We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dunallan House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dunallan House
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

Brilliant ,, nice people , room and on-suite spotless lots off nice wee touch,s , our 25th wedding anniversary nice bottle bubbly left on dresser .breakfast fantastic.every thing perfect !! couple min walk to the town , and the walk though woods .. Indian and Chinese ,, really nice ,and the garth for the special dinner, craig pub across the road was well worth a visit or 3 ,,heard the pies were good?? next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DDAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    32
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
55
140
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

The Dunallan House was the fourth B&B my husband and I stayed in during a week-long roadtrip around Scotland. The host and staff were very warm and welcoming, including pointing my very grateful husband to the complimentary whisky cabinet when we first arrived. ;)

Our room was the very top floor, with a detached bathroom that had a shower and a full-size claw foot tub. It was probably the most old-fashioned place we stayed in terms of decor and just the general age of the house, but I think that's sort of the point. It didn't detract from our experience in any way, but I know some travelers can be particular about this. (We did keep hitting our heads on the low ceiling in our bedroom, and we aren't tall people, so those who are might keep that in mind!) The location is great because it's directly across the street from a couple of good pubs, which were convenient for a pint and some grub at night. And, of course, everything in Grantown-on-Spey is nearby as it's a very small community.

Room Tip: If you chose the room on the very top floor, there is a great view of Grantown-on-Spey across the to...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank atxannmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

From the moment we arrived to the time we reluctantly had to leave everything was perfect. Jayne greeted us like we were old friends that she hadn't seen in many years, she instantly made us feel very welcome and showed us around Dunallan House with great pride and rightly so as she has a lovely B&B. We stayed in room 2 which was in new extension, the room was spacious and tastefully decorated with a lovely comfy bed where we had a perfect nights sleep. The ensuite had everything you needed, the shower was amazing and certainly a talking point with my partner. The next morning we were greeted with a very cheery "Good morning" and shown to our table, there was a lovely selection of items for breakfast, from fresh fruit and yoghurt to a selection of cereals and fruit juices. We were then offered tea or coffee by a very pleasant waitress and shown the menu which offered a full scottish, kippers, waffles and bacon. The first morning we selected the full scottish which was perfectly cooked and presented and the second morning we thought there was no way the previous days breakfast could be bettered but it was with Jayne's amazing waffles and bacon!! Excellent!!
Dunallan House is perfectly situated in Grantown-on-Spey, just a very short walk to the town centre (around 5 minute walk), with many shops and restaurants. The area has some amazing scenery and walks.
I can highly recommend Dunallan House to everyone it is flawless, Jayne is the perfect hostess and we will certainly be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FizzScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

We stayed in May for three nights with the dog in tow; Jayne was very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. As reviewed by many the breakfast is excellent with a very good selection.

I'm not sure why people on here complain about the bedrooms, ours was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Thomas, ON
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

Compared to the other B&B's we stayed at during our trip to Scotland, this one was our least favourite. Jayne is a very welcoming hostess, very friendly and outgoing, as is her daughter (and cute granddaughter for that matter!). I believe all the raving reviews are for the room with the exquisite bathroom, however, that is not the room we stayed in. Our room was Victorian décor, a bit dusty and dated for our taste. The bathroom was adequate but small, the mattress quite hard. Breakfast was good though, lots to choose from and, as per other reviews, the waffle was quite good! It was a short walk from the main street with shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelNFV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

My partner and I stayed at Dunallan for a romantic break away from the city and it was first class from the moment we arrived.

The room was comfy, clean and homely and the breakfast was divine. Jayne the host was so welcoming and really made the stay.

We'll definitely be returning...maybe text time in the honeymoon suite!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris_in_capes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed on a Sunday night, with our dog. All 3 of us were made feel very welcome. Jayne suggested a walk to us in a nearby wood, which was just stunning. Delicious breakfast & a spacious, comfortable room. We were delighted with our experience.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EFit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantown-on-Spey
3.0 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
#5 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
3.1 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
8.2 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunallan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunallan House

Property: Dunallan House
Address: Dunallan Woodside Avenue, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3JN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunallan House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Dunallan House you will enjoy a warm welcome and be sure of a comfortable and relaxing stay in a family run, traditional Victorian Guest House. Stay in comfortable and spacious accommodation, all our bedrooms are en-suite with great attention to detail and comfort. Beautiful breakfast room and sitting rooms with log fires.Situated in a quiet location, yet only a short walk from local shops and a wide range of excellent restaurants and cafes, Dunallan House offers the perfect base for touring the Scottish Highlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Dunallan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunallan House Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing