We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Hotel, Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gable End Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gable End Hotel
Ranked #31 of 100 Great Yarmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quaint Hotel, Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

My husband surprised me with two nights stay here after we saw Sarah Millican on Thursday night for our wedding anniversary. Pulling up outside the hotel is clean and inviting. We were welcomed by David who has to be commended on his service and friendliness. Our room was fantastic, if you want modern looking this won't be your cup of tea but as we love quaint and quirky we were ecstatic!!! The bed was comfortable and we loved our little living area.

The hotel is a ten minute dawdle from the pier and not far from the town.

Breakfast was awesome and again the service was outstanding, all staff are friendly and really can't do enough for you.

We loved this hotel and would recommend it to anyone. We discovered we could have taken our dog and will try and get down for a visit with him before we emigrate to New Zealand next year!!!

Thank you for a lovely, relaxing couple of days!!! A quintessentially British Hotel!

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsty T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GableEnd, Owner at Gable End Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank You for your kind words. We are happy you had a good time whilst visiting the town and look forward to welcoming you back before you emmigrate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    69
    13
    8
    11
See reviews for
35
105
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

I stayed here overnight for an interview the day after. Arrived quite late from a long train journey to a warm welcome at the door. No single rooms left so moved into a well presented and clean double room. Very comfortable bed with high quality linen. Great night sleep, nice location. Bath room very clean with plenty of towels and toiletries. Breakfast served with a flair and decent portions.

All in all a great stay,close enough to Yarmouth that a decent walk or couple of quid taxi would suffice but far enough away to get away from it all

Cheers guys

Room Tip: I had room 2 and was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenArthur116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GableEnd, Manager at Gable End Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank You for a lovely review - it is always pleasing to know that our guests have had a good stay. Please call us for our latest rates and special offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

Stopped at this Hotel on a recent business trip to the area. Service was very good, greeted at the door and a comprehensive explanation of the Hotel's facilities. Room at the back was quiet and room had sufficient facilities with WiFi connection.
Excellent breakfast again with good service. Will stay here again on next trip to the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baldrick1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GableEnd, Owner at Gable End Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thanks for a lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you back. Please call us for latest deals and special offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Our second visit to Gable End - the first two years ago - and that was good. The refurbishments made to the reception/lounge have much improved the entrance area making it much lighter and less imposing. This time we chose a superior room (6) - a recently refurbed room - very large with an excellent huge en-suite with power shower - more expensive but well worth the extra for the luxury.
Another previewer complained about the lack of a breakfast menu and "help yourself to cereals and juices etc." which is common with most hotels but having said that here you can ask for variations of the set meal and if possible the staff will oblige.
The few staff here work very hard (Damien and Dave especially) but will meet all your requests without a tut or a moan, the rooms are serviced daily and everywhere is spotless.
We will return again and would have no hesitation in recommending Gable End to others.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are more expensive but larger and better en-suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GableEnd, Manager at Gable End Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for a wonderful review. We look forward to welcoming you back. Please call us for latest deals and special offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

We spent 2 nights at the hotel and it was 2 nights too long.
Checked in and was shown facilities by Dave.The following morning we tried the shower,but the tray kept over flowing and there was water everywhere and also tap was loose and couldn't be used.So left a note and also reported it to Dave.We then went out for the day and returned about 7 hours later,there was a note on the door from Dave apologising for the problems and explaining that they couldn't get into our room because they'd lost their set of keys.We then gave our keys to him,before going out a second time for 3 hours.Obviously you'd think everything would now be corrected,WRONG.Someone did go to our room and tighten tap,but the shower wasn't touched.Yes you've guessed it,water everywhere again.Told Dave not very happy and was given another room.To be truthful,the only thing that was ok was the cleanliness.When we've had B and B at every other hotels,you would always help yourself to juices and cereals.But you had to give all of your order to,(yes you've guessed it,Dave)which we felt was very controlling,as you couldn't have as much or as little as you like.Our first night was in room 11 which is near a extractor fan belonging to the Kensington hotel next door.This was turned on around 6.30am and woke us,as did the refuse lorry complete with reversing bleepers around the same time.Obviously people come to these establishments to relax and maybe have a lie in,which we found difficult.We decided just to get up and go home on the second a final day and skipped breakfast as we felt there'd been no offer of a part refund,which would have shown us that they took these matters seriously and also didn't think breakfast was of a good standard,eg pot of coffee just warm and toast made long before serving to us

Room Tip: Don't get a room that backs onto the Kensington hotel next door,as the extractor fan is turned o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LCB100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GableEnd, Owner at Gable End Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
We are sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your stay with us. The room you stayed in (Room 11) has had a brand new bathroom installed and we have not had any problems with the use of it up to date. We did have a plumber out but were unaware that the plumber had not looked at the shower. As it turned out, the shower drain needed plunging, we we do apologise for. Once again, i apologise for they keys. The guest who was in that room previously checked out without handing them back accidently, which is a common occurence. We went and got another set cut, but once we tried them on the door, we had to take them back to be adjusted. I know this is not your fault, but you were still able to gain access whenever you chose to, which should not have impacted your stay as some hotels require guests to leave there keys at reception during the day. David found you another room to move to which you were happy to relocate. Had you have asked to speak with a Manager, we could have discussed this further. With regards to fans etc on neighbouring hotels, we have no control over when they choose to turn them on etc, they must have had early breakfasts that day. We are also not in control of the time the refuse lorry comes, and they seem to visit the hotels early, as they do abroad in our experience. We are proud of our breakfast and the service we provide, as our many Trip Advisor reviews will suggest. We take the whole order from you at the table including fruit juice and cereal. You can have as much or as little as you want. We dont have guests queue to help themselves, as part of our service is for us to do it all for you. Extras are always available if you ask. Our coffee and toast is made to order and is brought out with your breakfast. You didn't give me a chance to speal to you as you checked out before breakfast, speaking to nobody, so what chance did you give me to try and rectify your issues. We work very hard to ensure guests have a relaxing and peaceful time and our many many reviews online reflect this, with many of our guests retuning time and time again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

we stayed for 2 nights from 23rd Aug in a family room. The hotel was very clean, our family room was lovely with a separate bedroom for our daughter.Staff v friendly especially David. Breakfast was good nothing was too much trouble.A nice quiet area, easy to park. A really enjoyable first stay at this hotel, which we will return to, hopefully for a bit longer next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shell558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GableEnd, Owner at Gable End Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank You for a lovely review. We would love to see you back at the hotel in the near future. Please call us for latest deals and special offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

My husband and I booked Great Yarmouth to go to the horse racing and see The Gable End hotel on the web site and it looked very nice. Booked 4 nights. Our room was at the back of the building and the kitchen was below our room and every morning at about 7am, all we could smell was the kitchen staff cooking breakfast, not very pleasant! Room was quite small, creeky floorboards. I must say that the breakfasts were lovely and David was so pleasant. Overall had a nice break and the weather was perfect. Would book the hotel again, perfect location, but would want a sea view room!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laraine66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GableEnd, Owner at Gable End Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank You for your review. We are pleased you had a good stay with us. Apologies for the smell of cooking you encountered. The room you stayed in was Room 11 I believe which is a lovely sized double room with good decor. However if you book a Sea View with us you will have a larger room. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Please call us for latest deals and special offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Furzedown Hotel
Furzedown Hotel
#5 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.2 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#14 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
1.1 mi away
Embassy Hotel
Embassy Hotel
#41 of 100 in Great Yarmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The White Lodge
The White Lodge
#1 of 100 in Great Yarmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
1.2 mi away
Taunton House
Taunton House
#6 of 100 in Great Yarmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Kensington
The Kensington
#40 of 100 in Great Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gable End Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gable End Hotel

Property: Gable End Hotel
Address: 30 North Drive, Great Yarmouth NR30 4EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gable End Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently refurbished Gable End is situated in the quieter end of Great Yarmouth's Golden Mile. With a short walk onto the main promenade, the hotel is still close to all major attractions such as the Britannia Pier, Town Centre, and Great Yarmouth Race Course. The hotel offers free Car Parking and Wi-Fi in all of its clean and modern bedrooms. The hotel offers a Bar which is open every evening and an open plan sitting room complete with Sky TV. A selection of homecooked meals are available daily. The hotel is strictly Non-Smoking throughout and Pets are not allowed. Gable End does not accept Stag/ Hen or Same Sex groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Odigeo so you can book your Gable End Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gable End Hotel Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing