We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”
Review of Grant Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grant Arms Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent value”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We booked a week through the Birdwatching and Wildlife Club (BWWC) as the hotel seemed excellent value and gave us a base to explore the Highlands. We had a fantastic week. We had a spacious, comfortable room with views across to snow-capped hills. There was a good breakfast each morning which set us up for the day, and a three course meal each evening which was always excellent, with a different, interesting menu every day. The service was really excellent for the whole of our stay; all the staff were pleasant and helpful without exception. The BWWC provided ideas and information which we found very useful, and having a library of books and DVDs to borrow was a nice addition to our stay. The location proved ideal to explore some of the coast as well as the Cairngorm area. We enjoyed our stay very much, and would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

Room Tip: We asked for a room with a view of the hills - which we enjoyed very much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    498
    163
    41
    14
    10
See reviews for
75
388
78
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Staying with my wife for one night through a Late rooms deal (£90 B&B). Room 202 was assigned to us, a good room, but with the fire escape dominating one bedroom window's outlook. We upgraded for £20, which bought us room 206, a family room with uninterrupted North facing views.The bathroom was spacious, with bath and overhead power shower.And the bedroom provided plenty of space, with 3 chairs, dressing table, a double and two singles. Breakfast was very good, with lighter options and specials available. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: North facing or away from fire escape if south facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KEITH S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed here after arriving in Aviemore on a Saturday night and struggling to find accommodation. This turned up on Laterooms £90 for a twin (including breakfast) - a bit more than we were would usually pay, but was very comfortable and good value.

Comfortable beds/ rooms, free wifi, decent (though not outstanding) breakfast. There's also a drying room which would have been useful if we'd been out on the hill that day.

It's definitely the territory of the more 'mature' couple, but my mate and I weren't the only young(ish) party there.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mad_rich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We had a midweek short break. The room was very comfortable and very clean. We found that the staff were very helpful and polite. The food was simply first class, the only problem we had was deciding what to order from the menu as it was all so tempting and didn't disappoint. The hotel offers excellent facilities including a reference library in the BWWC clubroom. The hotel is ideally placed for a variety of local wildlife and bird walks and gives easy access to explore the local area of the Highlands.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We booked a week to check out the wildlife in the area. On arrival we were given a double upgrade to an excellent room - spacious, comfortable with large bathroom. We were on dinner, bed and breakfast basis and the meals were fantastic. Breakfasts gave a great choice and more than enough to set us up for a day out. Dinners offered a choice of excellent meals - 3 courses - and only a couple of repeats on the main courses throughout the whole week. Food was served promptly and cooked to a very high standard. Staff were always helpful and friendly. We particularly appreciated the BWWC facilities in the hotel and the availability of their people to assist with wildlife viewing and guided walks. An excellent centre for birding and other wildlife and plenty to see in the area.

We will go back again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Our stay at the Grant Arms was very good and the spacious rooms in a fantastic setting were memorable. The rooms have been decorated and upgraded to a very high standard; we were pleasantly surprised and very comfortable over the Valentines weekend. Breakfast was comprehensive, well cooked and just what you need to start a day of skiing! We were unfortunately underwhelmed by the dinner we had. It was more expensive than expected for the quality. Apart from this it was a fantastic way to spend Valentines day and we were made to feel very welcome. Thank you

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airdrie, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

Have had a number of short holidays here over the last few years and always been impressed by the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff,the cleanliness and comfort of the rooms,the quality and presentation of the food, the excellent facilities for those interested in the natural history side of things and the reasonable prices available in off season months.Standards have always been very high and continue to be so.Well done Grant Arms.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank stein500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantown-on-Spey
0.5 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
647 reviews
3.2 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
507 reviews
3.2 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
#5 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
293 reviews
8.4 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
235 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ben Mhor Hotel
Ben Mhor Hotel
#8 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grant Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grant Arms Hotel

Property: Grant Arms Hotel
Address: 25 The Square, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3HF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grant Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Warm Welcome awaits you the Grant Arms Hotel (3*** GOLD VisitScotland Award), The UK's Wildlife Hotel, which was built in 1765. Former famous visitors include both Queen Victoria and Queen Elizabeth II. Refurbished to a High Standard of comfort and service, all rooms are ensuite with tea and coffee making facilities, TV, hairdryer and toiletries. The Grant Arms Hotel is proud to be the base of the BWWC (BirdWatching and Wildlife Club). The BWWC's Club Room, Natural History Library, Walks, Talks and Wildlife Briefings are free to all Grant Arms Guests. Experience a holiday in the Scottish Highlands, the perfect combination of mountain scenery, ancient buildings and mysterious lochs. Visit Aviemore; Cairngorms mountains, Inverness; Loch Ness; the Moray Firth; and Royal Deeside. Follow the trails of castles, gardens and distilleries, or play golf at the numerous courses found nearby, including the Grantown-on-Spey 18-hole course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Grant Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grant Arms Hotel Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing