We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This hotel lives up to its promise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grant Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grant Arms Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“This hotel lives up to its promise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

The Grant Arms Hotel specialises in providing its guests with quite specific opportunities for holiday pleasure, particularly with regards to wildlife spotting, walking and environmental interests. It succeeds. Good food, pleasant private and public rooms and friendlly and helpful staff contributed to a great September break.

Room Tip: Book early and ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank visitor1Yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    483
    155
    39
    14
    10
See reviews for
72
378
73
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prestwick, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

we arrived after a stormy five hour journey,and were made very welcome by all duty staff .the food was first class beautifully presented by friendly staff . extremely dog friendly, perfect location we will return

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jack c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

Excellent Hotel - genuine friendly welcome from all staff which was brilliant! Particular thanks to the receptionist when we first booked in, she saved our holiday.
Hotel rooms were large, clean and fresh, modern refurbishment was evident.
Very comfortable stay.
Restuarant food was excellent - we enjoyed every morsel
Would thoroughly recommend this hotel to all.

Room Tip: Just ask - we did and were not disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OliveandPopeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northwest
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

We arrived at the hotel in the middle of the afternoon after an extremely long drive of 8 hours. The receptionist was not very welcoming or added any personality to the welcome such as "did you have a good drive?". She just went through a standard check in without a smile, unlike the younger receptionist who appeared to work mornings who was extremely approachable and always had a smile. Quality of the room was excellent with lovely large bathroom. The only thing which let the room down was an old and very small 'portable' TV which was a struggle to see when in bed. I liked the individuality of the hotel and its links with the wildlife of the area.Be aware that if you do not book dinner at the hotel there are very few places to eat locally apart from an Indian restaurant. I expected there to be some nice pubs where you could eat, there aren't!!!!. Grantown was much smaller than I expected it to be and evenings could be very long in the winter with no entertainment in the town that I know of but I could be wrong.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthwestCharleygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

The staff at this hotel are amazing. They are all incredibly helpful and go out of their way to ensure satisfaction, comfort and a positive experience. There was a slight discrepancy with our bill which was settled in our favour with no unpleasantness. As birdwatchers we received excellent tips, information and suggestions of places to go. The food and seervice are excellent .

Room Tip: Great rooms but remember to take own shower cap
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rosi w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

Stopped over for one night hotel recommended to us by the local tourist information office. Hotel is located in the centre of the village in a lovely building. Reception staff very pleasant and helpful. We were allocated a superior room and very nice it was too.
We chose the dinner bed and breafast offer as it proved to be the best value givne that bed and breakfast was quoted at nearly £80 per person for the night (the tourist infor had said there were rooms at around £50 per person. To take the dinner option added on only around another £10.
The restaurant is a lovely large room and the waiting staff could not be faulted. The menu was large enough to give problems in deciding what to take. When the food arrived we were not disappointed. Coffee was available in the lounge after the meal and was laid out so you could help yourself. Would have been perfect if a wee mint or piece of shortbread had been provided.
Grantown on Spey is a charming village with some lovely walks down by the river, well worth a visit and the Grant Arms enhanced our short stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordilindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo Norway
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

We were moved to the Grant Arms by Booking.com since The Garth which we originally booked was oversold. It was a good replacement and we got it for the same price.

Our room was to the back of the hotel and nice and quiet. Bed was good but as in most parts of Scotland a little small for my taste. Bathroom was huge since this was a handicap room.

Great breakfast was included and actually served as a buffet which is uncommon in Scotland so i could eat plenty of bacon:-) We did not try the restaurant but tried to find something in town which was not easy (sleepy little town). Ended up at The Garth across the street were i got a lovely smoked mackerel and filet of lamb

Overall a nice one night stay on the way to the whisky trail

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gode_Reisetips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantown-on-Spey
3.3 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
3.2 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
#5 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
8.4 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grant Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grant Arms Hotel

Property: Grant Arms Hotel
Address: 25 The Square, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3HF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grant Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Warm Welcome awaits you the Grant Arms Hotel (3*** GOLD VisitScotland Award), The UK's Wildlife Hotel, which was built in 1765. Former famous visitors include both Queen Victoria and Queen Elizabeth II. Refurbished to a High Standard of comfort and service, all rooms are ensuite with tea and coffee making facilities, TV, hairdryer and toiletries. The Grant Arms Hotel is proud to be the base of the BWWC (BirdWatching and Wildlife Club). The BWWC's Club Room, Natural History Library, Walks, Talks and Wildlife Briefings are free to all Grant Arms Guests. Experience a holiday in the Scottish Highlands, the perfect combination of mountain scenery, ancient buildings and mysterious lochs. Visit Aviemore; Cairngorms mountains, Inverness; Loch Ness; the Moray Firth; and Royal Deeside. Follow the trails of castles, gardens and distilleries, or play golf at the numerous courses found nearby, including the Grantown-on-Spey 18-hole course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Grant Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grant Arms Hotel Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing