We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 star”
Review of Columbia Taverna

Columbia Taverna
Ranked #41 of 325 Restaurants in Great Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“5 star”
Reviewed 12 August 2012

What a great little resturant, we went as a group of sixteen for a meal. I love Greek food and they don't let you down.we had 3 courses and countless bottles of wine and beer. For which it was roughly £45 a couple. So it was an absolute bargain and a great night. Recommended.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vicjayhay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    49
    21
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A great night and lovely delicious food!”
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Met up with our lovely friends for a meal as always not disappointed A good meal and a great atmosphere you cant go wrong food delicious tasty and enjoyed by all.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Larkowsky123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent”
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We have been visitng this gem for 20 years plus and it never fails us.
Fantastic atmosphere, like stepping into another world, brilliant staff including "possibly" the chirpiest and friendliest waitress ("hello my love") in the universe who has also been in attentance for years.
Food is always spot on and although it would be nice to see a few specials on now and again there's no comlaints from us other than little time between courses to thouroughly enjoy each one, but we think this is down to the enthusiasm of the staff who do a brilliant job.
Definitely one of the best in the area without doubt.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Can't fault anything about Columbia Tavern”
Reviewed 5 August 2012

After visiting family members in Great Yarmouth 27/7/2012, we came across the Columbia, where we booked a table for 6...And from the moment we got into the Tavern, it was great service great atmosphere and Great food, we holiday in Greece alot and this in the best Greek food outside Greece, My brother and his wife have lived in Great yarmouth for just over a year, and had not found the columbia, but I can assure you they will be going back to the Columbia, and when we visit again we certainly will go back.......Book a table in advance if you can, as we did, as on saturday night it was busy...But worth every minute and £'s spent there...Thank you George and Carol Mcgurk from Tyne & Wear x

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carolellen1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A good find, hidden away.”
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We found this little gem on the internet, as we wanted to go to a greek restaurant while on holiday in great yarmouth.Been to great yarmouth a few times before but never seen columbia taverna before.Service was excellent, food was lovely and the staff were really nice and freindly especially george.Me and my family had a great evening and would go back any day. Many thanks to everyone
Koulla anastasiades from Northampton

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ellena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Columbia Taverna also viewed

 
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
 
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
 

Been to Columbia Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing