We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room was not what we had booked, the wildlife club was excellent”
Review of Grant Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grant Arms Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We were a couple spending our 20th anniversary on a wildlife watching holiday. We booked for 3 nights B&B. Our stay at the Grant Arms was a stay of two halves.

The good bit first: the Birdwatching and Wildlife Club facilities are excellent, the evening get-together to swap stories and tips for future trips out were really useful. Katie and Kirsty were really helpful in organising places on local trips, which I think would have been difficult to organise if we had tried to do this without the local knowledge. This bit gets 5/5

Now the not so good. We had booked a deluxe double room well in advance to make sure we got the accommodation we wanted. On our arrival, we were told that there were no double rooms (even though I pointed out we had booked well in advance), but we were being "upgraded" to a deluxe twin for the standard room price. No apology or explanation. The room was plain and unexceptional, the gap under the door meant that it was like having a night-light on all night from the hall lighting. The single beds were not particularly comfortable, and were widely spaced with only one bedside lamp between them.
Breakfast was uninspiring (we went to Aviemore to the excellent Mountain Cafe for breakfast for the two remaining mornings).
When we came to settle the bill we found that we were being charged for 3 nights superior B&B and evening meal (even though we had only eaten there on the first night). This took a while to sort out.
2/5 for the hotel itself.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank testhellebore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (784)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

659 - 665 of 784 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2011

My friend & I stayed with you from 17th - 24th of October and very much enjoyed our stay.

My comments on your hotel are:

* staff are courteous, responsive and resourceful

* the food is beautifully cooked and well presented. The menu is varied and allows for a good choice.

* the rooms are clean and comfortable & reasonably spacious

* We consider that the whole Wildlife package, for the week, was tremendous value and your hotel could easily pass for a 4 star establishment.

Many thanks for a lovely stay. We are inclined to come back another time.

Best Regards

John Cole

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

It was wonderful to have the wildlife experts on hand to help us make the most of our stay in the area. Even though we were novice wildlife watchers, Kirsty and Katie made us feel very welcome and gave us lots of excellent tips. Indeed, all the staff were friendly and helpful, the food was excellent (using lots of local produce) and they even provided a super-king sized bed for my six foot five husband!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Staying at one hotel can be much like staying at another; they are sterile and often so alike that one could be unsure where one was when one woke up in the morning!

The Grant Arms hotel has a unique selling point in that it provides guidance and advice for all those interested in nature on land at sea and in the air. They do not molly-coddle guests but rather perhaps invite them to meet at an RV where they will provide advice and knowledge about the countryside and its inhabitants. The area one can visit is large and includes the northern edge of the Cairngorms, NW to the head of the Findhorn valley, N to the Moray Firth and then of course the whole of Speyside. It is a beautiful area of the country and the hotel provides an excellent base from which to explore.

The hotel is perhaps a little dated in certain areas but provides a really warm welcome from staff who are interested in their guests and their welfare. One couldn't really ask for more!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We don’t often go back to the same location but this was our third visit as the Grant Arms has become a really special place to us. David and his team of hardworking, dedicated staff really make it special and all went so smoothly from the first enquiry to the reception team to the last day when we were very sad to be leaving. On arrival we were greeted like old friends & we had help with the cases (a lovely touch). The restaurant staff are so friendly and efficient and the meals are absolutely right in choice, variety quality and presentation. We stayed for a week this time and it still wasn’t long enough! We were able to take advantage of the BWWC team who are always so knowledgeable and helpful. It is easy to overlook all the staff so thanks too to all who help to keep this huge building so clean and our room so spotless. One touch I loved (and hadn’t seen before) was that there is a laundry room with a washing machine, dryer and iron – all free for the guests to use. I found that very helpful and convenient as it was right next to our room. And no, it didn’t disturb us one bit. There is every facility here from the Club Room Library where you can borrow books and DVD’s – a Boot Wash & Drying Room, so no worries about wet clothing or boots. You have every opportunity to find out what is happening with the Days Out Guides, the Daily Chirp on your breakfast table each morning, the evening briefings where you can swap sightings and share tips and films to watch in the Osprey Suite most evenings. I though the car share scheme was a brilliant idea – anything to help the environment must be a good idea. There is access to a computer and the hotel provides Wi-Fi access too.
They have thought of everything. I only hope I have too in my thanks yous.

Room Tip: We prefer the rooms at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Birdbrain1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Jonty Birder
We had seen this hotel advertised in several wildlife magazines and thought we would give it a go. We were not disapointed, having opted for the upgrade to a superior room we had a large and very comfortable room which was well serviced throughout our stay.
From walking in the door we were made to feel most welcome and the staff throughout were friendly, most helpful and allways there but in the background.
One of the most onerous tasks was choosing from the ever changing menu of wonderful food.
Having chosen this hotel for the wildlife link we found that you could get all the information you wanted and participate in activities as much or as little as you wished.
We enjoyed our weeks stay so much we are now looking forward to our planned next visit in the spring.

Room Tip: We felt the upgrade was worth the supplement
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jontybirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

I took my husband who is disabled and has an electric scooter on a trip to Scotland. We had a wonderful time. This hotel is ideal as a base for bird & wildlife watching. They advise you where to go for the best chance of seeing birds and animals by giving you a leaflet each day, or you may just want to go out and see the wonderful scenery. They also organise walks which are free of charge. The food is excellent, the rooms are large, clean and comfortable, with all facilities. We had a room which catered for a disabled person, which made my husbands life a lot easier. The staff were really helpful. The only problem was the lift, which was really old with sliding metal doors, which you had to open and close yourself. Not one door but two each time you got in and again when you got out. When you got the scooter into it, and it is a small scooter, there was no room around it, and just enough room for me to stand at the side, which made it very difficult.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aileen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantown-on-Spey
0.5 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
691 reviews
0.1 mi away
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
#5 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
329 reviews
3.2 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
588 reviews
13 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
817 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grant Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grant Arms Hotel

Address: 25 The Square, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3HF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range: £98 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grant Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Warm Welcome awaits you the Grant Arms Hotel (3*** GOLD VisitScotland Award), The UK's Wildlife Hotel, which was built in 1765. Former famous visitors include both Queen Victoria and Queen Elizabeth II. Refurbished to a High Standard of comfort and service, all rooms are ensuite with tea and coffee making facilities, TV, hairdryer and toiletries. The Grant Arms Hotel is proud to be the base of the BWWC (BirdWatching and Wildlife Club). The BWWC's Club Room, Natural History Library, Walks, Talks and Wildlife Briefings are free to all Grant Arms Guests. Experience a holiday in the Scottish Highlands, the perfect combination of mountain scenery, ancient buildings and mysterious lochs. Visit Aviemore; Cairngorms mountains, Inverness; Loch Ness; the Moray Firth; and Royal Deeside. Follow the trails of castles, gardens and distilleries, or play golf at the numerous courses found nearby, including the Grantown-on-Spey 18-hole course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Grant Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grant Arms Hotel Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing