We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ssssh Keep it a Secret”
Review of Lazzarella - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Lazzarella
Price range: US$41 - US$51
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ssssh Keep it a Secret”
Reviewed 8 October 2012

This is a hidden gem in a town that needs a lift. My wife & I ate here last Thursday. This is the first time I've had an evening meal here for a few years. We will back a lot sooner. The choice is excellent & main course prices at £6.95 & specials at £7.95 are unbelievable. The service was welcoming friendly but not overdone. The house wine was excellent. Two courses each & two glasses of wine & cost about £42. I hope they will open more evenings- we'll be back. Nigel & Jo

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    7
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Anglia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Genuine Italian Pasta House Anywhere!”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

All food and sauces are Tony's own and freshly cooked. His Minestroni Soup is the best you will get anywhere.The restaurant is very small. Only Pasta foods available but fresh. Tony comes out and talks to all his customers. It is exceptionally good value. Two starters, two main courses, half Caraf of house wine, beer and coffee; less than £35.
The restaurant is styled as a "Tratoria" not a restaurant with only 24 places, tiled floors. Tony's celebration of the Italian World Cup victory adorns one wall.
It is only open for 4 evenings and lunch times per week and Booking is imperative.
An excellent experience when you perhaps don't want to spend all evening over a meal.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank RAHEastAnglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
137 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“UNTIMELY RETIREMENT.”
Reviewed 24 December 2011

My wife and I visited Tony at Lazzerella yesterday and after the usual
excellent, friendly meal, he casually informed us that today will be the last
time, as he is retiring at Christmas. This is after eighteen years, providing
Great Yarmouth with a restaurant full of wonderful ambience and good
solid, as Momma would have cooked, food. We are so pleased to have been present, although it was just by chance we decided to go.
Unfortunately the real reason Tony is stopping, is because his wife is
very ill and requires his full time attention. If you read this Tony, Pauline and I wish your wife a speedy recovery and all the very best in the future.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank MartinDNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellingborough
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Italian food as Italian food should be in authentic Italian surrounds”
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Saw some reviews across the boards. Read and digested. Took a daytime walk to find this little gem. Just as well, it is out of the normal walk area. But when you find the building and it's beautiful courtyard, you are at Mammas!!!!! Saw every bit of food being prepared and cooked. Great!! Loved the house wine!! Prices overall. extremely fair and, dare I say it,
much cheaper than expected!! Great evening with great people. A weekend in Gt yarmouth, a lifetime on the taste buds!!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UnaWellingborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Small, intimate and authentic”
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Great little Italian tucked away in the Yarmouth rows. We have been many times so feel it's time to give it a good review. Only seats about 20 maximum but tables can be arranged to cater for 2 to however many you wish. The food is delicious and we have never had a bad meal here, sure the menu is small but everything is done to perfection, add to that some very reasonable pricing and you have a little gem!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dutchy777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lazzarella also viewed

Belton, Great Yarmouth
Belton, Great Yarmouth
 
Gorleston-on-Sea, Great Yarmouth
Hemsby, Great Yarmouth
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing