Jen, Owen and Tom.

Room Tip: we stayed in the K9 room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
n,pton
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

only had 1 night ...but was impressed good bed. top shower good...breakfast was superb...nothing was missing so much choice..loved it ..and a real fruit salad.....some 4star places serve the prepared stuff from a 10 kilo tub.not nice....very upset about the chocs by the bed as i had no control and ate them all nice touch...but one can only recommend the this place with no qualms ,,plus a very good price ...thankyou so much and all the best in the future.
d. morrison .....march 2014

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hrhN_pton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

A very friendly and dog loving place..
Susan was an excellent hostess, and the rooms were very clean. (one of the best places I have stayed in, and very much cleaner than some that dont allow dogs)

Very close to all amenities. The sea was a five minute walk away and town centre only ten minutes away. There is a shop across the road. There was also a very nice park a stones throw from town centre to walk your dog.

Superb for not only dog lovers but for families as well, with tv in your room.

The breakfast was superb and came with a couple of very very nice customer in mind surprises Very thoughtful and caring, which I think could have only been done by someone that cared about making her guests stay as pleasant as possible.

I loved the place and would definitely advise anyone looking for somewhere homely and friendly to stay, and with comfortable clean rooms to try Seashells first, as Susan made our stay very enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 124jeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
440 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

I must admit that when we booked this B&B we didn't realise it was dog friendly or that it allowed smoking in some bed rooms. Dogs certainly don't bother us and being a social smoker, I can't really complain about that. Landlady was very friendly and helpful indeed. Room was fine although shower had a small problem. I can see why it has so many good reviews overall but if Dogs and smoking bother you, stay somewhere else.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Hemmo1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beccles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

The smell in this b&b is awful, luckily does not smell as bad in the rooms. Didn't like that the room was a smoking room - should have said when booked. Toilet also smelled awful and got worse when flushed. Though as only staying for short trip it would do as we wanted to be out most of the time anyway.

Breakfast - cutlery had not been washed properly and had hard bits of food on, swapped with table next to us. Picked up a packet of jam, it had split and hairs were stuck all over it - disgusting!

That all being said the lady who runs the place was very friendly, not a nice place to stay though.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank P L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dodzy59, Owner at Seashells Guest House, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Having read this review, it is very similar to the last one, and both reviewers seem to come from Norfolk, Does make me wonder if someone out there does not like me and yet i am such a lovely person lol. If you did stay here then i am very sorry for the issues you had and wished you had told me at the time, The toilets do go haywire from time to time but they are dealt with straight away if i am informed, All our rooms are smoking rooms and this has been mentioned plenty of times in my reviews so i am assuming that as you put a review on here, you would have read my previous reviews and noticed that smoking is allowed. Cannot believe i left hard bits of food on cutlery must have a word with my dishwasher or maybe get a new one. Also swapping cutlery with another table is a terrible thing to do as they would have had dirty cutlery as well and i might have got another review like this one, why did you not just tell me and i would have changed it. You also mentioned a split jam with hairs on it, Well the only person i can blame for that is the supplier, Wish you had told me about that one could have got a refund.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Attleborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Walked in walked out! Absolutely disgusting smell,how this place is recommended amazes me. Dirty and smelly. Stairs are dangerous, complete fire hazard. Bedroom was cramped and dirty.
If you are absolutely desperate take a tent or sleep in your car,got to be better than sleeping at seashells!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
14 Thank Bruce K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dodzy59, Owner at Seashells Guest House, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
I have already informed trip advisor about this review as it is completely unjustified. Nobody has walked in or walked out, I have a fire inspection every year so i do not know why they would say i am a fire hazard. All i can say about this review is that this person has never been here, and i have had no guest knocking on my door for the last 2 weeks due to the fact that my son had been in Hospital and i have had no vacancies on the door, the only people who have stayed here are pre bookings and a very good friend has seen guest in and has informed me that no body has knocked on the door. Please do not judge me on this review, Look at other reviews, i do not always get it right for everybody but i do my best. All i can say to this person who wrote this review is why would you do something like this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.2 mi away
The Trevross
The Trevross
#64 of 100 in Great Yarmouth
104 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Elmfield
The Elmfield
#17 of 100 in Great Yarmouth
155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silverstone House
Silverstone House
#22 of 100 in Great Yarmouth
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sandcastles Guest House
Sandcastles Guest House
#31 of 100 in Great Yarmouth
76 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Weatherdene
The Weatherdene
#10 of 100 in Great Yarmouth
182 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#18 of 100 in Great Yarmouth
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seashells Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seashells Guest House

Property: Seashells Guest House
Address: 57 Nelson Road North, Great Yarmouth NR30 2AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Seashells Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seashells, a very dog friendly bed and breakfast, only a 4 minute walk from the beach and shopping centre. Double rooms en-suite with large beds and large wall mounted TVs. A friendly, reasonably priced bed and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Seashells Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seashells Guest House Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing