We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brill stay”
Review of Grant Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grant Arms Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“brill stay”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

stayed here for 4 nights as we where playing golf around the area and seen the hotel on the web ,the rooms we had overlooked gardens to the back and near the lift but no noise, rooms where spotless tea and coffee were on hand ,breakfast had plenty of choice and evening meal menu had a great choice also never the same thing on the menu staff could not do enough for you, great for our golf trip although the hotel is a base for birdwatchers and walkers, there is so many golf courses in the area and each provided a different challenge this is one of the best I have stayed in and it was great to get back and have some first class food ,stayed in some 5 star hotels that have not been a patch on this one, there is not a swimming pool ,but it is nice to have warm and friendly staff during your stay, and this is one thing this hotel does have ,nothing is a problem , we will be back Great food Great staff and great golf.

Room Tip: lift near some rooms just ask if you need these rooms when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beenhere9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    494
    162
    39
    14
    10
See reviews for
75
387
75
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ullswater
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Three friends and myself stayed here on our cycling trip from Lands End to John o Groats and were very well looked after by the team in the Grant Arms. Nothing was too much trouble. The bedrooms were recently refurbished, the food delicious and we all wished we could have stayed more than one night.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UllswaterUllswater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Very spacious club room and bathroom, clean and comfortable. Outstanding food, especially the gala dinner - all Scottish fare. There was a wild-life magazine trip on at the same time as we were there but it was not intrusive - we were included in their gala meal and quiz and could have joined in their outings if we had wanted. Service excellent - very friendly staff. We used the club room and free wifi for advice and directions and met some very pleasant people. This was our 5th visit in 4 years and, god willing, we will go again.

Room Tip: We have stayed in superior, club and standard rooms and all have been fine. Take shower cap if need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosi w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Kentucky
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Another really super break at this lovely hotel. Despite some staff changes the high quality is still maintained. The welcome at reception was as warm and friendly as ever and very helpful. The standards in the dining room are as high as ever despite being very busy and the food was excellent. All in all I cannot rate the Grant Arms highly enough - it is truly a gem.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladymayEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I have stayed in Grantown over many years, usually in self catering and never been in the GAH.
My single occupation twin room was huge, clean & comfortable, staff were friendly & helpful, food was good and it was very reasonably priced.
We weren't there for bird watching although it is something I do and the range of activities and information looked really good. With a newsletter each morning called the Daily Chirp and bird sounds instead of muzac in reception a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateeScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We had stayed at Nethybridge last year and wanted to try out this hotel, as part of the reason for visiting the highlands is of course the scenery and the wildlife and as a birdwatcher this hotel with its BWWC facilities are first class with local knowledge and expertise shown by the in house rangers, it is centrally based and not to far from the usual tourist places and local forest walks also.

But that is only one side of the coin, the other is the quality of the service and comfort you require and at a decent price.

We stayed on a four night DBB deal for two and outstanding value as we found with reasons below.

On both counts the Grant Arms is miles in front of anywhere we have encountered so far with the quality and presentation of the three course meals looking as though we were being served up by a Masterchef candidate...found out that a local lad is the hotels chef.

The service of the meals was very efficient and finished courses removed quickly and next one appeared in good time supervised by Pam and Kasper friendly chit chat and helping out with any other requirements you may need.

The room was comfortable and soft bed easy to sleep in, you sometimes can acquire a musty odour from old hotels in various corridors or dining rooms, none of that here.

Would recommend this hotel and will stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We booked this hotel after seeing their adverts in the BTO and RSPB magazines. We were bowled over at the set up for birdwatchers - loads of information in a special BWWC club room; experts on hand morning and night to provide advice on what's about; free walks with experts to spot birds locally... The hotel staff were lovely and very professional. The food was great. We were very happy! We met a lot of people who were on their third or fourth visit, which is a real endorsement of the overall experience there. There are good birding opportunities all year round, and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GabeGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantown-on-Spey
3.2 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
3.2 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
#5 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
8.4 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
4.9 mi away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grant Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grant Arms Hotel

Property: Grant Arms Hotel
Address: 25 The Square, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3HF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grant Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Warm Welcome awaits you the Grant Arms Hotel (3*** GOLD VisitScotland Award), The UK's Wildlife Hotel, which was built in 1765. Former famous visitors include both Queen Victoria and Queen Elizabeth II. Refurbished to a High Standard of comfort and service, all rooms are ensuite with tea and coffee making facilities, TV, hairdryer and toiletries. The Grant Arms Hotel is proud to be the base of the BWWC (BirdWatching and Wildlife Club). The BWWC's Club Room, Natural History Library, Walks, Talks and Wildlife Briefings are free to all Grant Arms Guests. Experience a holiday in the Scottish Highlands, the perfect combination of mountain scenery, ancient buildings and mysterious lochs. Visit Aviemore; Cairngorms mountains, Inverness; Loch Ness; the Moray Firth; and Royal Deeside. Follow the trails of castles, gardens and distilleries, or play golf at the numerous courses found nearby, including the Grantown-on-Spey 18-hole course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Grant Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grant Arms Hotel Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing