We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get me out of here”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Great Yarmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Vauxhall Holiday Park
GreenLeadersBronze level
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Get me out of here”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Am stuck here for a week with my husband and 3 under 5s. First impressions great and lots for kids to do and our accommodation (a gold caravan) is nice. However it's not very clean with crumbs on sofa, grass on floor etc but hey ho, we unpack.
Later we find tin opener useless so have to go borrow one from neighbouring caravan to do kids tea until we go to reception to report. No carpet sweeper either as listed on itinerary, reception tell us you don't get one anymore??? Not sure how true this is as when we reported it they didn't even ask what caravan we were in. Other items missing off itinerary too like cutlery items but haven't bothed to report as itinerary tells you to as said itinerary clearly not worth paper written on if reception staff are correct, lesson learnt - bring everything you may need including kitchen sink and cleaning equipment with you
Day 2, large confrontation in the pool between several families as large group of children been taking people's water wings etc and not returning them ( there parents incidentally no where to be found ie drunk in the bar). Feel very uncomfortable in the middle of these families and as my sons water wings have been broke too, feel involved and intimidated. Come away from the situation with my family as don't want to be involved. Am told by security to speak to reception about replacemnt wings and they slate swimming pool staff, swimming pool staff then say there are extra security staff on this week as huge problems this last week. Makes me very uneasy about being here with the most precious things in my world, my babies, go to reception for some reassurance and break down and speak to the manager who fobs me off as quickly as possible (as its checking in time for new guests?) and have heard nothing from anyone since and no replacement water wings given, even thoug they said they would albeit that not the problem.

No access to outdoor pool if you have a buggy unless you can get a member of swimming pool staff to open gates though. Lots of steep concrete steps down to pool not safe to carry a sleeping baby down. Huge faff to find staff and then go back round the other side next to the campers toilets to enter so am finding ourselves not bothering !! Maybe this is due to the extra security measures though and not the norm????!!!!!!!

The best part is that not only is the place overran by unsupervised children, drunk adults and you feel unsafe but you actually are!!! Turned the bedroom light on in the caravan last night, holding my 12 week old, and there is a huge bang and sparks from the switch and we lose all power. My other children are terrified and my husband goes to reception. All credit here, a member of staff is in the caravan before my husband gets back, he sorts the trip which had bypassed the caravan trip and knocked it out at the next point!, and when the lights come on we can see there is glass all over the bed and bedroom where a light bulb has exploded. It doesn't bear to think about what could have happened had any of us been lying on the bed, shards of halogen bulb everywhere. They fetch us a Hoover and new bed linen which is great but we then have to sort out ourselves before getting some very tired, freaked out kids to bed. We ae now left with a live wire hanging out the ceiling and who knows when or if that will be sorted. If I had the energy or thought any one would care I would moan some more but no one does, I just want to go home.

Kids love the entertainment and games and Louie the lion but they are 4 and 2. We on the other hand are completely on edge and worried about their safety and ours and cannot wait to get out of here.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank stcwtsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VauxhallHolidayPark, Public Relations Manager at Vauxhall Holiday Park, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Further to your comments above we take your concerns very, very seriously and please be assured your families safety, and that of all our guests, is of the utmost importance to us. In regards to the light bulb, it was not a live wire and all was made safe. Also the Manager recalls speaking about the pool and resolved the issue.

Please come to reception and we would be happy to discuss any issues and concerns you may have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    263
    133
    67
    80
See reviews for
599
105
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We arrived at Vauxhall on the 20th August 2012,we stayed for four nights in the falcon caravan. The caravan was very clean and very well equipped,and spacious for us all.The facilities were very good and my 6 year old had so much fun in the parks,pool and amusements,and especially in the evenings dancing with the little friends she had made,and meeting Louis and Lola the lions,the shows were very good especially wizard of oz and the puppet show.The whole park had a real friendly feel to it,and the staff were all very helpful especially in the amusement,chip/pizza takeaway,mini mart and the hire shop.We also took our 6 month old and he loved the swimming pool,it was a lovely first holiday for him with lots of happy memories for us all,will definitely return,thanks Vauxhall Holiday park for a great holiday .

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ccb555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012 via mobile

Had a weekend here,and it's overpriced!! Accommodation was dirty,with holes in the walls and broken fixtures and fittings.
If you eat at any of the on-site outlets,be prepared to wait,and wait,then wait some more!!
The pool was the highlight of the stay,but if you want a decent caravan experience,go to Haven,it's far better,far cleaner,and much cheaper!!
5 star,yeah right!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MattyG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VauxhallHolidayPark, Public Relations Manager at Vauxhall Holiday Park, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Further to your review, we feel a reply is needed to address your concerns.

Sorry to hear you had issues with your accommodation. If you had reported the problem at the time we would have been pleased to resolve them for you.

In regards to the on-site outlets, your feedback is noted and will be discussed with them.

In regards to price, we constantly monitor what other Parks are offering to ensure we offer value for money, especially when you consider all the facilities there are at Vauxhall which are free to use by our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South glos
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Clean.friendly,and lots to do.
Great fun pool.
Small site to easy to get around.
All you need in one place.

Just a short drive from the town.
Would stay here again and recommend to friends?
We stayed in a 4 birth caravan which was big enough for sleeping in .
This site is perfect location for traveling to the broads

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arnieboxerdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheringham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We paid nearly £600 for a Kingfisher caravan. The van was outdated in a really poor state of repair and we immediately felt let down by Vauxhall. The door had a dodgy lock, sealant was hanging out from the sink, no double duvet, chipped toilet seat, broken edging, dirty and corroded shower, large deeply scratched out of place dining table in the lounge and faded upholstery. The following day we complained and was upgraded straight away. The new van had a mixer tap that was loose and cupboard doors nearly off their hinges but apart from that was much better. We visited about 10 years ago and the entertainments manager was approachable and really good at his job. The entertainments manager this year seemed to walk around looking really miserable, was nowhere near as good as the one from ten years ago and we even heard him swearing about someone whilst sat outside the corridor where the staff smoke. Tom Devine however was excellent and approachable but even after a ten year gap the acts were the same. The staff were really friendly and on when speaking to them I was really surprised that they were on minimum wage. Natasha in the shop was really friendly and we enjoyed chattng to her every night, I really feel that the staff deserve a better wage. We had a bettered sausage from the fish shop which resembled a prehistoric penis and was clearly reheated. Security staff were great especially the one who sung in the V lounge. The shop was very overpriced and we went to Asda instead. We enjoyed our holiday but it could have been so much better and it just seemed to us that Vauxhall only care about making huge profits. Even though we enjoyed the holiday I would think seriously about booking again as the poor caravan experience really disapointed us and we would be worried about getting a similar van in the future. Listen up Vauxhall you could do so much better.

Room Tip: Visit the site and ask to see the caravan before you pay!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nigel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VauxhallHolidayPark, Public Relations Manager at Vauxhall Holiday Park, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Dear Nigel W

In regards to your feedback we just wanted the chance to reply. Sorry to hear of the issues with your accommodation, though as soon as we heard you had problems we immediately upgraded you. If you mentioned the mixer tap etc to reception we would have got it fixed.

In regards to the entertainment we constantly review the programme on offer to visitors and for example this year we have introduced themed entertainment weeks. The mini-mart and some of the take-out outlets are independently owned and your concerns will be brought to the owners attention.

As a business we are committed to continually investing in Vauxhall Holiday Park to improve the experience for our customers. This season we invested over £500,000 to introduce three brand new types of accommodation onto the park and of course it’s only a couple of years since we completed the ‘V’ Lounge to improve the entertainment we offer the over 18s.

Feedback from our loyal customers is always listened to as we aim to improve our service and facilities year on year and we will take your views on board.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, UK
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We (2 adults, 2 children aged 3 and 6) stayed here for 7 nigths in August and had a great time. We booked a touring caravan pitch and were located close to all the facilities although if we wanted more space/be away from eveyone else we could have moved to other parts of the touring site which were not so busy but we were happy.

The facilities were great, the pool nice and warm and good outdoor splash area, we ate at the onsite reedcutters restaurant and also used the onsite take aways. Both served good food at a reasonable price. Prices at the bar were about average, £3.50 for a pint, £4 for short and mixer but there was deals on pitchers and stuff.

Kids loved the Louie Lion shows and the play areas. Plenty to do for 7 days and most stuff free so you didn't have to spend much. The activities that were chargeable like crazy golf, Grand Prix cars and panning for gold weren't too expensive.

Evening entertainment was good and the staff very polite and great with the kinds.

Ideally located for supermarkets (onsite shop has most stuff like milk, eggs bread etc) with Asda over the road and Lidl, Tesco and sainsbury close by.

Nice cycle route into town or the beach. Infact it's quicker to cycle to town rather than drive.

Going back for a weekend in a few weeks and then possibly for october half term too!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayc001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

fourth visit to the vauxhall holiday park and each time the caravans have got better, this year it was the 3 bedroom grouse, really clean & modern. The campsite is very clean & safe for the kids to roam about & plenty to do with park play area and arcades, the swimming pools are fab but wish they were open earlier for little ones who wakeup early!! nite entertainment is good as well but drinks are a bit pricey at the bar tho. the site is in a good spot as there is a 24hr asda over the road for all you essentials and the sea front is 5mins away by car so plenty to do if you want to explore. Staff are very friendly aswel.

Room Tip: try and get 3 bedroom caravans as its more storage space even if you dont have 3 kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kathy n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
1.6 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#14 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
417 reviews
4.3 mi away
Travelodge Great Yarmouth Hotel
Travelodge Great Yarmouth Hotel
#3 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
340 reviews
1.0 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#13 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#16 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
293 reviews
1.3 mi away
Seashore Holiday Park - Haven
Seashore Holiday Park - Haven
#3 of 31 in Great Yarmouth
1,225 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Trevross
The Trevross
#50 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vauxhall Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vauxhall Holiday Park

Property: Vauxhall Holiday Park
Address: Acle New Road, Great Yarmouth NR30 1TB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Vauxhall Holiday Park 5*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vauxhall Holiday Park is part of Parkdean Resorts and Great Yarmouth's only five star holiday park. The park offers holiday home accommodation, chalets and you can also bring your own tent or tourer. The park also boasts glamping with their new Camping Mega Pods. The indoor water world, adventure play area and entertainment are all INCLUDED in the price of your holiday, along with much more! Vauxhall is a great location to explore Great Yarmouth and the Norfolk Broads. Vauxhall Holiday Park is proud to be a tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence Award Winner. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vauxhall Holiday Park Hotel Great Yarmouth
Vauxhall Holiday Park Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing