We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Andover House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Great Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous boutique hotel”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Last minute booking for one night in august in Great Yarmouth. Expectations not high. This fabulous boutique hotel was exactly what we had hoped for. In a lovely tree lined avenue the room although small was nicely appointed. Small shower room and huge wall mounted TV opposite the bed. Dinner was delicious, the menu had a good choice of dishes, meat, fish, veggie option, chicken. The staff were very attentive and pleasant. Would definitely recommend this hotel. Breakfast was good with a cooked option on offer for a little extra. Could have done with some windows open as breakfast was served in the basement and it was a little stuffy. Small point in an otherwise faultless offering!

Room Tip: Suites also available. Rooms not huge but well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sibbycambridgeshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria N, Owner at Andover House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Being 'exactly what you hoped for' is absolutely fantastic! THANK YOU for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    72
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
30
259
9
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Corby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Just had an awesome stay in the Andover. The hotel is ideally placed, just a minute walk to the sea front and free parking outside. The hotel definitely offers value for money, the beds are very comfortable and the rooms are furnished to high standard, large TV, sky sports and free wifi. Definitely will be returning again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 02kingm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria N, Owner at Andover House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Chuffed you liked the location, we do too! Really appreciate your time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shefford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

On arrival was well impressed with appearance hotel owner very helpful, stayed in double room which was OK but for £99 per night expected a bit more room quite cramped but doable biggest let down the on suit cramped,tiny corner sink no where to put toiletries not even your toothbrush space, kettle for tea needed to be moved to other side of the room to boil bit strange.bed comfy , very clean,beer expensive £4.50 a pint

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caffee64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria N, Owner at Andover House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for taking time out to review. Much appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west sussex
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed on sunday 27th, lovely hotel formed from 2 period properties, the decor internally is superb, modern and contemporary contrasting with the period look outside.
Rooms nicely furnished, bed was so comfortable. Breakfast was great, and the full Norfolk option so cheap !
Loved the bar too.
Staff were very friendly and attentive.
Lots of free parking immediately outside
Highly recommended

Room Tip: The standard double with the bay windows was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fitzbern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria N, Owner at Andover House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Fantastic review, can not thank you enough! Glad you enjoyed every aspect of AH :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We spent one night here as a late birthday trip. The hotel is great, very nicely decorated and well staffed. The on street parking is free, but very busy so well worth factoring this into any trip. Our room was at the top and given the weather conditions we wished we had taken up the offer of a fan as it was incredibly warm all night.

We hadn't planned on eating here but when looking at the surrounding area opted to book in to the hotel restaurant, very glad we did as the food was amazing. All of the staff were great and very welcoming, really couldn't have asked for more.

Overall this would be a highly recommended hotel if it was in any town, however given how the surrounding hotels looked from the outside this stands head and shoulders above them, very glad we made the decision to book here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria N, Owner at Andover House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hi Chris. So glad you chose AH and wrote about us on Trip Advisor! Fantastic to hear that you would recommend us, that means a lot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uckfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We had 3 nights at Andover house which were delightful. We stayed in the Rosemary suite which was a lovely room, very clean and well looked after. The staff, especially Chris (I think) were fantastic. It didn't take them long to remember our drinks order or the room we were staying in. Chris was very helpful on arrival and booked us a taxi for that evening. Dinner in the hotel was lovely, and staff were happy to advise us on where to eat. Location (just a minutes walk from the main drag) was fantastic and just what we needed. The only criticism I would give, is that the shower in our room was compact, not what we are used to with a double shower. All in all a brilliant hotel, which I would highly recommend for a break in Great Yarmouth.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJC488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria N, Owner at Andover House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Yes, your right...Kris is his name :-) So pleased you enjoyed your 3 days with us. We are very honest about our shower rooms as they are compact but we try our best to make up for it in other ways! Best wishes to you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The on-street parking is free, the rooms are very clean indeed and we found the bed very comfortable. The only addition that would improve the room would be a fan in warm weather, though it may be that these were available on request, but we did not ask. The bedding and couch were comfortable and the beds larger than your typical B&B doubles (a UK king, I think). We would definitely stay here again if in town.

One thing to be aware of is that if you have a room overlooking the courtyard, you will be able to hear the conversations of other guests quite clearly, so if you want to turn in quite early, you might want to ask for a room away from that. But the latest people were out there during our stay was 11:30pm, as it's not really an establishment for all-night party animals, and breakfast is not served outside but in the downstairs dining room.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HereOnHols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria N, Owner at Andover House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
So grateful for your review! Fans are available on request, maybe we need to let Guests know about this a little better as the warm weather looks like it is here to stay for a while :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Yarmouth
0.9 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#3 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
21.3 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Great Yarmouth Hotel
Premier Inn Great Yarmouth Hotel
#2 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Knights Court Hotel
Knights Court Hotel
#4 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
17.8 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#14 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andover House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andover House Hotel

Property: Andover House Hotel
Address: 28-30 Camperdown, Great Yarmouth NR30 3JB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Andover House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Andover House is an intimate, endearing hotel, located on a beautiful tree lined avenue close to the seafront and business hub of Great Yarmouth. Inspired for those over 13, The Copper Kitchen restaurant and bar serves stunning food, at fair prices, with service befitting the setting. An intimate, contemporary atmosphere with a welcoming, homely charm. The en-suite hotel rooms have everything needed when away from home; amazingly comfortable beds, free breakfast, big HD televisions showing Sky Sports and homemade biscuits to nibble on with a cup of tea. The shower rooms are small but we hope we make up for it in other ways! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Andover House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andover House Hotel Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing