We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and welcoming owners”
Review of Dunallan House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dunallan House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2010

We stayed 3 nights at Dunallan with our young son. The owners are lovely and very helpful. We had room 7 on the top floor. It has a very nice bathroom across the landing. Room itself is fine but do watch your head on the sloping ceiling! Breakfast excellent, worth pre-ordering the waffles. We enjoyed our time in Dunallan and found the location very good for many places to eat in town. Would recommend the Indian restaurant and Craggan Mill restaurant.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scouserweegie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 304 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2010

Dave and Jayne were the perfect hosts during our stay in the Cairngorms. Our room was stylish, elegant, bright and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was delicious, traditional bacon and eggs, fresh fruit, good quality cereals, salmon and my own particular favourite of fresh waffles and maple syrup.
Two minutes walk from the cafes, shops, pubs and restaurants in Grantown town centre and brief walk a way from the fast flowing waters of the Spey river make this an ideal highland location.
For the more active traveller Jayne and Dave offer friendly and expert advice on just about any outdoor pursuit, including, climbing, walking, skiing, kayaking and cycling. This really was the highlight of our trip to Scotland.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardJamesH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

Very nice and clean rooms. Best breakfast of the whole trip. Jayne & David are very friendly, welcoming and helpful with information.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpoziTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2010

We arrived at the Guest House happy , that we found a place for tonight. It turned out that we can stay with Dave and Jayne for 4 nights but having to switch rooms, which was no problem for us at all. So we stayed in 3 rooms (2 nights in number 7 the highlight of your honeymoon trip). We really enjoyed the stay and the great breakfasts. Dave suggested some hikes in the national park and explained the way on the map. They also had good recommendations for dinner. The dinner at the Garths and the pie in the pub Craigs, over the street were great.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank antje_hauptmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

jayne and david are perfect owners, they are so kind...and breakfast was fantastic. we stayed on third floor,which was only for us. Bedrooms are big, clean and comfortable. perfect for a romantic weekend!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angelo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

My husband, son and I stayed at Dunallan for 5 nights and had a marvellous stay. The rooms were very comfortable; the breakfasts delicious( especially the eggs and salmon) and the hosts were wonderful. It was definately one of the best places I have stayed in and would not hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janep55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

Dave and Jayne made us feel very welcome. We stayed in the top floor room with the luxury bathroom. The room and the bathroom are very spacious and have a wonderful view. The rooms are tastefully decorated with an eye for details. (f.e. local information and books in the room and plenty of room for the toilet bags in the bathroom and a towel bracket within reach of the shower).
The breakfast was delicious with lots of choice including fresh fruit salad. I can recommend the scrambled egg with smoked salmon.
There is a living room for the guests on the ground floor with lots of books and some toys for the children. They lit the fireplace in the evening to make it even cosier.
The location is excellent. Close to shops and restaurants and with good excess to all the important attractions.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grantown-on-Spey hotels
3.1 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
688 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ravenscourt House
Ravenscourt House
#4 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Rossmor Guest House
Rossmor Guest House
#2 of 22 in Grantown-on-Spey
433 reviews
0.2 mi away
Firhall Highland Bed and Breakfast
Firhall Highland Bed and Breakfa...
#1 of 22 in Grantown-on-Spey
124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Strathallan Bed and Breakfast
Strathallan Bed and Breakfast
#8 of 22 in Grantown-on-Spey
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunallan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunallan House

Address: Dunallan Woodside Avenue, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3JN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range: £81 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunallan House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Dunallan House you will enjoy a warm welcome and be sure of a comfortable and relaxing stay in a family run, traditional Victorian Guest House. Stay in comfortable and spacious accommodation, all our bedrooms are en-suite with great attention to detail and comfort. Beautiful breakfast room and sitting rooms with log fires.Situated in a quiet location, yet only a short walk from local shops and a wide range of excellent restaurants and cafes, Dunallan House offers the perfect base for touring the Scottish Highlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dunallan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunallan House Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing