We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possibly the cleanest caravan site ever!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Great Yarmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wild Duck Holiday Park - Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Possibly the cleanest caravan site ever!”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stayed here for bank holiday weekend and honestly couldn't fault it. The staff are so welcoming. The park is very well maintained and the caravan we stayed in was spotless. The children loved activities put on daily. They were able to cycle safely around site and all drivers were very conscientious and drove slowly. It felt a very safe place to let the children "off the leach a bit". The park is lovely and you can get take out coffee and just sit and relax on benches whilst they play. Having book though a lucky dip with Sun holidays we'll certainly be booking direct and going again. Such a peaceful setting in woodland area. Also made use of pool which is basic but provides well supervised children's activities. Evening entertainment typical of haven, dancing music etc. Reasonably priced. Tesco just round corner. Visited Bewiderwoods and Fritton lake whilst there well worth a look.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wild Duck H, Manager at Wild Duck Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Hi Lucy S
We are very pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your holiday at Wild Duck and thanks for submitting your review.
It makes us happy to know that you couldn’t fault anything and you and your family felt safe and relaxed.
Please feel free to call one of our friendly holiday advisors on 01493 780268 for our latest offers and availability.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Kind Regards
Holiday Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    540
    293
    86
    29
    29
See reviews for
717
91
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

The site is set in a wooded location, not quite what what I expected as it's also in the centre if a village but still quite pretty. The layout is typical Haven entertainment centre, restaurant and pool all good. The caravan was nice and clean but as in previous posts upgrade to get central heating it's worth it.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Fibi69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wild Duck H, Manager at Wild Duck Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Hi Fibi69
Many thanks for sharing your thoughts about your recent holiday at Wild Duck.
We are pleased to know that you were happy with what the Park had to offer.
We hope that you will choose to return and holiday with us once again.
Kind Regards
Holiday Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Arrived at the site on Friday 2nd may for a 3 night break we upgraded to a caravan with heating in bedrooms, it was a new caravan very clean, the reception staff were friendly on arrival we went to the restaurant sitting duck on the 1st night the portions could have been bigger but the food tasted o.k. I like the way the caravans are not on top of each other, very clean site and surroundings. this is an ideal base for surrounding areas as we did not use the lounge we prefer being out all day and relaxing at night so cannot comment on the entertainment. I like this site and will probably book next may bank holiday.

Room Tip: if you can afford it get a caravan with central heating as the nights can be chilly
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynnie562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wild Duck H, Manager at Wild Duck Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Hi lynnie562
Thank you for your post regarding your visit to Wild Duck.
We are glad you had a lovely stay with us and liked the location of the Park. It is an ideal base to see all that Norfolk has to offer and there is so much to see and do.
We look forward to seeing you next May bank holiday!
Kind Regards
Holiday Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed here in our own tourer for a week arriving on Good Friday and although the site was full it never felt over crowded,the shower and toilet blocks were always clean and tidy the shower cubicles could of been slightly bigger and have somewhere to put all your clothes and shower stuff but they were always hot,there is a tipi in the woods and if you go through the woodland walk there is a big tree house and wooden seesaw,also it has 2 parks,the site is kept very clean,all the staff were very friendly especially the lifeguards my daughter enjoyed going swimming everyday and no matter what time you went it never felt overcrowded.the arcade is not that big but I think that's a good thing,most of the entertainment staff were brilliant really enthusiastic but some looked miserable and bored,we only saw one of the shows while we were there a band called scream and they were great.ate in the restaurant a couple of times the food was lovely,there's mini golf and kart bikes to hire which we're fun,we never used the launderette as it's quite expensive but overall we will definately be going back to this site even though for us it's a six hour drive but well worth it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Poppypeanut1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wild Duck H, Manager at Wild Duck Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Hello Poppypeanut1
Thank you for taking the time to add your comments.
We are very glad that you found our shower and toilet block always clean and tidy, George and Lynsey our cleaners take great pride in assuring our facilities are immaculate.
It’s great to hear you and your family had a lovely holiday and found our Team friendly and the Park very clean, I’ll pass on your comments.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Kind Regards
Holiday Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

This is a great place for a family get away.
We have two boys, aged 5 (nearly 6) and 3 and they loved it.
The woodland location is a great change from the beachside resorts and feels cleaner and more laid back.
A decent size indoor pool with lifeguards, although it could do with more changing rooms.
Lots of adventure playgrounds, a charming treehouse and seesaw on a woodland path and a nice , albeit a bit overpriced eatery in the sitting duck.
We don't really go in for evening entertainment but popped in early evening for the kids bit. The entertainers were the best I've seen at Haven and the shows have improved in the last few years.
Haven have done a great job landscaping the main area.
We arrived later evening and check in was friendly and super efficient. We then found our we'd been upgraded to Prestige. Our van has been gorgeous, a real treat.
We are seriously considering returning for another short break next year. We had thought that we'd venture afield but with free activities like swimming, archery, build a bug hotel. Bushcraft etc and all the play areas the boys have been well amused.
Finally get a family cart for an hour. Great fun and exercise!!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlieak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wild Duck H, Manager at Wild Duck Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Hello Charlieak
We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your get away at the Wild Duck and thanks for your great feedback.
It is lovely to hear you found your accommodation to be a real treat and your boys have been well amused and had great fun on our family cart.
We look forward to welcoming you back for another short break next year!
Kind Regards
Holiday Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, Beds
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Used this place as a base so we could visit some of the surrounding attractions . Reception were polite and friendly on booking in but can't give correct directions when asking where your caravan is located . Grounds were well maintained and laid out , the pub on site was also good . The caravan was clean however just having a little gas heater in the living room area meant the bedroom was rather cold . The kitchen area was adequate however placing a smoke detector so close to the cooker meant even without burning anything it was always going off ! The security only seemed to be there on our first evening but was friendly when we met them . We didn't watch a lot of TV however it was prone to freezing at times and you can only access wifi in the reception area and possibly the bar . All in all not a bad place but could be better if the above points are addressed .

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lutonlord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wild Duck H, Manager at Wild Duck Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Hi Lutonlord,
Thank you for taking the time to review our holiday park as we value all feedback from our guests.
I’m pleased to read that you found our grounds and venues to be well maintained, however I am sorry to see that you were disappointed with your accommodation. I do agree that caravans without central heating can be cold in the spring and autumn months. I’m not sure if you were aware that we do have caravans with additional heating in the bedrooms and bathroom or alternatively fan heaters can be hired from our hire shop.
I have asked our accommodation manager whether it is possible to move the smoke detector to a more suitable position, however they are positioned by the caravan manufacturer in order to comply with health and safety regulations.
The main gate is operated by one of our park safety team from 6pm every evening and in addition to this regular patrols are carried out by other members of the team. Due to our unique woodland setting the TV’s are prone to atmospheric interference and this also limits our WI-Fi connection.
Our aim at Wild Duck is to delight all our guests and I do hope you will return and allow us the chance to exceed your expectations in the future.
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canvey island Essex
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We have just returned from a short break at this Haven site. I am please to report that the lavatory blocks on the touring field have both been refurbished to a good standard, the cleaning crew are as ever doing an excellent job of cleaning and maintaining them, a really nice, efficient team.

Book in was very welcoming and efficient, Debbie the site warden is a joy, nothing is too much bother and she listens to your requests.

The site is as you know a Haven FAMILY holiday camp, at weekends and during school holidays there will be children there, if you don't like kids, DONT GO!. The site is in a managed woodland setting in very sandy soil, the grass is well worn and does not seem to have a chance to recover, but as I said the soil is sandy in wet weather it is not muddy and drained very fast.
Wild birds, rabbits, ducks and squirrels are abundant and the whole site is maintained to a very high standard. The staff are all very friendly, there are few signs about, but those that are there are written in a friendly manner, an excellent touring site offering good value camping weekdays and outside school breaks recommended for anyone.
My wife and I look forward to visiting several mor times this season.
Jeff n Jacquie Golding Canvey Island, Essex.

Room Tip: If you don't like kids(although you were one once) don't go weekends or school holiday time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wild Duck H, Manager at Wild Duck Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Hi Jeff n Jacquie,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review.
Here at Wild Duck we are very proud of our unique setting and it’s lovely to read that our guests feel the same. We put a considerable amount of effort into the refurbishment of our touring shower block over the winter period and it’s great to see that our efforts are appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Wild Duck soon.
Holiday Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Yarmouth
4.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#14 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
410 reviews
5.0 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#13 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
190 reviews
5.1 mi away
Knights Court Hotel
Knights Court Hotel
#3 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
#3 of 10 in Lowestoft
336 reviews
6.0 mi away
Seashore Holiday Park - Haven
Seashore Holiday Park - Haven
#3 of 31 in Great Yarmouth
1,192 reviews
5.7 mi away
Waveney River Centre
Waveney River Centre
#1 of 1 in Burgh St Peter
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Duck Holiday Park - Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Duck Holiday Park - Haven

Property: Wild Duck Holiday Park - Haven
Address: Wild Duck Holiday Park Howards Common | Park is open: 23 March to 29 October, Great Yarmouth NR31 9NE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Great Yarmouth
Hotel Class:4 star — Wild Duck Holiday Park - Haven 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Also Known As:
Wild Duck Holiday Park Hotel Great Yarmouth
Wild Duck Holiday Park - Haven Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing