We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the the better holiday parks in Gt Yarmouth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vauxhall Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
UK, Nr Stansted A-port
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“One of the the better holiday parks in Gt Yarmouth”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a weeks stay at the Vauxhall Holiday park and overall we have all had a wonderful time. Having had several small holidays to Gt Yarmouth we always thought it was a bit of a lottery where you stay and what your caravan will be like. We have stayed in some shockers. But.....Vauxhall was a very pleasant surprise. First....

Reception, My booking could not be located when we arrived... Oh oh I thought, here we go. But we were quickly checked into the static on my reservation and everything was clean and linen was ready for us. Also the reception staff, Taylor I think helped me out when I left my laundry in the dryer by asking one if the security men to open the door. Nothing seemed to much trouble and all reception staff were polite and courteous.

The Static, we stayed in a Mallard that slept 4 of us comfortably, it was clean and functional with hot water and basically everything we needed. Only upgrade could be the drab curtains and get rid of the tiny CRT televisions. Overall very good.

The site, the site was safe and well lit. It seemed secure and security were mostly visible. But not obtrusive. The caravans were a little close together for my liking. We were not near the road and our only disturbances were a few late revellers and the gulls. Nothing we didn't expect.

Facilities, we used the pool extensively, only the inside one though the outside splash area was tested by my 2 but even they said it was freezing! Put the heating on! The indoor one was fab though, a large pool and a smaller one with a small rapid bit. Also there is a baby pool and slide plus a bigger slide. Lifeguards were very on the ball and I felt for them sometimes with idiotic teens who simply cannot appreciate others who want to use the pool with small children. One fool jumped blindly back onto me and my son and sent him under. All was well however and the lad was warned. I put it down to hormones and boys will be boys. There is also a large amusements area with decent prizes in the 2p machines but get boring after a day or 2, a small pay as you go kart track, a large play area, mini golf that is £3 a person is a little steep though! this includes even my 3 year old..who can't even hold the putter properly.

Entertainment, we sampled the entertainment twice so my 2 could have a dance and run around. But it was a bit repetitive, having said that the entertainment team gave their all and were fully committed to getting everyone to have fun.

Food and Drink. The woodcutters is a nice restaurant with helpful and courteous staff. They do theme nights, we had the carvery which would rival any Toby. Also we tried the curry night, the children ate from the normal menu which was good value and good sized portions. Over all the prices are reasonable and the quality was actually very good. There is a sports bar with snooker and pool tables and air hockey. It is nice the kids are all welcome as me and my wife can play a rare game of pool as well as help the LO with air hockey duels. My only gripe is the price of the alcoholic drinks. £3.50 a pint / Smirnoff ice is a bit high and could come down 50p however the children's cordials are only 50p and is very reasonable.

We had a lovely stay and will happily return in the future, as the title says one of the best sites in the area and in my humble opinion is far better than the Haven/Park Dean places we have stayed on in the past. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank leebus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    395
    226
    111
    49
    63
See reviews for
513
88
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Just back from a weeks stay in a platinum caravan. It was lovely and clean when we arrived (best we have ever stayed at. However this was let down by the beds not being made.
The facilities within the caravan were excellent, the shower was roomy and powerful.
You have to look in your pack and use the electric power cards (this was not fully explained at check in but is detailed in the welcome pack)
The swimming pool was clean, and the lifeguards won us over by asking our child to perform a swim test to ensure she was capable to do the red slide - we were really impressed with the safety side of this. A credit to the park.
The amusements were great, small soft play area, lots of machines to win tickets on ranging from 2p - 10p.
There are a wide range of food outlets. Americana, fish and chips, pizza, kebabs (closed while we were there), coffee shop and shellfish. The food was nice but pricy (although you expect this as you are a captive audience)
The Clubhouse was really spacious, and has tv screens all around so no matter where you are sitting you can see the stage/acts. Doors open at 6.45pm.
When we were there it was not too busy, so queuing was not necessary - but I can imagine in peak season you will need to.
The entertainment team were ok!!!
We never needed to use the daytime activities as the weather was amazing we hit the beach at Gorleston every day.
As for the evening time, they were ok but could be more engaging with the kids. They bring out Loui Lion for 30 mins every night in my opinion they could of done more.
Take a fancy dress costume for your little ones, there is also a talent show for 12-17 year olds too.
There is an artist and a photographer who take family portraits. The price is very reasonable and the pictures we got were lovely. (£27 for 3 pictures)
The park itself is very clean, and very large. Lots of camping space.
The shop on site is small, but you have an Asda just down the road so don't panic!
The crazy golf is amazing and only £3 each. Defiantly worth a go.
The panning for gold costs £2 and the kids enjoyed it.
Overall we had a fantastic time, I have only given it 4 as the beds were not made, the mattresses have plastic backing so when you move in your sleep the bedding comes off, the toilets near the swimming pool smelt (both ladies and gents) the cost of the food places and the quality of the entertainment team.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mummy06_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Lovely and well kept camp in a beautiful part of England.

Lots for the children to do, and really great swimming pool hours compared to other more 'famous' holiday camps! Kids loved being able to access all day and into the early evening.

Entertainments manager Tom was always on hand to listen to suggestions or ideas holiday makers might have.

We stayed in a 'Bronze Swan' caravan, so the cheaper end but it was clean and well kept.

Will definitely return!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachie15021973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Just came back from a 4 night stay in a gold caravan which was lovely.very modern and clean.lovely reception lady plea sent and couldnt help enough when checkin in. The park it's self was great.kept very clean.good pool and kids play area and amusement. Entertainment in the evening was good for the kids.especially the dayglow puppets.bar staff a bit rude. 4 of them kept chatting as I was clearly stood there waiting to be servered. Had a pizza from one of the food kiosk which all seed to be run be school leavers who didn't have a clue what they were doin. Didn't taste of anything.nice seafood bar and kids snack kiosk.overall had nice time.would visit again and recomenend it for familys

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

I must say vauxhalls is by far the best holiday park I've been to by far the night adult entertainment always puts a smile on my face tom and Justin are just so very funny. The park is nice and clean the swimming pool is lovely and warm and clean everyone is very very helpful only real fault was the cafe there was very expensive and my hot chocolate was Luke warm but other than that faultless

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

We are touring and have been here 5 days so far and as a whole, its a great place, check in was easy although a little frosty. Good size pitch. The toilets and showers are not the best I have seen, really clean in the morning but if you go to the loo in the afternoon onwards, you can't find a toilet without fecal matter spread all over the bowl !! The showers too need some attention, I have used a lot better to be honest. Broken tiles, dirty floors, gaps in the doors so everyone can see you in the buff.

The swimming facilities were great and it was lovely to get into a pool that was warm but again, use the pool in the afternoon and the changing area was filthy ... hair, dust and god knows what else all over the floor while pool staff are just sat chatting in the pool reception.

We had a good week, update your showers, get the maids in a few times more a day so people can use the loo and or shower without tackling poo and you're on to a winner

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

We love vauxhall holiday camp and go every year . pitches a good size .plenty of places to go. not far from the camp . best of all is the entertainment. the place wouldnt be the same without Tom and Justin. not forgetting the girls who work really hard to make your stay a good one. Dont like to complain but the toilets in v lounge really smell. Mens and Ladies.. everybody wasnt happy about it. everwhere else we have found clean and loved it. dosent put us off though booked for next year

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank les Pp p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
1.6 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#15 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Great Yarmouth Hotel
Premier Inn Great Yarmouth Hotel
#2 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
1.0 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#14 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Knights Court Hotel
Knights Court Hotel
#4 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
1.0 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#3 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
1.5 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vauxhall Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vauxhall Holiday Park

Property: Vauxhall Holiday Park
Address: Acle New Road, Great Yarmouth NR30 1TB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Vauxhall Holiday Park 5*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vauxhall Holiday Park is part of Parkdean Resorts and Great Yarmouth's only five star holiday park. The park offers holiday home accommodation, chalets and you can also bring your own tent or tourer. The park also boasts glamping with their new Camping Mega Pods The indoor water world, adventure play area and entertainment are all INCLUDED in the price of your holiday, along with much more! Vauxhall is a great location to explore Great Yarmouth and the Norfolk Broads. Vauxhall Holiday Park is proud to be a tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence Award Winner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Vauxhall Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vauxhall Holiday Park Hotel Great Yarmouth
Vauxhall Holiday Park Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing