We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over priced”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Craggan Outdoors

Craggan Outdoors
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to Craggan Outdoors, 'Best Visitor Attraction' in the Highlands & Islands Tourism Awards 2012, & also a finalist in 2009, '10 & '14. Based at Grantown-on-Spey (15 minutes from Aviemore) on beautiful Speyside in the Cairngorms National Park, Craggan Outdoors offers one of the widest ranges of outdoor activities available in Scotland.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Over priced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

Checked out this place for its activities, but found it was very over priced for what they were offering. I'd recommend going to aviemore to do all of their activities as the companys are far better value for money!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank suvodka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CragganOutdoors, Owner at Craggan Outdoors, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
Interesting review. Given that this person just 'checked out' what we have to offer, I don't believe that she actually sampled our services, so if that's the case then not really realistic to be able to comment on whether we deliver value for money or not. Thousands of customers a year seem to indicate that we do, so will leave folk that are reading this to do their own research & draw their own conclusions. As a provider of high quality outdoor activity experiences we will never claim to be the cheapest, but in a highly competitive market in this area we know that we price competitively. If you want a Mercedes level of experience, then you don't get it by paying for a Vauxhall Astra! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    20
    4
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Kayaking at Craggan”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Our 3rd visit to Craggan with a group of 16 Boys from Boys' Brigade in Aberdeen area. The 2 instructors made this fun and enjoyable for all who took part. A number of Boys had not kayaked before but instruction, equipment and size of pond made it a safe place for them to learn and pick up skills very quickly.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank MikeAber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gorge Walking @ Craggan”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

We booked two children to do Gorge Walking and thought the price was quite expensive - £55 each (website said £35 upwards). The safety instruction at the start was good and also the location was excellent. However, our 12 year old only got to go up the gorge and not the exciting part of coming back down. She was told to come out as she was looking cold. There was no discussion on this and as she is very quiet she she came out. However, she was extremely upset and insisted to us that she was not cold and wanted to keep going, but by that time it was too late. This was extremely disappointing and we woudl not hve booked it had we known there was the possibility of only doing half the course

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank ArivaTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CragganOutdoors, Owner at Craggan Outdoors, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Firstly, thanks to 'ArivaTrip' for booking their two children to gorge walk with us, & for taking the time to place a review. We don't usually respond to reviews, good, bad or indifferent, as everybody is entitled to their opinion of their personal experience, but as this review does by it's nature call into question our professional judgement in regards to the wellbeing of a client, we do on this occasion feel the need to comment.

Whilst the ultimate objective for any activity provider is always to deliver 5* experiences, something which 9 out of 10 that have reviewed their experiences with us on here indicate that we achieve way more often than not, the underlying priority is always the wellbeing of our clients. Gorge walking is one activity where this has to be taken particularly seriously as it involves prolonged exposure to very cold water. Even with the good quality 5mm wetsuits that we use, this is a situation that does expose participants to potential hypothermia, particularly for slightly built people such as children & petite ladies, & this is a risk that our instructors take very seriously.

It is a part of our standard brief at the beginning of a gorge walking session that the group will proceed up the gorge, a very exciting, challenging & satisfying experience which is actually the main part of the session, & then, & only if all participants are seen to be in sufficiently good spirits i.e. not displaying signs of suffering with the cold - shivering, pale skin, purple / blue lips - the group returns back down the gorge. As the top of the gorge is the 'point of no return' in terms of being able to get out of the gorge, the decision has to be made there. It is the responsibility of the lead instructor to make this objective decision for each client.

On this session, the lead instructor was our Senior Instructor, a highly experienced professional that has been working the Bridge of Brown gorge for close to 10 years, & in that time has taken literally hundreds of people for gorge walking experiences. In his review the young lady in question was displaying signs of being overly cold, & he therefore took the decision that she should leave the gorge with our second instructor - one of the reasons why we always have two instructors running our gorge walking sessions - in order to warm up. Her parents were not in the gorge with their children, so there was no opportunity for consultation with them as we would have done had they been there, or with an adult participant, & our over-riding duty of care to this young person was therefore paramount in the instructors' minds.

Clearly this decision disappointed her, & equally clearly this is not a result in which we have any interest in achieving - her sibling continued with the rest of the group down the gorge & we believe enjoyed the rest of the experience - but ensuring the wellbeing of a 12 year old is in our opinion more important than taking the easy option & just letting her get colder whilst she 'enjoys' the rest of the experience, & in doing so potentially moves closer to hypothermia.

We have been in touch with the young lady's mother in order to explain / clarify the situation - we didn't get the opportunity on the day as no issue with the decision was raised - & as a goodwill gesture have offered a discounted return visit, either for more gorge walking (when hopefully she'll be able to get up & down the gorge, although no guarantees given) or another activity experience, as we are of course keen to ensure that she has a more positive experience with us. We await a response, but do hope that they will take up this offer & are able to have the kind of 5* experience that is enjoyed by 90% of visitors to Craggan Outdoors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mountain Biking for Wimps!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

We were returning for our third consecutive annual girls weekend and were warmly greeted by Keith and the rest of the team. I had rather unhelpfully requested mountain biking but without the mountain as wasn't sure if the girls would be up for it and raring to go! Poor Nicky had drawn the instructor short straw and was lumbered with us 7! Having had much hilarity on our cycling proficiency test (most of us failed miserably!) off we set. Considering the majority had not been on a bike for about 20 years, it was never going to be a walk in the park, and there was possibly perhaps more pushing bikes than actually peddling, gave us time to appreciate and take in the spectacular scenery was the excuse! Ironically towards the end of our two hour session, confidence levels were improving and bravery was setting in- blimey, you'd never have said that at the onset! It was a great laugh and Nicky was great, never making us feel lesser able than Bradley Wiggins! A fab lunch was waiting for us on our return, where slightly saddle sore we debriefed, recharged and laughed, a lot!! Would not hesitate to recommend for all abilities! Thanks Craggan, see you again!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank hilary_crosby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“LeslieH”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

Great activities and very good staff. We did four activities over two days.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Leslie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Craggan Outdoors also viewed

Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
 
Grantown-on-Spey, Badenoch and Strathspey
Grantown-on-Spey, Badenoch and Strathspey
 

Been to Craggan Outdoors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing