We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chaplins

Chaplins
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: It is a coffee shop
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Afternoon Tea”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Biggest scone I have ever eaten! Crispy on the outside and lovely and soft on the inside, very tasty indeed.
Staff reasonably friendly
Value, good for what you get!
Tea got a bit cold, not sure the tea pot had been heated.
Would definitely return

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    17
    19
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nice cafe”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We had lunch at Chaplins today. Delicious food, clean cafe, reasonable prices and friendly staff. I loved the Beatrix Potter-type china models in the window.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank superduperScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upton Pontefract
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A Good Place for Lunch”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

When my wife and I visit family in Burghead, Moray, we always stop at Chaplins for lunch. This latest journey we had our eight year old granddaughter with us. We arrived toward the end of the lunchtime rush. My wife and granddaughter had a baked potato and I had soup and a sandwich. The spuds according to the girls were hot and the filling delicious and the soup was thick and yummy! The food is very good and very reasonably priced.
The owner is always ready with a cheery word and a warm welcome. I highly recommend a visit if you are in the area looking for a break from the drive.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
383 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
“Great little cafe.”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Called in at lunchtime whilst walking The Speyside Way. Ready for a snack and it had started raining!
The toasties were great and came with salad and chips. Able to relax and linger over a large pot of tea. The home baked scones were good.
Friendly owners.
Not cheap but worth the price.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Prudol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drumnadrochit, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pancake Slabs”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Friendly folk but the service was a long way from excellent with very little knowledge by staff when asked simple questions.

However the very worst bit was the pancakes. How can any self respecting coffee shop dish out pancakes which obviously weighed more than the car we drove there in? Seriously, these things could form the foundation of a house! I asked for it to be heated up to see if that helped then I heard the microwave ping and for back a sweaty hunk of pancake. Inedible, doughy and denser than the Mensa rejects!

Coffee is okay though!

Oh and they call themselves an ice cream parlour. Do not get and grand vision...a standard white ice cream freezer plonked in the corner. With a bit of imagination they could make that an experience!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chaplins also viewed

Grantown-on-Spey, Badenoch and Strathspey
Grantown-on-Spey, Badenoch and Strathspey
 
Grantown-on-Spey, Badenoch and Strathspey
Grantown-on-Spey, Badenoch and Strathspey
 

Been to Chaplins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing