We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very ordinary food” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harry Ramsden's Great Yarmouth

Harry Ramsden's Great Yarmouth
Ranked #58 of 319 Restaurants in Great Yarmouth
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, View, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Harry Ramsden's serve the same great quality fish and chips today that they have been since 1928. The brand was established 80 years ago, when Harry Ramsden opened his first takeaway store in a hut in Guiseley. His top-quality fish and chips brought people from near and far and it wasn't long before Harry's became the most famous fish and chip shop brand in the world. The fish is freshly prepared in Harry's kitchens daily and has that distinctive flavour revered the world over. The menu includes the world-famous battered fish with its closely guarded secret recipe, as well as an extensive choice of mouth-watering options and a fantastic children's menu, to satisfy all the family. There are 13 Harry's restaurants across the United Kingdom, from seaside locations such as Blackpool and Bournemouth to high street restaurants and Southampton city centres, so you're never far from a Harry's.
Burton on Trent
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very ordinary food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Service was slow,despite restaurant being almost empty,waitress forgot to supply us with cutlery,when food arrived it was very disappointing, curry sauce tasted powdery and quite nasty, mushy peas were very dry ,batter on fish was soggy,Not the traditional fish and chips we we're expecting,it all tasted as though it had just been warmed up by someone with no knowledge of cooking

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ColinMassey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    130
    83
    83
    82
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tasty fish and chips served with a smile”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I was served by the beautiful Maria at their takeaway. She was very attentive to detail and served the most delicious fish and chips I've had in a long time with so much warmth and care. The mushy peas were sweet and had a good consistency - just how I like it! If Maria or anyone from the restaurant wants any suggestions on how to improve their marketing I would be happy to help with this - Maria, you probably remember our conversation when I was on holiday. My email address is
en9svb@gmail.com

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Blueskytwist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sun, Sea and great fish and chips :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

31.07.14

My family and I were greeted with the friendliest smiles and the satisfying scent that loomed from Harry Ramsden's.

The food was excellent and the setting was superb amongst the hustle and bustle yet the refreshing sea front :)

In particular, "Christina", who was extremely helpful, polite and well spoken set the tone for our mid afternoon meal as she went out of her wsy on a numerous occasions to aid us in enjoying our meal. If the food and setting wasn't all expected at least one can rely on probably the best service a resteraunt can provide.

For that we are grateful and will be coming again.

Thank you Christina and your colleagues

Helpful?
2 Thank Sayf Ali K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“nice fish and chips”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

My family and I have visited a few times over the years, in the past I have found it to be mediocre.
We visited this weekend and it was lovely. Staff were helpful, food was good.
The only problem was we had to wait a while for the bill, they were very busy and could have done with a extra waitrer/ess.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sam n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenhithe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Saved our night ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

A huge thank you to all the staff

We received a warm welcome after we had a disaster in another restaurant

All staff were very helpful and the food was very tasty

This restaurant will be on top of our visit list when we return to Yarmouth

The facilities in the restaurant and the restaurant it's self are clean and tidy and well organised

Helpful?
1 Thank Diane m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harry Ramsden's Great Yarmouth also viewed

Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
 
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
 

Been to Harry Ramsden's Great Yarmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing