We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Willowbank Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Willowbank Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

Grantown is very well situated for visits to all parts of Speyside and beyond and I was very pleased to have chosen Willowbank as our base for four nights. Ann and Chris gave us a warm welcome and an excellent breakfast every day. Our ground floor room was nicely furnished, large and comfortable with a good sized ensuite shower room. Although the entrance to the car park between stone walls seems tight especially in a strange (i.e. hire) car it is actually more than wide enough for a car and we saw a transit van go through to the house behind. The parking area at the back is a good size with room to turn so not awkward at all.

Ann and Chris were knowledgeable about the area and offered us a discount voucher for the Garth Hotel restaurant where the evening meals were delicious. I think I counted five or six different places to eat in Grantown in the evening so nowhere near as restricted as another reviewer has commented.

I thoroughly recommend Willowbank.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank CamCurls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    32
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
14
59
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

We booked a 4 night stay at Willowbank and were very pleasantly surprised as to how warm the welcome was and the beds. Breakfast was a wonderful choice with juices, fresh fruit and cereal to help yourself to, cooked breakfast with a choice of how to have your eggs, continental breakfast, smoked salmon and scrambled eggs on a toasted muffin. Tea and Coffee and toast - as much as you wanted. The rooms were clean and the owners very helpful in recommended places to eat and places to visit. There is a small lounge for guests use full of interesting books and tourist information. As we left, we were even given a little gift. We would highly recommend a stay here but just one word of warning, if you use their car park at the rear be very careful going into the drive as there is a very low wall on the left hand side and if you get the angle wrong you are likely to scrape your car.

Room Tip: We had room 7 which was at the front but we did not notice any noise from traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pinkmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Our first visit to this area and we were fortunate to find ourselves at Willowbank, a comfortable, conveniently situated guest house with friendly,helpful hosts who were able to advise us on where to go and what to see. We found our room of good size and well appointed. We particularly liked the imaginative breakfast menu.The rooms were warm and there was a cosy sitting room for guests to use.
If we had a complaint, it would be about the limited choices for eating out in the evening. There is a limit to the number of times you can eat pie and chips at the nearby bar, good as they are
Lots to do in the area whether you are a dedicated climber or prefer more gentle pursuits such as a walk around the lovely Loch an Eilean which we would highly recommend.
We would happily stay again if we were in this area.

!

Room Tip: Go for the larger double rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessiebrampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

This was not my first stay at Willowbank and will certainly not be my last. Chris and Anne are extremely friendly and have a fantastic attitude. They are extremely knowledgable about the local area which is very advantageous for people visiting the area.

The rooms are very clean and tidy and the breakfasts are amazing!

Thanks again (See you again soon)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

Pretty B&B in old stone-house. Good breakfast. Internet did not work in our room. Charged two and half percent for payment by (foreign) debit-card which was not experienced anywhere else among the five hotels we visited during our two week summer holiday in Scotland.leasant staff and host.

Room Tip: Avoid room next to main entrance as door fits badly and every sound from outside (and inside) passes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteJen, Owner at Willowbank Guesthouse, responded to this review, 27 October 2012
Thanks for taking time to make the review. We do not charge for debit card payments where the card is drawn on a UK bank. Due to the charges imposed by banks for ALL cards except UK bank cards, we do make a 2% charge, which is less than the 3% we have to pay to accept your card.

That 2% is shown on your booking confirmation, on the arrivals desk, in the room information folders, at the point of payment, and you were verbally informed that you could pay by cash before you decided to use your card.

I am sorry that you did not understand, but we do try to keep our rates as competitive as possible, and as such we always calculate our daily rate on cash or debt card payments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thetford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

I have just returned from my latest stay at the Willowbank and as stated by others Chris and Anne are so accommodating and friendly. This year I traveled with my elderly mother who was overwhelmed by their hospitality. Grantown on Spey is ideally situated to explore the highlands and Cairngorns and itself is a beautiful location with amazing woodlands and riverside walks on the doorstep of the guest house. Chris and Anne's local knowledge is really resourceful and they are only too pleased to help advise you. The guesthouse is also in walking distances of local pubs and restaurants, the Garth in particular I can highly recommend. Breakfast is excellent so much so that my diet has started already! I will return again next year for sure.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, TX
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

We found Willowbank to be the perfect "hub" for day trips out into the Highlands. We visited several distilleries and nature centers during our 5 night stay. Anne was very helpful with evening dinner reservations and any other questions we had about the area. We enjoyed having the lounge for our evening visits and planning our next day's excursion. Don't miss out on the Early Bird special at the Hotel Garth, one of Anne's suggestions. You are even greeted by a Piper!

Room Tip: We requested a downstairs room and had #6, which was away from reception and very quiet. It had a ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaMae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantown-on-Spey
0.1 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
#5 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dunallan House
Dunallan House
#3 of 23 in Grantown-on-Spey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willowbank Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willowbank Guesthouse

Property: Willowbank Guesthouse
Address: Willowbank High Street, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3EN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Willowbank Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Willowbank Guest House offers all you are looking for at an affordable price. Clean rooms, a great Scottish Breakfast with local ingredients and home made bread as well as personal service are waiting for you. Free WiFi is available in all areas of the Guesthouse and we have a private car park. Willowbank is located within the Cairngorms National Park, an ideal location for walking, fishing, wildlife watching or to visit Aviemore & Cairngorm Mountain. You can also visit one of the Castles or Whisky Distilleries nearby. We have 9 guest bedrooms, 6 en-suite and 3 rooms with separate private bathroom. We look forward to provide you a warm welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Willowbank Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willowbank Guesthouse Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing