We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply The Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Seafood Restaurant

Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #20 of 324 Restaurants in Great Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: As a family business, we take pride in the food and experience we offer. We've been running The Seafood Restaurant for over 37 years. During that time we've learnt what our customers like and work hard to deliver just that. All the fish served at the Seafood Restaurant is fresh. Where possible, we will always use local fish - and we've used the same local fishmonger for over 30 years, so we know what we're getting! As a result our menu is always changing and the fish dishes move with the seasons. Steaks are available for non fish eaters, plus vegetarians. We understand and cater for people with dietary requirements.
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Simply The Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2011

We first visited this restaurant many years ago whilst visiting my Family and were most impressed. We moved to Great Yarmouth almost eleven years ago and are fortunate to live just a five minute taxi ride away from the restaurant and visit the restaurant almost every week and sometimes more.

The welcome we get is excellent, the service is great, whether we are served by the proprietors Miriam and Chris or the very well trained staff. The fish is always the freshest and the very best quality and is on display for all to see.The home made tara is to die for (one of my favoourites but only one). All the sauces are home made by Chris and Miriam and if you don,t like one they will always change it for another. I like Halibut with a special champagne sauce. All the food is cooked to perfection and served in the same way. There is an excellent wine list which is selected by Chris and he tastes them so that he can recommend to his customers.

The price reflects the quality of the food and the service, as the saying goes you get what you pay for. To us it is "simply the best".

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foodie190788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    29
    8
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“The best Seafood Restaurant in the UK”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2011

Discovered this restaurant on a weekend to Great Yarmouth last year, now travel down from Northampton just to eat there. It has to be one of the Top Seafood Restaurants in the UK.
The hosts Chris and Miriam could not be more hospitable.
Ate there on Friday the 15th and Saturday 16th April.
Asked Chris to do us a tasting menu on the Friday that is not on the Menu and straight away he rolled his sleeves up and gave us a real fish treat including hot & cold starters of prawns, crab claws, fish pancakes all absolutely delicious, main courses included Monkfish curry and some of his specialty white fish dishes.

Saturdays dinner included white bait for starters and Scallops once again first rate, Followed by cold Lobster for myself and Lobster Thermodre for my wife once again very fresh and very tasty.
If you like Seafood you will not find tastier or fresher than this.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TouristDave45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“yum yum !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2011

its a must if you like good food , staff and sevice and fish all first class .
try chris"s tara ! i have been going to the seafood at least once a week
for 30 years ......... luckily it"s on my door-step !

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crose12760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
March, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb Fish & Seafood Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2011

Discovered this restaurant several years ago and return whenever we can knowing we will always enjoy exceptional fish and seafood,a delightful wine selection and a wonderful reception from the hosts Chris and Miriam. We always leave the restaurant with spirits lifted and the food sets a benchmark for anywhere else we dine, The price reflects the quality of the food all of which is seasonal and fresh. Going in February we managed to have the mussels which they only have in the Winter season, followed this with lobster and all washed down with a bottle of the house burgundy mmmm! This place is certainly worth travelling for. N & A

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nollymarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Such a friendly intimate restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2010

Greeted by a lovely hostess who immeadiately sat us at the bar for a drink and showed us the Menus. Great service very friendly an abundance of Fish on the menu you can even pick out you own lobster!
We had great food and great wine in a lovely atmosphere we were sat in our own booth quite romantic and cozy.
Fresh fish well presented and a good selection of desserts if we go back to Great Yarmouth we will visit the seafood restaurant again for the lovely hosts and to try another dish on great menu!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank benandjofrost12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
Gorleston-on-Sea, Great Yarmouth
 
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
 

Been to Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing