We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely week”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Great Yarmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wild Duck Holiday Park - Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A lovely week”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We booked a top range three bed caravan, it was well equipped, clean and comfortable, beds all made up on arrival. Took our daughter for her 9th birthday and our 8 year old grandson came along. They had a great week playing crazy golf and going on the karts. We have been to Wild Duck on a number of occasions and have never been disappointed. The staff are friendly and helpful and the camp is lovely. Although this is a Haven camp it is a small site but still has all the Haven entertainment.

Room Tip: If you can, go out of school time as school holidays get very busy, caravans away from the centre ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janallan567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wild Duck H, Manager at Wild Duck Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Hi janallan567,
Thank you so much for your 5 star review! It sounds like you and your family really got involved and made the most of everything we have to offer here at Wild Duck, fantastic!
You have very kindly praised our hardworking team, and as always I will make sure your feedback is passed on. I know they will be delighted to have made a real difference to your holiday experience.
Please don’t leave it too long before you return as we’ll be waiting with a warm ‘Welcome Back!’
Sarah Corlett, Holiday Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    544
    294
    86
    29
    29
See reviews for
721
92
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Wild Duck on a Breakfree £15pp holiday for 3 nights. We upgraded our caravan before we travelled and was allocated a 2014 prestige model on a nice pitch with a 1pm check-in.

This is one of Havens smaller sites but still has all the same facilities and entertainment, which are mainly excellent. We ate in the Sitting Duck and have no complaints on the food. The outdoor pool has just been refurbished and looks great. Shame about the indoor one. This is in desperate need of remodernisation. It is a small, square pool with no water shoots etc. It also needs a good clean. There are a lack of changing rooms (waited 15 mins & that's in May!!), and it smelt very mouldy and of urine.

The woodland walk and kids treehouse are a great added extra.

I would definitely return to this site.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Virtualfluffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wild Duck H, Manager at Wild Duck Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Hi Virtualfluffy,
I am really pleased to read that you arrived on park and first impressions were so positive.
With this in mind and considering your positive comments around the rest of the park, it is especially disappointing to see that you found our indoor pool lacking.
I fully agree that in comparison to our outdoor pool, the indoor pool is in need of some modernisation and I will pass on your comments. I will also make sure that our Sports and Leisure Manager is made aware of the cleaning issues.
I’m really pleased this will not deter you from visiting us again and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Sarah Corlett
Holiday Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypridd
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Just got back from Wild Duck (Sun Holiday). Our caravan had 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms and was spotless. Had food from the chip shop on site and was very nice, bit pricey but they generally are, portions were good size too. Check in was quick, the lady who dealt with us was really nice and helpful (don't know her name but she said it was her first season), staff were very pleasant when we checked out too. The park was lovely and clean and ducks everywhere, the kids had great time feeding them. Had a fab time and will go back again. Don't pay much attention to any negative reviews because it is a very nice park

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janineb852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wild Duck H, Manager at Wild Duck Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Hi Janineb852

Thank you for your review of our park. The whole team here at Wild Duck take pride in the presentation of the park and our aim is to exceed expectations by providing great customer service to all our guests. Reading reviews like this are so rewarding for the team and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Wild Duck again.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dereham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed for two nights and will happily return.
The site is clean and well organised. The facilities top notch and the on site shop and restaurant are reasonably priced and to a good standard.
All staff we encountered were helpful and professional without being overbearing.
I used the swimming pool which was very well set up, again with very helpful and friendly staff.

This is predominantly a family site, so bear in mind (especially in the school holidays) it's going to be a bit more lively than a Caravan Club type site. But, if you want to let the kids explore safely, or like us you visit mid-week in term time, this is an absolute gem.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank johnnie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wild Duck H, Manager at Wild Duck Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Hi JohnnieH

The team at Wild Duck take pride and enjoy their work so I'm pleased to see that's reflected to our guests.
Thank you for taking the time to review our park and I hope we can look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I live local to the area and my family came and stayed here for the weekend. It was brilliant! Staff were amazing and attentive. The only thing i would criticize is that we wasn't made aware that the swimming pool only had stair access and not like a little slope into the pool (as my Nan is going blind we wasn't able to partake in this activity) But none the less we went and grabbed a coffee in the little hut next door.
This is a truly lovely place to stay and I would recommend to family if they wanted a trip away!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsPiper2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wild Duck H, Manager at Wild Duck Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Hi Mrs Piper2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our park.
It’s great to read your positive comments about the park and our team, however, I am sorry to hear that you found access to our Swimming Pool difficult and I will certainly bring this to the attention of the Leisure Manager for him to look into.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Staff have again made our stay more pleasant because of their friendliness from the minute we booked in at reception. Special thank you to George who cleaned shower block. Such a lovely chap. Then there was Debbie the brilliant campsite warden who excelled trying to resolve our motorhome problem and Phil who checked the gas bottles and cured leak. Also Nicole who helped to resolve a minor problem with food and non responsive chef!! Overall (despite weather) we have enjoyed ourselves again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wild Duck H, Manager at Wild Duck Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Hi Chris F
Thank you for posting your holiday review.
We are very pleased to hear you found all our Team friendly and to have a problem solving attitude; nothing motivates our Team more than a pat on the back so I’ll happily pass on your comments.
We do hope to see you again soon!
Kind Regards
Holiday Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stayed here for bank holiday weekend and honestly couldn't fault it. The staff are so welcoming. The park is very well maintained and the caravan we stayed in was spotless. The children loved activities put on daily. They were able to cycle safely around site and all drivers were very conscientious and drove slowly. It felt a very safe place to let the children "off the leach a bit". The park is lovely and you can get take out coffee and just sit and relax on benches whilst they play. Having book though a lucky dip with Sun holidays we'll certainly be booking direct and going again. Such a peaceful setting in woodland area. Also made use of pool which is basic but provides well supervised children's activities. Evening entertainment typical of haven, dancing music etc. Reasonably priced. Tesco just round corner. Visited Bewiderwoods and Fritton lake whilst there well worth a look.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wild Duck H, Manager at Wild Duck Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Hi Lucy S
We are very pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your holiday at Wild Duck and thanks for submitting your review.
It makes us happy to know that you couldn’t fault anything and you and your family felt safe and relaxed.
Please feel free to call one of our friendly holiday advisors on 01493 780268 for our latest offers and availability.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Kind Regards
Holiday Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Yarmouth
4.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#14 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
410 reviews
5.0 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#13 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
190 reviews
5.1 mi away
Knights Court Hotel
Knights Court Hotel
#4 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
#4 of 10 in Lowestoft
336 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Sea Princess
The Sea Princess
#20 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
531 reviews
6.0 mi away
Seashore Holiday Park - Haven
Seashore Holiday Park - Haven
#3 of 31 in Great Yarmouth
1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Duck Holiday Park - Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Duck Holiday Park - Haven

Property: Wild Duck Holiday Park - Haven
Address: Wild Duck Holiday Park Howards Common | Park is open: 23 March to 29 October, Great Yarmouth NR31 9NE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Great Yarmouth
Hotel Class:4 star — Wild Duck Holiday Park - Haven 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Also Known As:
Wild Duck Holiday Park Hotel Great Yarmouth
Wild Duck Holiday Park - Haven Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing