We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family room”
Review of Gable End Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gable End Hotel
Ranked #41 of 99 Great Yarmouth B&B and Inns
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Family room”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed during the half term. Our family room was a welcome surprise as the children had their own room off our's with 2 single beds. Our standard room was basically decorated, clean and simple. The shower leaked on the 1st night but it was sorted the next day even though that was a Sunday. Hotel is just opposite water gardens and beach, 5 mins from the cinema which was v handy for the kids morning movies. Downstairs public rooms are lovely, old, with wooden panelling. Breakfast excellent every morning, even opened an hour early when the clocks went back. Jason the barman friendly and helpful. Would like to have met the owners but I guess they were busy.

Room Tip: Had a peek in some superior rooms which looked lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCLC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GableEnd, Owner at Gable End Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank You for your lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you in the future, please contact us direct to get our best available rates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    69
    14
    8
    12
See reviews for
38
110
9
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Typically seaside hotel. Excellent friendly service and first class breakfast. Evening bar meals all one price. Room was very clean but in the roof space and sloping ceilings were hard to avoid. Very good value. Small car park but on street parking adjacent.

Room Tip: Keep away from 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3HamiltonC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GableEnd, Owner at Gable End Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank You for your lovely review. It is always lovely to hear when guests enjoy themselves at our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you in the future, please contact us direct to get our best available rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We have just come back from a one night break with another couple. We had a lovely night stay at Gable End. The rooms were spacious, clean, all you could ask for. Our friends had a ground floor room which was perfect as one of them has difficulty with stairs. The staff were welcoming and friendly. Jason, the barman for the evening was very helpful and as we were the only people in the bar at the time, he was happy to chat with us. Gable End is a relatively small hotel with plenty of character. The model ships in the dinning room are wonderful. The breakfast is freshly cooked and is first class, and the service was first class. Gable End is in a nice location overlooking the sea, about a ten minute walk from the centre of town. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StellaHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GableEnd, Owner at Gable End Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. It always pleases us all to know that our guests have had a good stay with us. When you re-book with us, please call us directly for our latest rates and offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for my birthday. I made enquiries about a ground floor room and they where very accommodating. The place is small but the nice. Room was lovely, breakfast was great and the staff very friendly.
We will definitely stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LadyLisa_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GableEnd, Owner at Gable End Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for you lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you back, please contact direct for our latest rates and offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2013

we stay there on saturday night 4 couples we all enjoyed it very much staff were friendly food was lovely not 1 of us had any complaints we all said would go back next time we gonna try the family rooms as we all want to take the children

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbiehart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GableEnd, Owner at Gable End Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thanks for a great review! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed for a night here,room was brilliant,all you need for a night away, was met by a man who was very helpful and welcoming, lively clean hotel and lovely design,had drinks in the bar which I found was very well priced,had breakfast in the morning which was brilliant,very helpful and polite staff and food was great, will definitely be returning! Thanks

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stepht699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GableEnd, Owner at Gable End Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thanks for your lovely review of the hotel. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Was made to feel very comfortable from the start of the stay. Room was clean and very pleasant, there was a small leak in the toilet which was dealt with immediately. The staff was warm and friendly the food was excellant. will definately go back

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GableEnd, Owner at Gable End Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank You for a lovely review, we look forward to welcoming you in the near future. Please contact us for our latest deals and offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Knights Court Hotel
Knights Court Hotel
#4 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
445 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Sea Princess
The Sea Princess
#20 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
530 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Kensington
The Kensington
#48 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Elmfield
The Elmfield
#12 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
167 reviews
0.3 mi away
3 Norfolk Square
3 Norfolk Square
#13 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
220 reviews
0.7 mi away
Willows Guest House
Willows Guest House
#15 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gable End Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gable End Hotel

Property: Gable End Hotel
Address: 30 North Drive, Great Yarmouth NR30 4EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gable End Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently refurbished Gable End is situated in the quieter end of Great Yarmouth's Golden Mile. With a short walk onto the main promenade, the hotel is still close to all major attractions such as the Britannia Pier, Town Centre, and Great Yarmouth Race Course. The hotel offers free Car Parking and Wi-Fi in all of its clean and modern bedrooms. The hotel offers a Bar which is open every evening and an open plan sitting room complete with Sky TV. A selection of homecooked meals are available daily. The hotel is strictly Non-Smoking throughout and Pets are not allowed. Gable End does not accept Stag/ Hen or Same Sex groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Gable End Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gable End Hotel Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing