We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spey Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Willowbank Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, TX
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Spey Stay”
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We found Willowbank to be the perfect "hub" for day trips out into the Highlands. We visited several distilleries and nature centers during our 5 night stay. Anne was very helpful with evening dinner reservations and any other questions we had about the area. We enjoyed having the lounge for our evening visits and planning our next day's excursion. Don't miss out on the Early Bird special at the Hotel Garth, one of Anne's suggestions. You are even greeted by a Piper!

Room Tip: We requested a downstairs room and had #6, which was away from reception and very quiet. It had a ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaMae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    36
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
17
64
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 December 2011

We were last at Willowbank in Grantown in September and this is the first time I have thought to leave my thoughts.

The guest house is run by Ann and Chris who have really become our friends over the years. We usually go to area in spring and autumn to see specific wildlife with a small group. We can always rely on the local knowledge of Ann who seems to know where to go to see the species we are looking for. That makes our trips really worthwhile. Having visited a few times now the service never slips and nothing is too much trouble. The accommodation is always spotlessly clean, and the breakfast is a great start to the day. We usually go out very early and come back near 8am for a good feed.

If you are looking to see wildlife in the area, then this is an ideal place with great local knowledge to draw on.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale_C186356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

This was our second time of staying at the Willowbank guest house for the Thunder in the Glen Rally. Anne and Chris are the perfect hosts, lovely clean accomodation and beautiful breakfasts and if you've got a bike there's shelter for that as well! Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corwen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Arrived very tired after a long walk from Ballindalloch and were warmly welcomed. It was very comfortable and the breakfast was good. Perhaps it should be pointed out that the door to the en-suite in our room was glazed with no privacy curtain...might not suit some!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tia2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteJen, Owner at Willowbank Guesthouse, responded to this review, 27 October 2012
Thanks for the response. I assume you were the 2 walkers who phoned at about 7pm in the evening to say that you were still 3 miles away, and whom I drove to collect.

The room that you stayed in does have a glazed panel in the en-suite, but you may remember that the glass is opaque with a frosted finish. However, we have now also added a further layer of obscure film to the panel following your feedback.

I hope you enjoyed the remainder of your journey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Arrived fairly late in the day and left straight after breakfast the following morning, so only had a limited experience of Willowbank. However, I found the owners friendly and helpful, the bed comfortable and the breakfast was plentiful and well cooked. At £30pppn including free wi-fi, I feel the Willowbank provides excellent value for money.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letterkenny, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Willowbank Guest House
Anne & Chris were obliging and friendly hosts.The rooms were very clean and well maintained. We appreciated the little things like extra blankets if required and that little triangle shelf in the bathroom, ideal for bits and pieces.I would suggest only one slight improvement , add an extra pillow. The accommodation was also very reasonable considering the tourist location.I would have no hesitation in recommending Willowbank Guest House to any visitor.Well done Anne & Chris.Thank you.
D. Bell

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willowbank_Grantown, Owner at Willowbank Guesthouse, responded to this review, 11 September 2011
Thanks for the review, and we are pleased you were pleased!

We keep the extra pillows in the zipped, clear, hygenic protectors in the wardrobe! I know they may look like white quilts - but they are pillows.

Thanks again and hope to see you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

It was my wifes birthday and we packed our bags and the dog in the car and headed for the willow bank,staying for 3 nights,very clean and tidy,our room8 overlooked the main road,it can be a bit noisy at times.I have leg and back problems so the winding stair case can be a bit diffucult.and if you have this problem chose room 6 is on the ground floor.and so is the eating area out look is the main road through grantown.we were great full for there assisstance by supplying a birthday cake for my wife.we would go back but opt for the groundfloor room.

Room Tip: room 6 is the ground floor is best suited for those if walking problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank firemanjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willowbank_Grantown, Owner at Willowbank Guesthouse, responded to this review, 26 August 2011
Thanks for the kind words - birthday cake at breakfast was a great treat for us too!

You are right we do have 2 ground floor rooms available for guests with mobility issues. We were not aware of your mobility when you made the reservation, only when you informed us on your final day. We do always try to allocate the ground floor rooms to guests who let us know their requirements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grantown-on-Spey hotels
0.1 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
670 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
745 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ben Mhor Hotel
Ben Mhor Hotel
#8 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
#5 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
306 reviews
2.8 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
532 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rosehall Guest House
Rosehall Guest House
#5 of 23 in Grantown-on-Spey
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willowbank Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willowbank Guesthouse

Property: Willowbank Guesthouse
Address: Willowbank High Street, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3EN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Willowbank Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Willowbank Guest House offers all you are looking for at an affordable price. Clean rooms, a great Scottish Breakfast with local ingredients and home made bread as well as personal service are waiting for you. Free WiFi is available in all areas of the Guesthouse and we have a private car park. Willowbank is located within the Cairngorms National Park, an ideal location for walking, fishing, wildlife watching or to visit Aviemore & Cairngorm Mountain. You can also visit one of the Castles or Whisky Distilleries nearby. We have 9 guest bedrooms, 6 en-suite and 3 rooms with separate private bathroom. We look forward to provide you a warm welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Willowbank Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willowbank Guesthouse Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing