We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Hotel & Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grant Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grant Arms Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Silverhill, Alabama
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hotel & Great Location”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I recently had the opportunity to stay at this hotel with a group of people traveling on a tour. The hotel is fantastic, the food wonderful, and the staff friendly and accommodating. It is located in a central location in the beautiful countryside of Scotland.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    489
    157
    39
    14
    10
See reviews for
73
385
73
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delmar, New York
Level Contributor
109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This is a very nice hotel with good, friendly service.
The food as well is generally very good. The fish is excellent; the vegetarian selections are as well. The meat is a different story and tends to be overcooked and dry. I had pork medallions one night and the flavor was, in a word, terrible. Kitchen tries to please and will create green salads, for example, even if not on the menu.
Packed lunches tend to be meager on the fillings but they van be altered on request. They even produced PB and J when asked.
Our room was clean and well maintained. The shower stall is very small and with a folding door. It can take a bit of doing to get in and out.
Major flaw was the beds. The mattresses on both were well beyond their useful life and should be replaced.
This is the first hotel I can remember staying in that caters so much to the bird watching and wild life enthusiast. As others have noted they offer many suggestions and options on how to spend your day.

Room Tip: not all rooms have access to lift. Our first was on 5th floor in wing. Tough climb with suitcase and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rufous72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I have reviewed the Grant Arms several times before and keep coming back!
Although there have been some changes in staff since our last visit, the same high standard of care and flexibility has been maintained. Some rooms only have a shower and as my wife likes a long relaxing bath after a day out, I rang to request, sure enough everything was sorted and perfect. This time we booked a long weekend through a wildlife guide Birding Ecosse, as far as our stay at the hotel was concerned we couldn't tell the difference.
The meals were varied and excellent with the only problem some nights being what to chose. The venison casserole was on twice during our stay, one to go for if you like flavoursome, tender meat - amazing dish!
Breakfasts were on a heated buffet system with the food regularly replenished and an option to go from the menu if required. Self service makes it easy to get just what you want so the excellent black pudding of the first day became double black pudding on subsequent days!
Will we go again - certainly, no question. The BWWC is still alive and well and if wildlife is your thing them it adds an additional dimension to an already excellent experience.
The restaurant staff deserve special mention. So well trained, if something needs doing or clearing it gets done by whoever is there, everyone does everything when it is required, very observant, friendly, polite and discreet.
A fantastic place in a beautiful part of the world, long may it continue!
Will update reviews in 2015 when I next visit!

Room Tip: Talk to reception prior to visit, front rooms have view over the square but may have a little noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birdwatcherpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This is one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in. You get a warm welcome on arrival and all the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful. The bird song soundtrack background is very subtle and not at all intrusive, indeed if you are not bird watchers you will hardly notice it but if you are it adds atmosphere.
The food is excellent and portions are more than generous. A very nice touch is the complementary pot of tea served to you in the lounge when you get back from a long day out wildlife watching.
My room 502 was very clean, spacious and comfortable with good views to the mountains. However, I found a limited choice of tv channels available but as I did not go to watch tv so this was not a problem.

But the icing on the cake is the Bird Watching and Wildlife Club. Regular briefings from Sue and John with input from fellow guests keep you informed of what to see and where. Also a good programme of complementary field trips, speakers and film shows make the Grant Arms Hotel the ideal location for birding group holidays. I hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helensburgh
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Had a great 3 day stay at the hotel, the staff are very friendly and extremely helpful!
The Wildlife guide Sue was very informative and helpful and assisted us in getting a space on a Speyside Wildlife experience visit which was excellent!

Hotel was on the whole very comfortable, warm and cosy and well decorated! My only comment would be regarding the bed, the double bed was a little on the small side but was adequate enough. This is the only thing that stopped me giving it 5 stars! Everything else was very good and I thought the food was definitely punching above its weight for a 3 star hotel.

It is a hotel that caters for the Wildlife experience in the Speyside area and has a fantastic series of events, visits, speakers etc that can be booked and this is second to none!
As we were on a private visit (also for the Wildlife) so we did not get too involved, however, it would be well recommended for anyone visiting the area to speak to the hotel bird/wildlife guide Sue who is full of knowledge and extremely helpful!

Well recommended for any one, from the elderly traveller to families with children of any age, it would be a good experience for anyone!

Many thanks for a lovely stay and i am sure we will be back!

Room Tip: We had a room in a "wing" very clean, spacious, good shower facilities, however, the doubl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Koiforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prestwick
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

With a group of veteran motoring friends we spent two nights using this hotel as a touring base for the North of Scotland. Ideal location, very good service, first class food, excellently served.Bedrooms clean and comfortable as were public rooms

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We had advised by friends to stay at the Grant Arms Hotel for our bird watching break to Scotland. They were not wrong. The hotel is a good hotel in its on right with excellent rooms, food and service but add on the facilities, advice and trips for bird watchers really lifts it. The hotel is pretty much central to most bird watching locations. Our room was a "superior" room which we found excellent in all respects.

Room Tip: Front rooms are not so quiet due to boy racers and lorries
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alnwick2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantown-on-Spey
3.2 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
478 reviews
3.2 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
#5 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
282 reviews
8.4 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ravenscourt House
Ravenscourt House
#4 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grant Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grant Arms Hotel

Property: Grant Arms Hotel
Address: 25 The Square, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3HF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grant Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Warm Welcome awaits you the Grant Arms Hotel (3*** GOLD VisitScotland Award), The UK's Wildlife Hotel, which was built in 1765. Former famous visitors include both Queen Victoria and Queen Elizabeth II. Refurbished to a High Standard of comfort and service, all rooms are ensuite with tea and coffee making facilities, TV, hairdryer and toiletries. The Grant Arms Hotel is proud to be the base of the BWWC (BirdWatching and Wildlife Club). The BWWC's Club Room, Natural History Library, Walks, Talks and Wildlife Briefings are free to all Grant Arms Guests. Experience a holiday in the Scottish Highlands, the perfect combination of mountain scenery, ancient buildings and mysterious lochs. Visit Aviemore; Cairngorms mountains, Inverness; Loch Ness; the Moray Firth; and Royal Deeside. Follow the trails of castles, gardens and distilleries, or play golf at the numerous courses found nearby, including the Grantown-on-Spey 18-hole course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Grant Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grant Arms Hotel Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing