We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of Gable End Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gable End Hotel
Ranked #42 of 99 Great Yarmouth B&B and Inns
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The gable end hotel is a vey nice hotel, very comfortable room very clean and staff very friendly breakfast was lovely,we loved the position of the hotel just a short walk from Regent Street and restaurants,we will definitely be going back

Room Tip: We liked the ground floor room next to the dining room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 15MaryT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    69
    15
    9
    12
See reviews for
40
111
9
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely stay at The Gable End hotel last night. The staff were really friendly, the rooms were really clean, airy and bright! Our twin room (9) was blue decor and walls which gave it a very fresh feel! If we looked out of the window and to the left you could see the sea. The hotel was located roughly about a 10 minute slow stroll to the main shops and amusements etc Breakfast was yummy, the bar was small and cosy. Quite a few guests in there but we took drinks to our room. Room had a nice sized tv , hair dryer , tea facilities , shower gel etc and nice soft towels. We managed to squeeze on the car park, theres about 5 Spaces and off street parking on the side street which is free. There are pay meters on the main Road which cost £5 all day too. Would definitely stay again when we revisit. The man who greeted us (may have been the manager) couldn't do enough for us. Thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LannyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Had a lovely 3 night stay at the Gable end. Food was lovely and the staff - David and Damien were fantastic. A warm family business run by friendly and approachable staff. The room was lovely and clean and has all the necessities needed for a lovely stay and good night sleep. We will be returning in the future and praise the standard that they have retained whist running the business.

Room Tip: All rooms are suitable for all ages and noise is kept to a minimum
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We stayed one night at this small hotel on the sea front. I have never stayed anywhere as clean, everywhere was shiny and spotless. The lady who dealt with us could not have been more helpful and friendly. We had a meal in the evening which was reasonable and beautifully cooked ( no microwave used ) and a lovely breakfast. It was worth every penny of the very reasonable price we paid.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Had a lovely stay at the Gable End Hotel. Received a lovely warm welcome and shown to our room. The room was very comfortable and had all we needed. The hotel is located a short stroll across the sand dunes to the beach and within easy walking distance to the centre of Great Yarmouth. After a restful nights sleep we were treated to a full English which filled us up for the rest of the day ;0)) Looking forward to going back again soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McLowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Stayed for the three nights for two deal from 19th April as it was wife's birthday. Welcomed by friendly staff, instructions precise and book-in was easy. All staff friendly and welcoming (definitely not untidy as I saw somebody write...). Room quite small but clean, warm and well provided. Car parking easy, few spaces on forecourt (although we did park there) but ample road parking beside hotel in quiet road. Hotel is right on the front by the water gardens and a short stroll from the pier. We got to watch the live football on sky tv in the lounge (bonus)! Was shown superior room 3 on top floor - lovely spacious room with fantastic sea view (wish we had booked it but we will next time!). Breakfast in the well laid out dining room was excellent and the full english just too much for us as it's usually just a slice of toast before work! We also had a bar meal and that overfilled us too! Bar prices cheaper than our local! We will return, thanks for an enjoyable weekend...

Room Tip: Room 3! Superior room at front with lots of space and great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2013

having stayed at the gable end last year to visit the broads we booked again to stay this year, and we will never stay again.
We phoned to book for one night and gave our payment details over the phone, payment was not taken and we had to call back several t
imes to confirm booking of room.
On arrival we were greeted by a young man, who looked untidy in his uniform and laid back. We tried to pay for the room on arrival but the credit card machine could not find a wifi connection, so we moved to the doorway between the toilet and breakfast room all the while the young man continues to put our room keys in his mouth and chew on them. Inadvertantly charged us 3 pounds more then the room tarfif, which had to be given back in cash when we pointed out the error. We used the bar in the evening and we had to ring a bell for service where the untidy young man then proceeded to sit the public side of the bar while we had our drinks no chance of a private conversation. The highlight of my stay which was the following morning when having left the hotel i discovered that i had left my hot water bottle at the hotel. I called immediatly and ask if they had found it and if they did to keep hold of it and would collect at end of week, i also asked to them to call me back to confirm if they did or did not have it as if not i didnt want to waste a journey returning to the hotel. As expected no call returned and so at the end of the week we went back to the gable end, over half an hour in the wrong direction of a nine hour drive to our home. On arrival and waiting 20 miutes for the staff to try and locate it i was told they didnt know where it was and so i asked to speak to the manager who told us they had rhrown it away as they didnt think anyone would want it, despite me phoning and asking them to keep it for my return. Clearly they do not have any policy for lost property which is somewhat surprizing considering the nature of their business. Thankful it was not an item of jewellery or any other valuable item.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rvi001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GableEnd, Owner at Gable End Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
I am sorry that you were displeased with us on your second visit with us, the service I feel would have been the same as the first time you visited us. You were greeted by our Barman who was in his own clothes and not uniform. This was only because he had literally just walked through the door and had not time to change. Regarding payment, as you would have been aware (being a returning guest), we only take card details to secure the booking and payment is taken on arrival. As you would also have been aware, confirmation is only sent out on request, which you did not request. Our Barman did accidently overcharge you by £3, this was a simple mistake and as you have pointed out, it was refunded immidietely. With regards to you stating that he was chewing on your room keys, I find this extremley hard to believe and by the nature of your review, I feel had this have been the case, you would have pointed this out to us straight away. You stated you called the hotel about your hot water bottle which you stated had sentimental value. I was unaware of this information at the time and stated to you that we didnt have it. We do have Lost Property procedures in place but due to the state of the hot water bottle, the Housekeeper assumed you were leaving it for to dispose of. I tried to offer a replacement one or money to buy one but you stormed off.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Knights Court Hotel
Knights Court Hotel
#2 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
452 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Kensington
The Kensington
#49 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
367 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Elmfield
The Elmfield
#13 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
3 Norfolk Square
3 Norfolk Square
#12 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
222 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marine Lodge
Marine Lodge
#38 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
195 reviews
0.7 mi away
Willows Guest House
Willows Guest House
#16 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gable End Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gable End Hotel

Property: Gable End Hotel
Address: 30 North Drive, Great Yarmouth NR30 4EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gable End Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently refurbished Gable End is situated in the quieter end of Great Yarmouth's Golden Mile. With a short walk onto the main promenade, the hotel is still close to all major attractions such as the Britannia Pier, Town Centre, and Great Yarmouth Race Course. The hotel offers free Car Parking and Wi-Fi in all of its clean and modern bedrooms. The hotel offers a Bar which is open every evening and an open plan sitting room complete with Sky TV. A selection of homecooked meals are available daily. The hotel is strictly Non-Smoking throughout and Pets are not allowed. Gable End does not accept Stag/ Hen or Same Sex groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Gable End Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gable End Hotel Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing