We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most comfortable bed in the world!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Andover House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Great Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The most comfortable bed in the world!”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We booked this hotel for one night because the restaurant reviews were good. We were not disappointed. We were upgraded to a suite. I have never slept in such a comfortable bed. The evening meal was outstanding and the breakfast was excellent. The staff couldn't do enough to help. I have nothing bad to say about this hotel. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katebag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndoverHouse, Owner at Andover House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
REALLY happy to say that all of our beds are the same whether it is our smallest rooms or the Suites. Fantastic that you have made a note of pointing out the comfort factor! We have so many guests contact us after their stay to find out what we use. If your in the area again, we hope you will choose to stay with us once again. Many thanks for reviewing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    409
    74
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
35
281
10
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Instantly became one of my top two restaurants in GY from this experience.

First ever visit and wasn't disappointed. Booked conveniently and with good over the phone advice, re: turning up a bit earlier. Was also good to see that the phoned back to confirm the booking on the day.

Hotel itself was very well presented inside - smart, elegant clean and classy. Not see anything better along these lines in local area. Service was excellent, very good waiter who advised on dishes, checked a few requests with the kitchen. Enjoyed a pleasant drink at the bar whilst mulling over menu choices.

Ate downstairs due to them being so busy but have to say all the staff did a very good job and were very charming. Food was great, good to see some more exciting and experienced dishes on the menu - between us we had the soup, mackerel and both had the pheasant for mains which was delicious. One tiny suggestion - side dishes are quite small - only really about one persons worth (could just do with a note on the menu so you can order accordingly). Good puddings as well.

Was also great to see the chef come out and do the rounds towards the end of the meal - good to see people taking genuine interest and pride in their work.

Would recommend all round for a classy place to eat or drink. Thanks. Will be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PMDThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndoverHouse, Owner at Andover House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback and for your handy tip on the side dishes! I will ensure that this is implemented :-) Really hope that you will come back and visit us again soon. New furniture arriving in March so lots of exciting things going on for us. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Always a friendly welcoming, modern environment but comfortable. Food is to a really high standard, the hotel should have a higher star rating. Kris (the manager) has great customer service with recommendations etc. Rooms very comfortable, bathrooms little small but modern and everything very clean. Great to see a hotel in the area that is contemporary but keeps features in rooms where possible too. Well restored property close to town and seafront but just a few streets away from it all to be quiet enough to get a good sleep. Have recommended to colleagues and would stay for days off too.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper have a room on second floor away from restaurant and bar like any hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeborahOsborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndoverHouse, Owner at Andover House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
When we renovated, nearly 6 years ago...we worked really hard to bring back as many original features that were hidden behind years of building work. Always delighted to hear guests mention how important this is to them. Such a beautiful building that needs a little mention here and there :-) Thank you for taking time to write about us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambs
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I stayed here for three weeks on business and was upgraded to a suite. I was greeted by Chris who took my heavy bags to my room-he was always checking if I was ok throughout my stay and provided first class customer service! The room was gorgeous-my own kitchen area and lounge made my stay so comfortable. I ordered room service most nights and the food was amazing,well presented and served quickly.

The hotel itself is
Beautifully decorated and it's hard to believe it's actually in yarmouth!! What makes this hotel is it's fantastic team-the staff couldn't have been more helpful to me and always found time for a quick chat :) little touches like umbrellas and de-icer at the front door when the weather was not so good just shows how this hotel goes the extra mile! Hope to return one day.

Tiffany

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiffanyn86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndoverHouse, Owner at Andover House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Hi Tiffany. Kris will be over the moon that you mentioned his name! We really do have a great team, each of them bringing something unique to the AH mix! When we have guests staying with us for a longer period of time like yourself, it is really important that they feel at home... hope you did and hope to see you return soon. p.s. Phil is pleased that someone mentioned his umbrellas and de-icer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
355 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I stayed 1 night in January which i expected to be quiet but the hotel said they only had a last minute cancellation. First impressions were good as a member of staff opened the door to welcome me. Check-in was simple. The rooms was clean and adequate in size, with good lighting. The price is very reasonable, but then again this is Great Yarmouth in winter not central London. There were signs that economies had been made- such as a tiny TV screen, cheap tissues, basic toiletries, very basic shower (electric). Given a choice i would have preferred to pay a little more to have better quality furnishings around the room, but for a single night it was fine. Public areas were comfy with bar and restaurant which I tried for lunch - the food was good. Breakfast is an amazing bargain and they had good coffee, better than i have had in some so called 5* hotels (although in the room it was instant).
Overall mixed feelings- lovely staff, borderline basic room, good value. Perhaps i should have tied a suite if these are offered with superior supplies and furnishings. Parking is in the street but the street seemed fairly quiet. The bathroom was clean but basic- the shower small and the water tended to jump from hot to cold too easily (weak flow from a simple electric heater on the wall). I wish them continued success as the staff could not have been more friendly- if they had proper walk in power showers, glass cups (instead of disposable plastic) etc then I would offer a rave review as others have, but i have to temper the review with some realism- if the staff had not been as nice or the food as good i would say it would be a 3* hotel

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MootHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndoverHouse, Owner at Andover House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
WE ARE REALLY EXCITED TO ANNOUNCE that we are only weeks away from having 46" televisions in the lounge and all of our bedrooms (2 with 39") with SKY Entertainment and Sports mix. We have also been in discussions with suppliers to upgrade our shower systems. This is one of our many goals for 2014.

We are a 3* Hotel and very much hope that we go above and beyond to ensure that all of our guests are comfortable. Since our family opened the doors 5 years ago, we continue to upgrade and enhance in both our bedrooms and the restaurant. We very much hope you will return to see the changes being made as the next 6-8 weeks will be very exciting times for us.

I will look into the tissues and cups in the shower rooms today, I like a new mid-week mission :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I stayed here whilst on business in the area as my colleague also stays here when he's in Great Yarmouth.

The hotel is situated on a pretty tree lined street full of houses dating back to the 1800's. Andover House is a fabulous double fronted property as 2 properties have been converted into one.

As you walk into the hotel, you first realise that the hotel has been lovingly converted to a fabulous contemporary standard. There is a lovely dining room, a contemporary bar area, a casual lounge area and a cosy snug area on the ground floor.

I was greeted by an extremely friendly member of staff who efficiently sorted out my reservation. I stayed in a single room as there weren't any doubles left and although the room was relatively small, it had a queen size bed,a dressing table and everything else that you needed. It was actually very cute. The towels were super fluffy! Additionally, there is Wi-Fi in all areas of the hotel and it's free!

We ate in the restaurant for dinner and the food was excellent. The plates were hot and very well presented. The staff were very attentive and couldn't do enough for you.

Breakfast was served downstairs and I had the buffet style breakfast which was delicious; cereal; fresh orange juice; croissant and cream cheese with smoked salmon. There was also a good selection of hot food (including cooked breakfast, porridge and mackerel if you fancy that kind of start to the day).

All in all, the Andover House was a great place to stay for business but I would have been more than happy to have stayed here for personal reasons and would definitely recommend it if you're staying in or around Great Yarmouth.

I cannot speak highly enough of Andover House although there was one downside for me in that the pillows were just far too soft for my liking & for that reason I am downgrading the hotel on sleep quality (sorry!).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TandK02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndoverHouse, Owner at Andover House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
We are very grateful to you for taking time to write extensively about Andover House and our team. We think you have pretty much covered everything...even the street that we sit on, which we agree is worth mentioning as the buildings are beautiful.

Sadly, we could not please you on the pillow front. If you choose to stay with us again, we have another type of pillow for allergy sufferers which may suit you better. We hope to welcome you back soon if your in the area once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Have just spent weekend at this hotel all the staff and owners are fantastic nothing is to much trouble the room we had was a suite which was great food was out of this world the choice is brilliant will return as soon as possible this hotel is great so you can just relax

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndoverHouse, Owner at Andover House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Glad you mentioned the word 'relax'! Our aim is to send every guest on their way feeling just that. Very much hope that you will return to AH again soon. Thank you for taking the time to write about us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
2.1 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#1 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
1,067 reviews
0.9 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#2 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
547 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#14 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#13 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
203 reviews
1.0 mi away
Knights Court Hotel
Knights Court Hotel
#4 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
452 reviews
0.9 mi away
Furzedown Hotel
Furzedown Hotel
#5 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andover House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andover House Hotel

Property: Andover House Hotel
Address: 28-30 Camperdown, Great Yarmouth NR30 3JB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Andover House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Andover House is an intimate, endearing hotel, located on a beautiful tree lined avenue close to the seafront and business hub of Great Yarmouth. Inspired for those over 13, The Copper Kitchen restaurant and bar serves stunning food, at fair prices, with service befitting the setting. An intimate, contemporary atmosphere with a welcoming, homely charm. The en-suite hotel rooms have everything needed when away from home; amazingly comfortable beds, free breakfast, big HD televisions showing Sky Sports and homemade biscuits to nibble on with a cup of tea. The shower rooms are small but we hope we make up for it in other ways! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Andover House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andover House Hotel Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing