We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid, Room only £20 turned into a £60 bill for a grubby room not big enough to swing a cat and a toilet in a cupboard!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Parkburn Guest House
Glasgow
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Avoid, Room only £20 turned into a £60 bill for a grubby room not big enough to swing a cat and a toilet in a cupboard!!”
Reviewed 11 October 2010

THE ''£20 ROOM'' THAT TURNED INTO A £60 NIGHTMARE

A sign on the street outside the Parkburn Guest House (see attached) advertises ''Room only £20''...but beware, when the morning comes it turns into a £60 bill!..yes £20 did seem cheap to us but after a sleepless night on a bed that long since collapsed in the middle, a toilet that was actually a cupboard you couldn't stand up in, and a room that hadn't seen a coat of paint in many a long year, £20 seemed just about right...therefore to be charged £60.00, (that's £20 each + £10 each for breakfast), it was a disgrace..we had stayed the previous night at the Annslea in Pitlochry at £60 per night...this was a beautiful place, we had a fantastic stay and it illustrated what you should be able to expect for a £60 tariff...I'd suggest the owners of the Parkburn pay the Annslea a visit as sadly the Parkburn was light years below that standard...so my sincere advice would be to avoid this establishment at all costs, it could ruin your holiday as it did ours!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hyndlandman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fayhampton, Owner at Parkburn Guest House, responded to this review, 26 October 2010
Unfortunately Mr Hynlandman turned out to be Mr Highwayman as the police had to pursue him for payment after leaving Parkburn Guest House without paying for his stay in full!!! This guest was shown the room prior to his stay and after finding it satisfactory he registered for B&B. The sign at the roadside was for room only but Mr ‘Highwayman’ thought he could pull a fast one and leave after creating a stramash . He was copped!!!
His partner Angel must have been very pleased with her stay as she wrote’ very accommodating’ in our Visitors’ Book!! ....how about that!
I think other viewers will have to be careful of this person’s acid opinions.
As you can see from other reviews our guests are more than satisfied with the personal service we give and the cleanliness of Parkburn. Many visitors come back…again and again and again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    6
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
5
10
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dawlish, Devon, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2010

I've just spent two days in the Scottish Highlands and am happy to recommend The Parkburn Guest House in Grantown-on-Spey to others. There's a great welcome from landlady Fay Hampton - ably supported by husband Allan - and I enjoyed the friendly, homely atmosphere. I was travelling on my own and paid £36.00 per night for the en suite room which was clean and well equipped. I liked the bowl of sweets on the dressing-table! Fay is a well-organised hostess who runs a comfortable and efficiently managed business. She provided a first rate breakfast - as always, a vital element for accommodation success - and I will know where to head for if I return to Grantown!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trevor43_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

Fay is great housekeeper and prepares wonderful breakfasts (lots of options available, including a great haggies).
Rooms are comfortable, clean and price is cheap.
I like a lot her the sense of humor and there was a nice collaboration between us.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 3rz8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2010

You would be hard-pressed to find two nicer people than Fay and Allan. They treated me like a member of their own family, greeted me with a warm mug of hot-chocolate when I came in from the rain, and cooked a large delicious breakfast in the morning. There was also an impressive range of books to read in my room.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike3423423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grantown-on-Spey hotels
0.1 mi away
Ben Mhor Hotel
Ben Mhor Hotel
#8 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
94 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
726 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rosehall Guest House
Rosehall Guest House
#5 of 23 in Grantown-on-Spey
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rossmor Guest House
Rossmor Guest House
#1 of 23 in Grantown-on-Spey
375 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dunallan House
Dunallan House
#3 of 23 in Grantown-on-Spey
274 reviews
0.2 mi away
Willowbank Guesthouse
Willowbank Guesthouse
#12 of 23 in Grantown-on-Spey
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkburn Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkburn Guest House

Property: Parkburn Guest House
Address: Parkburn High Street, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3EN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly Scottish Highland guest house catering for everyone in a beautiful area. Parkburn is a near fishing,walking,castles, whiskey and much more. We give a very personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Parkburn Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkburn Guest House Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing