We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything a B&B should be” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kinross House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grantown-on-Spey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kinross House
Certificate of Excellence
W Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
90 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Everything a B&B should be”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

The landlady really knows what makes a B&B special. Free wi-fi, HUGE bed, very nice breakfast with seemingly endless top quality fruit, cereals, preserves etc etc. Large lounge too. Well located in a quiet residential street about 5 minutes walk from the High St. Our en-suite shower room was better than OK, but everything else was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
51
33
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

My wife and i have just returned from 3 nights at this lovely big comfortable house, we stayed in the room on the ground floor which has an enormous bedroom with a separate but private bathroom, this suited us as we had taken our small dog, and it was like having our own entrance. Jane and Gary are fabulous hosts full of local knowledge, the cooked breakfast was superb, with a great fresh fruit selection and beautiful homemade muesli, this is a first class B&B and exceptional value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michael l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

Jane and Gary are a really warm, welcoming and hospitable couple. You feel as though you are truly at home during your stay at Kinross, nothing is too much trouble and the atmosphere is relaxed and friendly. We wouldn't think of staying anywhere else. The breakfast is fantastic. Kinross is spotlessly clean.
We had room 8 which has a sperate bathroom and access to the back garden, we had this as we had a small dog with us. It is a large, comfortable room. The bathroom has both a bath and a seperate shower. The bed is a pine bed with a wooden base, so it's pretty firm. So If you prefer something softer, with a sprung base you might not find it comfortable.

Try Craigs Bar, for pie and chips and a frendly laidback evening. The Chinese is good too. I'd rate the Indian as average.

Room Tip: Room 8 perfect for dog owners, but don't choose it if you like a soft bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janetdavies9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

Jan and Gary Laud are an example for all B&B Guest Houses and Hoteliers to emulate; arriving late on a cold bank holiday evening we were greeted cheerfully at the door by both Jane and Gary within moments; the accommodation was in a nice quiet road no more than a few minutes from the High Street; with good private parking. First impressions: neat, clean and tidy with oodles of artefacts (including a Wellington/Napolean themed chess set), books and free wifi in the Sitting Room with comfy leather settees - being a Victorian House all the room ceilings are high, which gives an overall feeling of lightness and big 'space'. We had 2 single rooms, very fairly priced (one en suite, the other with separate bathroom a few steps away (Jan had thoughtfully placed a bathrobe in this room to preserve modesty when moving between the two); the rooms were neat, well furnished with comfy beds and pillows, with radiators and all the plumbing working and clean (the shower in my room was an electric MIRA which are good!). Each room had tea & coffee facilities, wash kits and the TV. Breakfast was a joy, the home made Muesli to die for and the cooked breakfast made to order. Two other visitors were at breakfast and agreed that it couldn't be faulted. Overall, a fine first impression of Scotland!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NigelK592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

I stayed for three nights whilst on a winter mountaineering qualification assessment course. Jane and Gary made us feel really at home from the moment we arrived. Nothing was too much trouble for them. We were all nervous about the assessment, but Jane did everything to ensure that our evenings were as relaxed as possible.
The house itself is beautiful and welcoming with comfy sofas and real log fire which was lit every evening. The rooms were immaculately clean and spacious. Little touches like shower gel in the showers showed a real attention to detail. The breakfast was superb with a choice that would appeal to all tastes.
The service was second to none. Wet walking gear was taken from us when we arrived each day and returned dry the following morning.
There is excellent broadband wifi and a laptop for guest's use as well.
I will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Peak
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

Where to start?! Jane and Gary have a fabulous house and made us so welcome. The breakfast was a three course meal which made leaving the house a real problem... fresh fruit, amazing muesli and a full on cooked brekkie was too much every morning! After each day on the mountain it was lovely to come back and put our feet up in the big, warm, comfy lounge. Plenty of options for food in town but being able to bring takeaway back was a real bonus after a long day out. What else... comfy firm beds, piping hot showers, plenty of room for all our kit, nice and toasty despite being sub-zero outside. Oh and our wet clothes and boots being whisked away soggy each evening and delivered back dry and warm the next morning was magic. Thank you for such a lovely time! The person below who called it mediocre must need their head read!! Co:

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline_McC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glossop, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013

A fantastic blend of comfort and the relaxed welcome of home. Three nights after winter mountaineering days were something to really look forward to. Wet boots and kit were made as welcome as their wearer. They were wisked off to their own luxury drying room, to be returned in the morning dry and warm! Meanwhile we settled into the comfort of a sitting room that couldn't have done more to make us feel at home, (including being alowed to bring in a take-away after a particularly tough day!). The icing on the cake for a mountaineer was the hot shower and warm bedroom to round off the day. A breakfast so generous as to negate the need for lunch started off another day of Scottish mountains as we tried to wear off the calories. A fantastic place to stay for anyone whether you know the area or not. Don't be put off by the comfort, boots really are welcome.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grantown-on-Spey hotels
2.9 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
3.0 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
0.5 mi away
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
#5 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rossmor Guest House
Rossmor Guest House
#1 of 23 in Grantown-on-Spey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinross House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinross House

Property: Kinross House
Address: Woodside Avenue, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3JR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kinross House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kinross house is an attractive Victorian villa situated within the beautiful Cairngorm National Park. Within easy walking distance to woodland trails, River Spey and local amenities. A perfect base for touring the Scottish Highlands. Free use of mountain bikes plus secure cycle, fishing, golf club storage. Laundry, drying services and free Wi-Fi. A hearty Highland breakfast is guaranteed, fresh fruit, cereals, porridge, breads, croissants, smoked salmon scrambled eggs, kippers or a full Scottish cooked breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kinross House Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing