We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great park”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Great Yarmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wild Duck Holiday Park - Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great park”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Stayed here in a group of 6. 2 adults & 4 kids aged 8-11. Booked through 2cholidays & the Diamond caravan was absolutely lovely. Very plush caravan, very clean , modern & well equipped.
This park is the nicest. 2 pools with lots of activities for the kids.
Didn't use the "show bar" as it's not our thing so can't comment on the evenings entertainment.
The park is very well located with Gorleston beach a few minutes drive away which is a MUST!
All in all we loved it.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jones-R-U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wild Duck H, Manager at Wild Duck Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Wild Duck, we are pleased that you enjoyed your recent holiday with us and that you were delighted with your accommodation.
It was nice to read that you enjoyed your visit to Gorleston beach and we hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you on another stay with us in the near future.
Sarah Corlett
Holiday Experience Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    556
    300
    89
    29
    30
See reviews for
742
92
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

chavtastic if thats your thing

swimming pool size of postage stamp, expensive food. mini golf course covered in stones. i did pay more so got a caravan at the edge which was fine and quiet though

ending up eating out all 3 nights

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank windsor_adventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wild Duck H, Manager at Wild Duck Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you for your review of Wild Duck.
We value all feedback from our guests and everyone has their own opinion, it’s just a shame that you didn’t elaborate on the points you made.
Our aim is for all our guests to have an enjoyable holiday and I’m sorry if you were in any way disappointed by your stay.
Sarah Corlett
Holiday Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed in a caravan for a week in August, a family with a 9yr old and grandparents too. The caravan was clean and equipped, and beds comfy. We were located behind the entertainment complex which caused us concern, but the noise was never enough to cause any problems. The park itself is lovely set in amongst the trees, with lots of wildlife to see everyday.
The onsite shop "Spar" was sparsley stocked and a real disappointment. The food from the Bar was good, although a tiny bit over priced.
The crazy/mini golf on the site is in an appalling state and in dire need of repair - and the fact of the charges of £4 per person to play, is awful - it should be free considering the state of it!! Indoor & outdoor pools both kept clean and the lifeguards were vigilant though easy going. My biggest let down to the site was the evening entertainment. The childrens entertainment went on for too long, and the dance routines they were trying to get the kids to do were far too complex. Gone are the good old days of a Rory routine. When the entertainment provided by the funstars aimed more at adults starts - it was the same story, the funstars dance routines going at 100 mph to a slow song just looked wrong! The singing wasn't bad, the dancing itself was good - but just needs to re-assess how the singing and dancing goes together!! There was a real lack of childrens day time activities that didn't cost an arm and 6 legs, but this didn't bother us as we had sooo many places to visit in great Yarmouth that we weren't around during the day time.
All in all - its a nice site, location is quite good, just needs to improve the mini golf & give its evening entertainment a fresh look.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wild Duck H, Manager at Wild Duck Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Here at Wild Duck we’re all really proud of our lovely woodland setting and it’s great to see that our guests appreciate it too.
Firstly, I’d like to thank you for taking the time to write your review, all feedback we receive from our guests is extremely valuable to us whether that feedback is good or bad.
I do have to agree with your comments regarding the Crazy Golf, we are fully aware that it could benefit from some upgrading and we do have plans to do that for next year and I’m sorry if it spoilt your holiday in any way.
With regards to your comments about the entertainment, I think that in some ways this will always come down to personal taste. A lot of the things the entertainments team do are out of our hands in terms of the product they deliver, however this does not mean that your remarks will not be forwarded onto the right people at head office. I assure you that we are always trying to do our best to provide entertainment for all ages; children and adults. We try to make sure that, for example: the games we play are suited to the children on holiday at that particular time. We are continuously learning what is best for our guests all round and hope that you appreciate that we do our best to cater for all. We are passionate about what we do and I apologise if that is not coming across, we can only take on board all of your feedback and utilise it to improve!
I really hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the future so you can see the improvements we make.
Sarah Corlett
Holiday Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We paid for amd stayed in the prestige caravan which dont get me wrong is very nice to look at,comfy beds and thats it !! There was no fresh bedding and even when we requested it it took 24 hours very sloppy service. There was no toilet brush no decent cooking utensils no board games for the kids no outside storage with toys chairs etc none of the activities were suitable for our 2 year old !! Ohh and dont get me started on the DISGUSTING PRICES OF ONSITE PRODUCTS. I would consider a small mortgage if you want to buy kids a few bits. For example £6 for 2 plates of chips with exactly 15 chips per portion is an absolute rip off amd believe me id never stay here again even if it was FREE. We stayed in the SEASHOREA RESORT LAST YEAR in standard olus and wete treated like royalty. Fresh beds every day great staff great prices the lot...out of 10 i give wild duck 2☆ !!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank billntan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wild Duck H, Manager at Wild Duck Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for your review of Wild Duck. We value all feedback whether good or bad as it is an opportunity for improvement.
I am sorry that your caravan didn’t have the full inventory that you would expect when you arrived. I am sure however that this could of been easily remedied had you notified us.
As part of the Haven group, a lot of the things on park are out of our control, prices in the restaurants and shop being one of them. I’m sure you will find that prices at all Haven parks are very similar but I will certainly pass your comments regarding portion size to our Retail Manager for her to review.
I really am sorry that you found your stay at Wild Duck so disappointing. It is our aim to ensure that every single one of our guests enjoys their holiday with us and it gives me no pleasure to admit that it would appear that on this occasion we have failed to do so.
Sarah Corlett
Holiday Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

I booked just the one night pitch, at this campsite, as I was testing to see how my three girls would enjoy the camping experience. I have been a couple of times before and always had a great time.
This was no exception. Each time I've been, something has always been upgraded. The pool changing rooms are fab and clean although a little small for peak times maybe. And not enough lockers.
Everywhere was clean and tidy and my youngest was pleased I'd picked a night when anxious the elephant was on stage.
The campsite was great. Trust me to pick a night when a storm was coming. Obviously the site drainage was pretty good to cope with what felt like a months rainfall in two hours.
Everyone was so friendly and couldn't really fault it. We shall try and return again before the end of the school hols :)

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cokeyfur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wild Duck H, Manager at Wild Duck Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review of your recent stay, great to read that you could not find fault with our holiday park – that’s a real credit to our hardworking team and I will be sure to pass on your feedback to everyone.
Now that you and your three girls have enjoyed your camping experience, we can only hope that you don’t leave it too long before you return again to visit us.
Sarah Corlett
Holiday Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2014

us and the 5 children had a lovely week staff were friendly and so helpful site was lovely and clean caravan was lovely and well cleaned before we arrived.
Security on site was the best we had seen at any Haven so you don't have to worry about the younger children running wild.
The onsite shop was good average prices Tesco within 10mins of site and Gorlestone Beach excellent for the kids.
Thank you again to all of the wonderful staff that made our weeks stay wonderful

Room Tip: We got a deluxe plus 8 berth caravan well worth the extra money it was like a home from home
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wild Duck H, Manager at Wild Duck Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely 5 star review, we are delighted that you and your family had a wonderful holiday.
I will pass on your fantastic feedback to Geoff our security manager and his team; they will appreciate your praise.
We hope to see you again in the very near future!
Sarah Corlett
Holiday Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The caravan didn't look or feel like the basic standard was more on the standard plus side. Dog managed to jump out of the caravan window when we were out. Security managed to hold her and try and return her to us. Security men on the gate, I have never met such friendly happy people as late at night, so nice.

Park has everything or children and you can hire the pedal karts here. They have a swim it's a knock out type things just for adults some nights so if you have older kids or want to have fun with out a bunch of 6years old you can.

Entertainment is like any other heaven park, aimed at kids, they love it not really 5* entertainment for adults but it's what you expect to get. The sitting duck which is the pub place in the park is very good for food and reasonably priced. You will see 100s of rabbits on the caravan park...not many ducks, despite its name lol. Loads of places to bike ride as it's all flat so it's really nice.

Wifi at the sitting duck wasn't too great of a signal but is there, signal around the park for internet is very on and off but there is a pub if you turn right when you come out of the park with free wifi if u need to really good signal.

Everything looks new and well maintained, they have a crazy golf, out door and indoor pool. Outdoor pool generally opens at 10am and unless it's raining there is a queue so I'd get there early to get a sun bed etc.

Great overall if you have kids, a dog and just want some time out. Dogs welcome outside the pub lots of comfortable seats, there is a small play area outside the pub as well so sit outside take the kids and the dog and just chill out. Couldn't fault it however we were all bit by what looked like a horse bite, but it is in the outside so what you could expect.

:)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wild Duck H, Manager at Wild Duck Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our park. The whole team at Wild Duck are really proud of our natural woodland setting which makes it such a great place to holiday and also to work. Customer service is at the forefront of all that we do here, our aim is to delight all our guests and our happy friendly team are a real asset to the park.
We are aware that our wifi network isn’t currently that great, unfortunately the woodland setting which makes our park so unique, makes it very difficult to get a good strong signal on many areas of the park. This is certainly something that we plan to look at improving in the winter.
I do hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back to the Wild Duck in the future.
Sarah Corlett
Holiday Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Yarmouth
4.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#14 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
416 reviews
4.4 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
501 reviews
5.0 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#13 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#1 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
1,066 reviews
5.6 mi away
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
#3 of 10 in Lowestoft
343 reviews
6.0 mi away
Seashore Holiday Park - Haven
Seashore Holiday Park - Haven
#3 of 31 in Great Yarmouth
1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Duck Holiday Park - Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Duck Holiday Park - Haven

Property: Wild Duck Holiday Park - Haven
Address: Wild Duck Holiday Park Howards Common | Park is open: 23 March to 29 October, Great Yarmouth NR31 9NE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Great Yarmouth
Hotel Class:4 star — Wild Duck Holiday Park - Haven 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Also Known As:
Wild Duck Holiday Park Hotel Great Yarmouth
Wild Duck Holiday Park - Haven Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing