We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some other hoteliers could learn a lot from these two great operators.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Winchester Private Hotel
Ranked #62 of 100 Great Yarmouth B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Some other hoteliers could learn a lot from these two great operators.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

Just back from a great weekend at Caister, Gregg and Samantha go beyond the call of duty with their service. I have them at the top of the leader board for first rate British B and B operators. Where do we begin. Most hospitable, clean rooms ,great breakfast , off street parking and they even helped me out with some urgent laundry when I had a spillage in my hold-all! Certainly value for money and wonderful hosts. Truly first class, not too much trouble kind of people. A true home from home. 100 per cent satisfied customer... Scott

Room Tip: Walking distance from town centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

We have just spent three nights at this hotel. Greg, Sam and their team are the most organized hotel team I have. ever seen. Service was consistently good thoughout our stay. Breakfast was filling, tasty and a request to suit individual preference was no
trouble at all. All at Winchester were friendly, not intrusive and very helpful. It is clear that all involved in this hotel work very hard to maintain a high standard of cleanliness and it was greatly appreciated. Many thanks to Greg, Samantha and their team.
Olive and Kirt. Milton Keynes

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olivekirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

Just got back from the the Winchester and i must say it was a pleasure to have stayed there.
the service. was excellent and the room had everything i needed.

Thanks again for an very enjoyable stay.


Gregg & Samantha

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Junior H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york england
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

What more can we say that hasn't been said. Nothing is too much trouble for Sam & Gregg and they always make our stay special. We stay at the Winchester for an annual music event in Gt Yarmouth and this will be our tenth stay.
On our last visit our car broke down 17 miles away from Yarmouth and not knowing any local services we rang Gregg in desperation, he organised a breakdown truck, a local garage and even came to pick us up.
The hotel is spotlessly clean, the food is great and the little extras go a long way. It really is home from home.
Thank you Sam & Gregg, see you next year.

Room Tip: Just book the Winchester, you wont regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yorsoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bungay, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

Stopped here for a brief over-night at short notice. Both Sam and Greg were brilliant hosts and very accomodating.

The hotel itself is really charming, with lots of period features, its' atmosphere is very friendly!

Secure parking, which is a bonus.

Our room was really clean, with a lovely comfy bed for our weary selves.

The breakfast was delicious and very filling, Sam is an excellent cook who makes sure you're well fed.

Overall, this is a very clean, tidy and welcoming hotel. A big thanks to everyone there, I would highly recommend!!

Room Tip: The back of the hotel faces south for those sun-worshippers!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

Gregg & Samantha were the most perfect hosts.Meals are outstanding,rooms are very clean &spacious. close to the amenties and we found everyone so friendly because lots of people return every year. This was our first stay here and we wil be going back A big thank you to Gregg & Samantha and all the staff for making our holiday just perfect. Wendy & Barry Caley.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barry c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

The hosts Sam and Gregg, really do make you feel at home, from the moment you arrive to the moment you leave, they're very friendly people. Alongside there lovely personalities, is a lovely hotel, which has a 'classic' look and feel to it, but feels very cosy. I tell you one thing i certainly didnt want to leave :( They both know how to cook fantastic dinners, which are to die for. They have that real home made 'sunday roast type' feel to them. So nice, and if its your birthday you get treated to Sams homemade cake, which is 110% worth going to the hotel on your birthday week just for the cake let alone the location of the hotel amongst other things. Seriously look no further this is the hotel you should stay at.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.7 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#15 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Old Station House
The Old Station House
#1 of 1 in Hemsby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.3 mi away
Copperfields Guest House
Copperfields Guest House
#74 of 100 in Great Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Cliff Hotel
Cliff Hotel
#1 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Great Yarmouth Hotel
Premier Inn Great Yarmouth Hotel
#2 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Trevross
The Trevross
#66 of 100 in Great Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winchester Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winchester Private Hotel

Property: Winchester Private Hotel
Address: 12 Euston Road, Great Yarmouth NR30 1DY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Winchester Private Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning Guest House in Great Yarmouth. Home cooking a speciality and awarded AA Dinner Award. Private car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Winchester Private Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winchester Private Hotel Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing