We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hen weekend”
Review of Ardenbeg Bunkhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ardenbeg Bunkhouse
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hen weekend”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the bunkhouse for hen weekend exactly what we were looking for and for the price we payed, spacious kitchen huge cooker and oven if your cooking for large parties massive table that everyone could sit round in a big group, spacious rooms with bunk beds and very comfy too, there is a larder with fridge freezer and a drying room too if you had wet towels they will be dry in no time at all, will defo come back and stay here again

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank carie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I arranged a hen do for a group of 19 women of various ages and we all thoroughly enjoyed our trip to Ardenbeg and the activities that were arranged through Craggen outdoor. Staff were friendly and helpful and we couldn't fault the service at all. The accommodation is basic but comfortable and exceeded our expectations for the very reasonable price we paid.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed in Ardenbeg while visiting the Inverness area with a group of friends. Was very pleased with everything, was clean and very cheap. Has all the facilities you would expect and need. Great place, I'll be back!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night with my family. The bunk house was clean with a good kitchen space. The shower was temperamental and we gave up and used another one. Regardles of that the showers were well appointed and the beds were comfortable. Would recommend for backpackers, walkers, ramblers, climbers and large groups on a budget stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isla82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

My son's in-laws live in Grantown, but could not house all 16 of us. I booked the Ardenberg on-line for 4 adults + 4 kids + 1 wee dog. It was not 5 star, but offered home comforts with caring support. We had the ground floor, which had two rooms (1 with en-suite). One room had six bunks, the other 8 bunks & separate WC / shower. We also had full use of the kitchen / diner, which housed a large square table for all 16 to sit down. The gas oven was large, so this was the best place to cook our Christmas lunch. Micro wave, large larder, small TV & all cooking utensils were available. A large separate store with 2 fridge / freezers. Large drying room, which you have to share with first floor residents. Entrance lobby has place for shoes, coats etc. Plenty of hot water & warm aurroundings. Large rear garden, with tree swings etc., and room for bonfire, The boss (Rebecca) was excellent and could have not been more helpful. Large co-operative food store within 5 minutes walk, as was the main high street. Close to forest areas with great walks. Bike hire also available locally. Short drive away from ski slopes. We had a fantastic ride on a the Santa Steam Train, with hot mince pies & mulled wine. Santa sat next to all the young kids and gave them all a present, with the help of his 8 elves. Overall a special family holiday to remember. Beautiful area with friendly people to match. Only down side, we had no signal on our mobiles Ahhhhh. Well done everyone.

Room Tip: Ground floor was the best, although if you have noisey people upstairs, then that can be a problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter09051946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2012 via mobile

Excellent facilities, great value & ideal location close to the high street, surrounded by stunning landscapes & beautiful wildlife. Lots of local activities available at your request as owners are more than willing to help

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CalumW1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Absolutely brilliant! Rebecca was extremely helpful and the bunkhouse is little gem located in a beautiful area of Scotland. I would stay there for sure if I was travelling through. A++

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1981mick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantown-on-Spey
0.1 mi away
Ben Mhor Hotel
Ben Mhor Hotel
#8 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
100 reviews
3.0 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
520 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
661 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cairngorm Lodge Youth Hostel
0.3 mi away
Rossmor Guest House
Rossmor Guest House
#1 of 23 in Grantown-on-Spey
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardenbeg Bunkhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardenbeg Bunkhouse

Property: Ardenbeg Bunkhouse
Address: Grant Road, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3LD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardenbeg Bunkhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family & group bunkhouse accommodation in the Cairngorms National Park at the heart of the central HighlandsGood value accommodation for groups of up to 24 people on a quiet road in Grantown-on-Spey, the historic capital of Badenoch and Strathspey, just 15 minutes from Aviemore, and well situated for all that Britain’s largest national park has to offer.Accommodation is in private rooms of four beds (2 standard bunks), two rooms of six beds (1 with standard bunks & a double bunk, & 1 with triple alpine platform) or eight beds (triple alpine platform & a standard bunk), all with private or en-suite bathroom facilities. Well equipped kitchens with dining areas offer everything required for self-catering for groups small, medium or large. There is also an enclosed garden, play area and BBQ, and back inside a drying room with dehumidifier.Much more than just accommodation! Bedding is included in our rates – but bring your own towels & toiletries – as is free WIFI, and we also offer winter walking / climbing equipment hire, as well as access to the wide range of activities offered by Ardenbeg’s owners, the award-winning Craggan Outdoors. Ardenbeg is also the base for the range of walking and climbing courses operated by Pete Hill MIC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Priceline and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ardenbeg Bunkhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardenbeg Bunkhouse Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing