We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,268)
Filter reviews
1,269 results
Traveller rating
487
340
196
101
145
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
487
340
196
101
145
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsreedcutters restaurantfood outletsfalcon caravanpartridgeon siteswimming poolshellfishbreydon suiteholiday parkgames roomentertainment teamnext yearpuppet showcrazy golfkebabgreat holidaymini mart
Filter
Updating list...
1,008 - 1,013 of 1,269 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We have just returned from our easter break Friday to Tuesday. We have been to Vauxhall numerous times & this has been the worst.
On arrival we had been expecting to check in at 2pm as stated on one of our confirmation letters, only to be told it was 4pm.
So we headed to Readcutters restaurant to take advantage of an offer we had been sent. When ordering the food, the staff member taking the order had no clue about the 2 for £15 offer & had to ask someone else. After a 40min wait & other tables who ordered after us had got their food, we asked where ours was. The waitress returned to our table & told us it would be 2mins, no sincere apology about our wait. After 10 more minutes our food finally arrived, luckily the food we'd been waiting 50mins for was lovely. We stayed in a plover caravan & it was very nice & spacious, but we had no bed linen until 6.30pm & 2 trips to reception, there was a backlog apparently. Walking around camp we noticed the kebab shop wasn't going to be open all weekend. Then Monday the fish & chip shop was closed & there was no Chinese buffet in the restaurant. So that was 3 food options out the window, disgraceful.
The entertainment was poor. It seemed the more you paid, the worse you got. The Monday-Friday break got the better deal, despite paying £100+ less. The entertainments team show Sunday was not that great, you would at least expect them to sing in harmony together & know the words they should be singing, do they not practice?! The team show we saw in the V-Lounge was the complete opposite, really well done. Stepback are great in the V-Lounge, but didn't come across the same in the Regency Room, followed by karaoke, ummmmm......
The main concern was the safety issue when the Regency Room doors are opened by the arcade. Even though there was a queue, when those doors opened, the stampede begun. People pushing & shoving to get past those who had been waiting a long time, people charging over from the arcade ignoring those in the queue. Sunday was the worst we'd ever seen. With all the security about, surely at least 2 of them could come & supervise the crowd control. One day someone is going to get seriously injured by something that can easily be controlled. Monday, 4 of the security sat at the back of the Regency Room eating, drinking, chatting amongst themselves, cleary they earnt their wages that night.
We had already pre booked October half term, but if things don't improve it will be our last visit to Vauxhall.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VauxhallHolidayPark, Public Relations Manager at Parkdean Resorts - Vauxhall Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Sarah,

Sorry for the delay replying. We have been investigating the issues you raised and hope to answer them below:-

In regard to the check-in time, you received an incorrect letter which has now been resolved, though we understand your frustration to arrive and then have to wait. Also the check-in day at Easter was extremely busy and unfortunately we had some cleaners off sick last minute which couldn’t be helped, causing a delay.

In terms of the Reedcutter’s Restaurant, Easter is the start of the season and it seems not all the new staff were informed about the vouchers, apologies.

Also the chip shop experienced a technical fault over Easter and our Chef had an emergency and had to be rushed to hospital causing the Chinese buffet to be cancelled. These issues were all out of control and signs were put up informing holidaymakers.

Our entertainment over Easter was varied to suit all ages, with cabaret, shows, comedians and vocalists. We have received some great feedback from the entertainment on offer, though sorry to hear it was not to your taste. The evening entertainment is included in the price of your holiday and is very popular, hence why people were queuing to get in. In terms of rushing in, children will remain the responsibility of adults at all times and therefore policing the queue with over 2,000 people on site I’m sure you agree is quite difficult. Safety of our customers at Vauxhall Holiday Park is paramount at all times.

As a loyal customer visiting the park numerous times, we look forward to welcoming you back in October and hope the above answers your concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Booked a late deal for the easter weekend, we booked one of the waveney suite/apartments for a good price. Check in was quick and efficient however upon entering the suite were taken aback by the smell - damp/mould very unpleasant. With 2 small children we returned to reception to highlight this to them and were pleased with how the staff handled the issue. Although almost fully booked they gave us keys for one of the breydon suites to look at. It was fine and we were happy with the accommodation and helpfulness of the staff on reception. The swimming pool is really nice, a baby/toddler pool, 2 slides, rapids, sprinklers and main pool it was lots of fun. The only issue we had was the lack of changing rooms. 3-4 family/baby changing rooms and maybe 10 standard cubicles at the most. When we got out the pool with our 11 month old and 4 year old all family rooms were occupied and after waiting few minutes had to use a standard one. Not an easy task with 2 small children! It is a fantastic pool but maybe some more changing rooms would be a definate benefit. The outdoor park is great for children as is the indoor play area, amusements, crazy golf. Entertainment in the evening from what we saw was good, although you have to get there when the doors open to get a table. We saw people queuing 45mins before the doors opened! And then when they did people were literally running to get a table! Strange.. on the whole it was a great family break and the staff do a great job keeping the kids entertained. We would come back and would definitely book platinum accommodation and be more prepared for the lack of pool changing rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jojo2908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VauxhallHolidayPark, Public Relations Manager at Parkdean Resorts - Vauxhall Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear jojo2908,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We are pleased to hear you had a ‘good value family break’ over the Easter period and are glad you reported issues with your accommodation immediately so other arrangements could be made. Thanks for the feedback about the swimming pool and changing rooms. We have actually introduced new family changing units this year and find the majority of people staying on site get changed in their accommodation before they get to the pool. Our evening entertainment is very popular and we hope you managed to pop in to Louie’s Den. The children made ‘volcanoes’ over the Easter period and we had other messy fun activities – great for children and parents alike, as we do all the clearing up!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

just returned from vauxhall and would like to share our great week, As soon as you arrive you are given a friendly welcome from reception,the park itself is kept spotless and very well kept as is the acommodation which caters for couples and families,security staff are always friendly like all who work there,but i must mention Tom and Justin who do an excellent job in the V Lounge which is for over 18's .this is where we spent our evenings where the vocalists who entertained us were excellent as was Rhythm of the Night and our favourite comedium was Phil Butler,The Regency room is huge and do great entertainment for families,well done Tom, Justin and all the staff.will definately be there again this year and would highly recomend it to anyone who want a great holiday and have not tried Vauxhall Holiday Park yet!

Room Tip: chalets are good as they have bath and shower and proper size single beds,caravans are all very good and cater for disabled if needed
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VauxhallHolidayPark, Public Relations Manager at Parkdean Resorts - Vauxhall Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Mary,

Thanks for sharing your holiday experience and we are so pleased to hear you had a great week with us. We are sure Tom and Justin will appreciate your comments and pleased you enjoyed the entertainment and comedian Phil Butler.

Thank you for saying you will recommend the park, we really appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We have just returned from a fantastic short break to vauxhall. The site is classified as a 5* resort! and I would say this is down to the wealth as facilities and activities as opposed to the quality of the accomodation. Similar to Bultins, rather than centre parcs., although the location was a hit with us.

We stayed as a family of 4, ( 4 and 7 year old)in a Breydon superior suite. We had a 2pm check in, and although some of the accomodation was ready, the staff seemed reluctant to release keys before time. With a reception full of guests waiting, the manager appeared and released the spare keys hanging on the hooks at 2pm! Very bizarre.

Anyway we headed to the room. These has been recently upgraded in 2012, so it was relatively clean. Linen was provided in a plastic wrapped bundle so we made up the beds. What it needs is a bit of TLC such as knobs back on cupboard handles, more than 4 bent wire coat hangers.

The pool was lovely and clean and well set out for families. Poor lighting in the cubicles made it impossible to see, so we changed the children by the pool side, and went to the facility wearing our swim wear.
Great evening shows, including a glow in the dark puppet show (amazed my 7 yr old) , and musical show evening. Too many fast food outlets, but the reed cutter restaurant provided a super carvery. The staff handled the busy night well, but could do with some extra support.

Great Yarmouth beach is 2 miles away so I would recommend scooters for the kids. One option is to drive half way and park just out of the main beach area. Beach and sea front are lovely, and the town is great to wander around. Great fish and chips:)

My top tips for a great break
1) book the best accomodation you can afford, away from the road noise
2) massive Asda just over the road, so book a click and collect order, and whilst the wife and kids unpack you collect the shopping. Saves space in the car on the way down.
3) plan where to eat and book if possible

Managers if you read this may is suggest?
-a few students to collect litter around the site, wipe down windows general basic maintenance.
- more themed ideas, maybe some easter decorations or themed entertainment.
- better quality buffet items at the Italian night
- better lighting in changing area at pool
-better beds(very hard)

Overall we had a great holiday, and lovely weather helped

Room Tip: Away from the road noise. We sum lodges looked nice
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank love2travell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VauxhallHolidayPark, Public Relations Manager at Parkdean Resorts - Vauxhall Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear love2travell

Thank you for the thorough comments - we are sure other people considering the park will appreciate it.

We are pleased with our four star ‘fantastic value for money holiday’ review, though just wanted the chance to reply about a few things.

We had a very busy at Easter and unfortunately some of our cleaning staff phoned in sick in the morning which had a knock-on effect on change-over day causing a delay. The reception staff were waiting for additional keys to be handed back to reception from the cleaners before letting new arrivals check-in.

We have read your suggestions and the feedback has been passed to all departments – many thanks.

Thank you again for taking the time to leave us a review – we read each one and value your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

toilets weren't clean the swimming pool was dirty, food was alright. Entertainment was rubbish 30mins walk to town. Nasty staff. Wouldn't stay there ever EVER EVER ever ever again !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Not healthy place to stay

Stayed: July 2013
1  Thank Siankyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VauxhallHolidayPark, Public Relations Manager at Parkdean Resorts - Vauxhall Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Siankyle,

In regards to your review please put your complaint in writing with full details, to Vauxhall Holiday Park, Great Yarmouth, Norfolk, NR1 1RX and we will investigate and get back to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews