We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Andover House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Furzedown Hotel(Great Yarmouth)
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Star Hotel(Great Yarmouth)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$69
US$64
Priceline
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Waverley Hotel(Great Yarmouth)
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
The New Beach Hotel(Great Yarmouth)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
The Pier Hotel(Gorleston-on-Sea)
US$238
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Carlton Hotel(Great Yarmouth)
US$125
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Prom Hotel(Great Yarmouth)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Burlington Palm Hotel(Great Yarmouth)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (541)
Filter reviews
541 results
Traveller rating
442
79
14
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
442
79
14
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfastsky tvhuge tvlovely hotelfour poster bedsmall hotelgt yarmouththe sea life centresea frontwould highly recommend this hotelstaying in great yarmouthon arrivallounge arealovely roomcomfy bedshower roomone night stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
346 - 351 of 541 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We had 3 nights at Andover house which were delightful. We stayed in the Rosemary suite which was a lovely room, very clean and well looked after. The staff, especially Chris (I think) were fantastic. It didn't take them long to remember our drinks order or the room we were staying in. Chris was very helpful on arrival and booked us a taxi for that evening. Dinner in the hotel was lovely, and staff were happy to advise us on where to eat. Location (just a minutes walk from the main drag) was fantastic and just what we needed. The only criticism I would give, is that the shower in our room was compact, not what we are used to with a double shower. All in all a brilliant hotel, which I would highly recommend for a break in Great Yarmouth.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TJC488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria N, Owner at Andover House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Yes, your right...Kris is his name :-) So pleased you enjoyed your 3 days with us. We are very honest about our shower rooms as they are compact but we try our best to make up for it in other ways! Best wishes to you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The on-street parking is free, the rooms are very clean indeed and we found the bed very comfortable. The only addition that would improve the room would be a fan in warm weather, though it may be that these were available on request, but we did not ask. The bedding and couch were comfortable and the beds larger than your typical B&B doubles (a UK king, I think). We would definitely stay here again if in town.

One thing to be aware of is that if you have a room overlooking the courtyard, you will be able to hear the conversations of other guests quite clearly, so if you want to turn in quite early, you might want to ask for a room away from that. But the latest people were out there during our stay was 11:30pm, as it's not really an establishment for all-night party animals, and breakfast is not served outside but in the downstairs dining room.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HereOnHols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria N, Owner at Andover House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

So grateful for your review! Fans are available on request, maybe we need to let Guests know about this a little better as the warm weather looks like it is here to stay for a while :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Have been to The Andover several times now & always a lovely experience. The staff are very obliging on every level. We dined there last night & the food was excellent. All 3 courses. A very relaxing and enjoyable weekend. Would definitely go back. Even the humid heat did not really bother us as the place its self makes up for lots of things. A must for anyone who loves nice , tasty, ala carte food. Well done to all who work there especially the chef.

Room Tip: Room as a suite are lovey with 47 inch TV & sky.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank HAUGHLEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria N, Owner at Andover House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Happy Anniversary! Will pass on your 'well done' to the Chef team. Thank you!

So pleased that you choose to return to AH, that let's us know that we are on the right track :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

If you are looking for a wonderful meal out in Great Yarmouth, this hotel never let's us down, it just gets better every visit. The staff are so friendly and professional, along with wonderful freshly cooked local food , never hurried and feel welcome every visit.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank angela b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria N, Owner at Andover House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Super lovely review! Thank you so much. Phil and I agree... there is nothing better than feeling welcome and looked after when you go out for dinner. These simple things make all the difference and glad you thought it worthy to write about!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed two nights in this very good hotel, and were extremely pleased with our choice.We were able to park right outside and leave the car there for our stay. However, try not to park under the trees lining the street as they drop sticky stuff all over your paintwork!

One of the piers and the promenade are within 5 minutes walk at the end of the road, and the historic Masonic Hall where I attended large event at lunchtime on the Saturday is similarly close.

We had a tremendous welcome and were helped in with our luggage as my mobility is limited, especially when it come to carrying cases up stairs.We had upgraded to a suite with a sitting room with sofa and a 2nd TV, kitchen sink etc. The only distaff side was the tiny shower room and separate lavatory : when we commented on these two on checkout, we were told that the room was being altered to make these facilities larger. The proprietor seems very keen to ensure that everything is fine during your stay and his staff reflect this.

We only ate in one night, and that was satisfactory ( I liked mine, my wife didn't like hers). Certainly, walking up to the Britannia pier the next evening, I couldn't see anywhere else to eat of this standard - indeed Great Yarmouth was cheap and cheerful fish and chips, burgers etc, its a typical Kiss Me Quick Hat resort......

Room Tip: Our suite was good value
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jj-the-jetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria N, Owner at Andover House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

It sounds like you both enjoyed your stay which is great news for us. Great Yarmouth is not to everyone's taste, granted! However, we are a great base for touring the Norfolk Broads, surrounding villages and stately homes. Best wishes to you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews