We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect way to welcome in the new year!”
Review of Dunallan House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dunallan House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2013

My friends and I stayed at the guest house for new year and had a great time! I was very relaxed and well looked after as if I was back at home, thanks to Jayne the owner! The rooms were immaculate and very comfortable, as was the living area and the dining room. Breakfast was the perfect way to welcome in the new year and an excellent hangover cure! We were served divine waffles with bacon, full Scottish, scrambled eggs - you name it! All cooked to perfection. Overall I couldn't have asked for more in a guest house and we will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MinnieFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fitology, Owner at Dunallan House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Thankyou so much for taking the time to review Dunallan. We pride ourselves on offering a high standard of service & accomodation & we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have passed your praise on to the housekeeper too as I know it means a lot to her & we all hope you get the chance to visit again soon, don't leave it too long!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (306)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 306 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2013

We used Grantown on Spey as our base for a 4 day visit to Speyside and chose to stay at Dunallan House on recommendation of a friend, we were not disappointed, we have never stayed in a bad B&B in Scotland and this was no exception. Unfortunately we didn't get to meet Jayne as she was away but David is a friendly and generous host who made us very welcome and was always up for a chat about anything. Breakfasts were great, the waffles are a must! We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fitology, Owner at Dunallan House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Thankyou for your kind words & we are so pleased that your 1st experience of B&B was with us & so positive. We do hope that we see you again soon to enjoy a little more Scottish hospitality. Jayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

We really enjoyed our one night stay here - very comfortable rooms in an elegant old house, lovely cooked breakfast and warm hospitality from Jayne and David. The B&B is nicely located close to the centre of Grantown but off the main street, a short walk from the various restaurants. Easy to see why it is so highly rated - we will return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LiztheWhizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Stayed for 2 nights at Dunallan in late November. We were made to feel really welcome and comfortable. The room and ensuite were spacious, clean, well presented and had all the little comforts you'd expect. Excellent breakfast - waffles are highly recommended. Nice space downstairs to sit in the evening and play games or read. Excellent walk suggestion from David. Highly recommended and very good value.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Whitty_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012

We spent two nights at Dunallan House to get away from the hustle and bustle of life. We were made very welcome by Dave (Jayne was away). The room was lovely and clean with lots of nice touches. The bathroom was beautiful and clean. Dave cooked a mean breakfast on both mornings we were there which resulted in us not having to eat until evening. He was also very informative about the local area and what to do. All in all we had the perfect few days and will definately visit again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marion C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We had a wonderful three nights at Dunallan House, Jayne was a great host (David was away) and we sat sipping whisky by the fireside at the end of the talking about life in Scotland and running a B&B. The rooms are lovely with ensuite bathrooms and many thoughtful inclusions, even toffees. The beds were very comfy. Jayne serves a grand full Scottish breakfast, there's something about smoked salmon in Scotland with omelette. Her freshly home made waffles are world famous and people visit Dunallan House just to sample them! Grantown-on-Spey is in the very heart of Speyside for whisky lovers and serves as an ideal location as base to explore the area. You can do a quick 10 minute walk down to the riverside in the early morning to get the blood flowing for the day.

Room Tip: From what I could see all the rooms were great, there is a very large room at the top with sloping r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

We stayed at the Dunallan for 3 nights our purpose was to re-couperate, relax and de-stress. We certainly did that and more, the atmosphere and service was perfect. Our hosts Jayne and David were very friendly and most informative, We would definately consider going back again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grantown-on-Spey hotels
3.1 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
#5 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
333 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
786 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rossmor Guest House
Rossmor Guest House
#2 of 21 in Grantown-on-Spey
435 reviews
0.2 mi away
Firhall Highland Bed and Breakfast
Firhall Highland Bed and Breakfa...
#1 of 21 in Grantown-on-Spey
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunallan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunallan House

Address: Dunallan Woodside Avenue, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3JN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range: £87 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunallan House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Dunallan House you will enjoy a warm welcome and be sure of a comfortable and relaxing stay in a family run, traditional Victorian Guest House. Stay in comfortable and spacious accommodation, all our bedrooms are en-suite with great attention to detail and comfort. Beautiful breakfast room and sitting rooms with log fires.Situated in a quiet location, yet only a short walk from local shops and a wide range of excellent restaurants and cafes, Dunallan House offers the perfect base for touring the Scottish Highlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dunallan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunallan House Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing