We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent all round.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grant Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grant Arms Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Dronfield
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent all round.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We have used this hotel three years previously and we were pleased then. The hotel is just as good if not better; food, cleanliness and all the facilities you would expect from this level of hotel are excellent. With the added bonus of the associated wildlife club which gives daily bulletins and personal advice on local wildlife, this hotel is a perfect base for wildlife and walking enthusiasts.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VernonBarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    485
    156
    39
    14
    10
See reviews for
72
381
73
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
inverness
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Just returned from a very pleasant stay at the Grant Arms Hotel as part of their themed Osprey Week. Great to learn about these fantastic birds and to go and see them. Also enjoyed a lovely walk along the old railway line which we would have never found on our own.

Room Tip: We liked being in the "wing" as it's at the back of the hotel and a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InvernessTourguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaton Delaval, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed here for two weeks, dinner, bed and breakfast. Our room, a twin bedded one, was first class with everything we could wish for and we even received a welcome pack for Hamish.
All of our meals were served in the Lounge Bar, as we had requested when booking. We did not wish to leave Hamish either in the car or alone in a strange bedroom where he might have caused a disturbance, whilst we had our meals. All of the staff, without exception, were friendly,
welcoming and helpful. The Hotel was ideally situated to explore the surrounding area and we enjoyed many of the local walks. We were sorry to leave but will certainly be returning and will certainly have no reservations in recommending the Grant Arms Hotel.
Thank you.
Ian, Joan and Hamish Farquharson

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian Alexander F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Nice hotel in Grantown on Spey which is a great location for a whisky tour or wildlife and nature exploring. The room was comfortable and represented good value for money. The staff were all friendly and the breakfast chef found some local speciality to interest our Swedish friends. The evening meal was great and there is not much else locally so definitely pay for it in advance.

Room Tip: Look for a room with a view towards the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller11Michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed here for two nights with my husband on a touring holiday of the area. Had a very nice room facing the road with a fabulous bathroom, recently done I think. Very friendly and accommodating staff. We had a dog with us and she was allowed in the bar , which was great. It was a lovely bar area, with nice decor.We put her in the car for dinner. She even got a goody bag on arrival! Had a lovely meal the first night in a very pleasant dining room. Venison casserole and smoked salmon. Too full for pudding! Breakfast was cooked to order with a good variety of choices, although they did run out of kippers on the second morning. They obviously cater to the nature lovers and organise walks and talks. Had we stayed longer I would have done one of these. They clearly put a lot of effort into this.
My only complaint really is that my twin bed was terribly creaky every time I turned over. It was comfortable however.

Room Tip: Rooms at front nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank noddie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Once I'd found somewhere to park (the hotel doesn't have its own car park) and managed to squeeze through the tight revolving door (awkward with large bags) into the spacious lobby I was greeted warmly and directed to my room on the second floor via an ancient lift with manually-operated doors. My single room at the front of the building facing onto Grantown's main square was bright and came with plenty of storage space, a decent-sized TV, hospitality tray, free wi-fi and a large bathroom. The noise from the street outside during the late afternoon was very noticeable (so much so I thought that a window had been left open) but it was quiet in the evening. The single bed with its creaky mattress and too-soft pillows proved to be more of an obstacle to a good night's sleep than any external noise. A notice in the bathroom warned that I'd need to run the tap for a while to receive hot water - this turned out to be only too accurate.
The hotel markets itself as a base for wildlife enthusiasts, indeed I stayed here largely on the recommendation of a guest I'd met at a nearby nature reserve some months previously. My room information folder contained plenty of suggestions for wildlife-watching activities. I'd already made my own plans so didn't follow up any of these. I thought I knew the local wildlife hotspots pretty well, but some of the suggestions for walks were new to me and I resolved to give them a try at a later date.
I had dinner in the large, busy dining room, opting for the three-course menu with choices at each course. I could have had just two courses or chosen from an a la carte selection. The food was good, unpretentious, home-style cooking served up in decent portions - just the job after a day in the hills. Service was efficient and friendly. Later I visited the large hotel bar but found it almost deserted and closing early because of the lack of custom. Breakfast the next morning was the usual continental buffet supplemented by hot dishes cooked to order.
Overall I thought my one-night dinner, bed and breakfast package represented excellent value for money and will definitely return for a longer stay next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CrossDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed for 4 nights, having seen the hotel advertised regularly in the RSPB magazine. Our room, a deluxe one, was large, quiet and comfortable. Meals were very good and portions suitable for walkers, although my wife who tends to not eat much meat thought the choice for vegetarians limited (one night the veggie starter had been the main veggie course the previous evening). Staff were all friendly and efficient.
Wildlife enthusiasts are targeted and lots of information provided, with some free guided walks and evening lectures. We used the information but can't comment on the guided walks and talks as we didn't join them, for various reasons. The hotel was busy with a lot of groups including coach parties for meals, but seemed to cope well.
Non-birdwatchers shouldn't be put off as the hotel is a good base for anyone wanting to tour, walk, cycle or do anything else in this special area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WildlifeWatcher90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantown-on-Spey
3.2 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
3.3 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
#5 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
8.4 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grant Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grant Arms Hotel

Property: Grant Arms Hotel
Address: 25 The Square, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3HF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grant Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Warm Welcome awaits you the Grant Arms Hotel (3*** GOLD VisitScotland Award), The UK's Wildlife Hotel, which was built in 1765. Former famous visitors include both Queen Victoria and Queen Elizabeth II. Refurbished to a High Standard of comfort and service, all rooms are ensuite with tea and coffee making facilities, TV, hairdryer and toiletries. The Grant Arms Hotel is proud to be the base of the BWWC (BirdWatching and Wildlife Club). The BWWC's Club Room, Natural History Library, Walks, Talks and Wildlife Briefings are free to all Grant Arms Guests. Experience a holiday in the Scottish Highlands, the perfect combination of mountain scenery, ancient buildings and mysterious lochs. Visit Aviemore; Cairngorms mountains, Inverness; Loch Ness; the Moray Firth; and Royal Deeside. Follow the trails of castles, gardens and distilleries, or play golf at the numerous courses found nearby, including the Grantown-on-Spey 18-hole course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Grant Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grant Arms Hotel Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing