We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good and bad”
Review of Gable End Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gable End Hotel
Ranked #45 of 98 Great Yarmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good and bad”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Generally a nice hotel with a nice cosy homely feel to it, staff very accommodating, helpful and friendly! Room was as per photos, clean and tidy! We had the triple room as was with baby, the staff even asked if there was anything the baby needed for breakfast which I thought was a nice touch! Lovely spacious dining room too!

However, speaking of breakfast-this was particular stingy in portion size, a teeny bowl of cereal given followed by a fry up (just one sausage, one rasher of bacon, one tiny serving of everything else too!) not what I paid £85 a night to receive! Although nice big pot of tea and coffee served! In the rooms toilet there was no toilet brush which I was surprised about! In their manual it said they charge for extra tea and coffee but thankfully ours were topped up next day free of charge when room serviced...and speaking of drinks, I'm sure their website said they offer a free welcome drink on arrival-no such luck for us-couldn't find anyone on reception to greet us so went to bar instead (which was fine!) but half expected to be offered the drink then!? Also booked this hotel cos of what I thought was close proximity to the centre but although it is opposite the finger lakes garden by beach it is still a good 20 min walk to where the main hub is which is where the baby friendly beach area is so made a boo boo booking this place! It was pretty much the furthest hotel away on North Drive! Couldn't get parking space in the small car park but found space on road next to it so no problem really except for carrying in all the baby stuff! Also it was fairly warm we we went and our ground floor room hit the top scale of my baby room thermometer so very hot-28 degrees-even with all windows wide open....bring a fan would be my best tip!

Hope this review helps!?

Room Tip: No view from ground floor triple room except a wall
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Croaksie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    69
    13
    8
    12
See reviews for
36
106
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We booked last minute for a 2 night stay at The Gable End Hotel. We were very impressed, the room we had was very spacious and clean, the service was excellent, nothing was too much trouble, all in all we had a lovely stay and would return.

Room Tip: room 6, lovely sea view, but quite a few stairs as on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seznpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Had an overnight stay here for the races. The Hotel was clean, very comfortable, with everything you could need. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, with nothing too much trouble. The breakfast was lovely and plentiful and the room was comfortable. We would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 16 has a separate bedroom with 2 single beds which is handy for not keeping the kids awake when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J9Wells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Just got back from the Gable End Hotel in Yarmouth, The staff are friendly, welcoming, and go out their way to make your stay enjoyable.
Great breakfast nothing is a bother to them.
The room spacious and very clean and most of all quiet even though a few minutes walk from all the attractions, Highly recommend.
Would book again

Room Tip: We had the superior double room, top floor very spacious, Sea views, beautiful bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Booked on the internet and looked at all the pictures and description of the rooms before hand which looked lovely, they obviously didn't put the pictures of the room we stayed in for obvious reasons! Completely different to what you see on line. We booked the family room which consists of horrible peach walls with scratches and holes in them, furniture which looks no less than 20 years old which was also dirty, the cleanliness was shocking, went to find a plug socket down near the bed and hate to think the last time it was cleaned properly! Cobwebs is all I'll say. It's suppose to be a family room but there is no bath so haven't been able to bath my little girl, and then the shower leaked and it was cold the first night, there's also a lack of basic amenities such as a bath mat, which is so dangerous when stepping out onto the laminate floor, our other little girl fell when getting out of the shower. Service on a morning is ok if you don't mine getting half your order half an hour late and having to ask for it and getting most of it wrong anyway, service is also very unprofessional, the only good thing I would say about this hotel is the bad man..very nice and friendly

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lbean2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Wow a big thank you to all the staff at this hotel. - tremendous efforts made to make our stay fab. even providing a mobile phone charger, a fan for my mums room, extra pillows, - the food is great, breakfast quick and hot and lots of it. Lots of stairs on the upper levels but there are excellent ground floor rooms for the less able like my mum. Staff - just wow brilliant - clean and tidy rooms. only two very minor grumbles which was my mothers bed in the ground floor room one is excessively squeaky and sounds like a guinea pig is keeping company all night, and her shower curtain was difficult ( not sure why but would not pull across easily at all). Other than that I would recommend this hotel over and over again. good for families, or like myself with an elderly parent. - Its quite a walk from this hotel to the main centre, which is a good thing as it is quiet but something to bare in mind if you have walking difficulties. The Hotel looks directly out onto the garden section of the main promenade with the sea about 5 mins walk away. there is a lack of seats on the walk into town so older people may want to take a seat or stick to rest if they are walking into town. car park allows for about 5 cars but there is parking on the side road next to the hotel. the street is well lit outside and the whole area feels safe.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are available for those who are not able to access stairs. room 12 has lots of op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nuron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2014

What a fantastic stay we had at this hotel. We were made to feel very welcome. The staff were friendly and the stay at this hotel relaxing. Wished we had stayed another night. Great location for the pier as well.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Furzedown Hotel
Furzedown Hotel
#5 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.2 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#14 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
1.1 mi away
Embassy Hotel
Embassy Hotel
#49 of 98 in Great Yarmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The White Lodge
The White Lodge
#2 of 98 in Great Yarmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
1.2 mi away
Taunton House
Taunton House
#6 of 98 in Great Yarmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Kensington
The Kensington
#40 of 98 in Great Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gable End Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gable End Hotel

Property: Gable End Hotel
Address: 30 North Drive, Great Yarmouth NR30 4EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gable End Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently refurbished Gable End is situated in the quieter end of Great Yarmouth's Golden Mile. With a short walk onto the main promenade, the hotel is still close to all major attractions such as the Britannia Pier, Town Centre, and Great Yarmouth Race Course. The hotel offers free Car Parking and Wi-Fi in all of its clean and modern bedrooms. The hotel offers a Bar which is open every evening and an open plan sitting room complete with Sky TV. A selection of homecooked meals are available daily. The hotel is strictly Non-Smoking throughout and Pets are not allowed. Gable End does not accept Stag/ Hen or Same Sex groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Gable End Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gable End Hotel Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing