We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
216 results
Traveller rating
215
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
215
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews homemade shortbread porridge pillow spray attention to detail skye room white chocolate and raspberry harris room coffee machine an amazing cook best places we have ever stayed hollandaise sauce enormous bed chai latte usb charging sleep kit bath salts scottish decor
Filter
Updating list...
103 - 108 of 216 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2017

We absolutely loved this beautiful home! The attention to detail in every room was amazing and so well thought out. Dietary concerns (ie., gluten free) were kindly taken care of at breakfast. James and Stuart were fantastic, friendly hosts and gave us the best tips for touring the lovely Grantown-on-Spey. We spent the evening sipping whiskey with our travelling companions in the gorgeous living room-what a treat! Would recommend Firhall and stay again in a heartbeat!

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Julia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James-and-Stuart, Owner at Firhall Highland Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Hi there Julia, thank you for taking the time to share your lovely comments on your stay here at Firhall. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the room, our hosting and the guest lounge too. It's wonderful to hear that you were able to relax and enjoy a wee nip with your travelling companions during your visit. Hopefully we'll get to welcome you back to Firhall for another adventure here in the Cairngorms National Park soon.

All the best

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed at Firhall for two nights on our road trip around Scotland and I cannot rate this b&b highly enough. My husband and I stayed in the Spey room and it was fabulous. Huge room with a divine bed, fridge with fresh milk and water, coffee machine and homemade shortbread. Complimentary whisky to welcome you. The bathroom was also huge and had a roll top bath. James and Stuart's attention to detail is amazing and their choice of decor is pure class. There is a guest lounge with a cosy log burner which had been lit when we arrived back from dinner and looked so inviting we had to sit awhile with our coffee. The breakfasts were superb. James and Stuart have turned this beautiful house into an elegant and welcoming place to stay and to top it off they are friendly and fabulous hosts. If we return to Grantown I hope we will be lucky enough to stay again.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank trishbenaiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James-and-Stuart, Owner at Firhall Highland Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Trish, we are just thrilled to hear your feedback on your recent stay at Firhall. It's wonderful to hear that you found our Spey Room offers a little something special with it's roll top bathroom and huge walnut bed with super king size mattress. We're so pleased you enjoyed the rooms, their decor, our breakfasts and our hosting too. It was a totally pleasure to host you for your stay and we so look forward to welcoming you back to your new boutique Highland hideaway.

All the best

James & Stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

We arrived at Firhall B&B after a two day hike in the Cairngorms. James and Stuart gave us a warm welcome: Stuart offered to dry our tent, while James gave tips about restaurants and the neighborhood.
The entire B&B was very clean and nicely decorated, while our room (Findhorn) in short simply amazing: a very spacious room, one of the best beds I've ever slept in (it's enormous!) and a well-equipped bathroom.
The breakfast is superb as well: a day ahead you order from multiple choices, all with a special twist that changes each day. The available fruit is as it should be: fresh.
The B&B also has a comfortable lounge, where you can consume a whisky from the nearby distilleries.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank depaepenicolas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James-and-Stuart, Owner at Firhall Highland Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Hi Nicolas, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our Findhorn four poster room here at Firhall. It was our pleasure to host you guys. Stuart and I had such fun picking out the wallpapers, fabrics and antiques and beds for the house so we are just thrilled that you enjoyed it all. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on our B&B and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your time touring Scotland. We're glad to hear that the tent held up and we hope to welcome you both back to Firhall sometime.

All the best

James & Stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

Stunning house, rooms, owners, breakfast! You must go!!!!
Every detail in this place has been thought through! Amazing. Whether it is the USB charger sockets, the tartan curtains, the fresh milk and water in the fridge, the coffee maker, the heated floor in the bathroom, the shower, the toothbrush kit, way too much to mention go there & find out for yourselves!!!

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Kirstin U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James-and-Stuart, Owner at Firhall Highland Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Ah thanks so much guys for those kind words! Stuart and I are just delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Firhall. It's wonderful to hear that your found our amenities and facilities hit the spot for you. Months of planning went into the renovations of Firhall which makes it all the sweeter when we hear that that work has been appreciated and added to your experience. We hope to welcome you back for another stay in the future.

All the best

James & Stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

My wife and I headed up to Grantown for some much needed R&R. The reviews on this particular B&B made it a must and it didn't disappoint. We stayed in the spey room which was fantastic, huge bed and a lovely bathroom. But it was all the little details that really made our stay. Touches like the fresh home made shortbread biscuits to the dram of whiskey helped to make our stay a very memorable and relaxing one.

Easily 5 starts and we'll be staying again.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Martyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James-and-Stuart, Owner at Firhall Highland Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Hi there Martyn, thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are so pleased we didn't disappoint and you enjoyed your time here at Firhall. I had very intensive training from "Mother Ewing" to make sure I made the family shortbread to the fine standard that great great great great granny Ewing did back in the early 1900's when she perfected the recipe. I'm really pleased that they hit the spot for you and rounded off a lovely stay. Stuart and I are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your visit to Grantown on Spey and look forward to welcoming you both back soon.

All the best

James and Stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews