We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable meal, well-cooked, friendly staff, nice whisky selection in the bar”
Review of Grant Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grant Arms Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We spent quite a bit of time having tea and coffee in the foyer of this hotel during our holiday, because the wi-fi was (marginally) better than in our guesthouse. we were always made welcome and treated with courtesy and consideration by the staff. We had dinner one evening (finishing with an intriguing choice from the many Malt Whiskies at the bar) and enjoyed the meal very happily. It was unremarkable, but well-cooked and presented. The restaurant is large and spacious, rather than cosy and inviting. Local fish, especially salmon (and I had Sea Bass), is beautifully fresh and nicely done, but I wouldn't recommend it as a special gastronomic experience - just a pleasant one at a reasonable cost.

Room Tip: We were non-resident
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (764)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

306 - 312 of 764 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

Went here for a meal(non resident), hadn't made a reservation but they happily set up a table for us. Service was extremely slow.....we got a basket of bread but no butter first of all, then waited ages for our starters which for the money - were very disappointing. After the girl cleared our plates we again had a very long time to wait for our mains, which I wouldn't have minded if I'd though the kitchen staff were busy but when they did eventually come it was very clear that they had been kept warm under a hot plate as my chicken was all dried up on top.
All in all - extremely poor quality of food at a very high price -£24.95 each for a 2 course meal.
Definitely will NOT be returning.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank auds66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Comfortable rooms, very clean and welcoming, but the real secret of success in this hotel is the staff.

Without exception everyone is both friendly and superbly professional. Special praise must go to the dining room staff who are meticulous in their service with a really friendly attitude. We have never witnessed a more professional approach with a young and willing-to-please staff.

The food is wonderful and really cannot be faulted. The quality of ingredients shines through.

Frank and Sue at the BWWC are really helpful to those that want to get involved in the wildlife in the region and certainly helped make our visit most enjoyable. However, don't think that this is a hotel full of bird watchers. Even if you are not that interested in bird watching this hotel will make an excellent base for a visit to the Highlands.

We cannot recommend this hotel too highly. After our visit to Grantown-on-Spey we stayed in a 5-star DeVere hotel outside Glasgow and the Grant Arms Hotel outperformed that one in every way.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilipKSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Just spent the week at this hotel, our second visit and definitely not our last. Great food and rooms comfortable and clean. Very friendly and helpful staff but what makes the hotel special are the Bird Watching Wildlife Club staff Frank and Sue who are full of information on places to visit.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terrylyn55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We have used this hotel three years previously and we were pleased then. The hotel is just as good if not better; food, cleanliness and all the facilities you would expect from this level of hotel are excellent. With the added bonus of the associated wildlife club which gives daily bulletins and personal advice on local wildlife, this hotel is a perfect base for wildlife and walking enthusiasts.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VernonBarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Just returned from a very pleasant stay at the Grant Arms Hotel as part of their themed Osprey Week. Great to learn about these fantastic birds and to go and see them. Also enjoyed a lovely walk along the old railway line which we would have never found on our own.

Room Tip: We liked being in the "wing" as it's at the back of the hotel and a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank InvernessTourguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed here for two weeks, dinner, bed and breakfast. Our room, a twin bedded one, was first class with everything we could wish for and we even received a welcome pack for Hamish.
All of our meals were served in the Lounge Bar, as we had requested when booking. We did not wish to leave Hamish either in the car or alone in a strange bedroom where he might have caused a disturbance, whilst we had our meals. All of the staff, without exception, were friendly,
welcoming and helpful. The Hotel was ideally situated to explore the surrounding area and we enjoyed many of the local walks. We were sorry to leave but will certainly be returning and will certainly have no reservations in recommending the Grant Arms Hotel.
Thank you.
Ian, Joan and Hamish Farquharson

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ian Alexander F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantown-on-Spey
0.5 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
686 reviews
3.2 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
556 reviews
3.2 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
574 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,318 reviews
0.1 mi away
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
#5 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grant Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grant Arms Hotel

Address: 25 The Square, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3HF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range: £89 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grant Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Warm Welcome awaits you the Grant Arms Hotel (3*** GOLD VisitScotland Award), The UK's Wildlife Hotel, which was built in 1765. Former famous visitors include both Queen Victoria and Queen Elizabeth II. Refurbished to a High Standard of comfort and service, all rooms are ensuite with tea and coffee making facilities, TV, hairdryer and toiletries. The Grant Arms Hotel is proud to be the base of the BWWC (BirdWatching and Wildlife Club). The BWWC's Club Room, Natural History Library, Walks, Talks and Wildlife Briefings are free to all Grant Arms Guests. Experience a holiday in the Scottish Highlands, the perfect combination of mountain scenery, ancient buildings and mysterious lochs. Visit Aviemore; Cairngorms mountains, Inverness; Loch Ness; the Moray Firth; and Royal Deeside. Follow the trails of castles, gardens and distilleries, or play golf at the numerous courses found nearby, including the Grantown-on-Spey 18-hole course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, LateRooms and HotelsClick so you can book your Grant Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grant Arms Hotel Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing