We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent place in the Cairngorms”
Review of Culdearn House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grantown-on-Spey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Culdearn House
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, UK.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“An excellent place in the Cairngorms”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

I stayed at Culdearn for 3 nights, DBB. The hotel is a beautiful house on the way into Grantown from Aviemore direction, therefore ideally placed. Aviemore is worth avoiding if you can and Grantown is peaceful and pretty. Grantown is also close to skiing areas; many walks start from the front door, single malt distilleries and Royal Deeside aren't far.

I had a very sizeable and comfortable room with an amazing bathroom. The food was excellent and the wine list equally impressive. Sonia and William are great hosts and I really enjoyed my time staying here. Parking is easy just outside.

Highly recommended - for walkers, for skiiers, Royal watchers or those heading onto the Spey to fish.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imoore45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oorwullieScotland, Owner at Culdearn House, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this positive report. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your short break with us - we enjoyed your company too! Your first visit to Speyside and Grantown which we know you enjoyed and we hope it will be the start of many more visits back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    20
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
12
57
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2012

I stayed at Culdearn House during a flying visit to the Highlands with a friend from Australia. This lovely country house hotel offered luxurious bedrooms, beautifully furnished with great attention to detail. The dining room is a delight and the food superb both in quality and presentation. Both our evening meals and breakfast were divine and couldn't be faulted.

We loved the drawing room, which is richly decorated with family photos and objets d’art, big sofas and plenty to read. It's a comfortable room where we relaxed and chatted with the friendly and entertaining hosts before dinner. They are passionate and knowledgeable about the local and wider area. I wish we'd had time to explore further.

We felt it combined the best of both worlds: the elegance and luxury of many a large hotel but with a very personal touch, attentive hosts and most memorably, a sense of being welcomed as valued guests into a much-loved family home.

I will certainly be going back!

Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lyndacams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oorwullieScotland, Owner at Culdearn House, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this positive report . We enjoyed your company and are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed staying with us. It was unfortunate that at this time of the year not all of the distilleries are open for visiting but that you were able to enjoy a whisky tasting and nosing evening with us instead. Slainte!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We were greated at the door by Sonia and our reaction was she was very unfriendly.

Our room was very well appointed, with a lovely large shower. The towels could have been of better quality for this type of establishment.

Food was of excellent quality, our only complaint would be the vegetables were very basic in presentation and taste.

William was an excellent host and for us made our visit worthwhile. Although the public rooms, bedrooms and most of the food was excellent I would not consider going back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank evelynKilmarnock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

I picked Culdearn House on the basis of its very positive reviews and very flattering pictures and having stayed there for 2 nights I still cant make up my mind about it.
On the plus side, it is very warm and very well kept, it is not a hotel in the strict sense of the word and its not a B and B either as its does evening meals. Our bedroom was scrupulously clean and the bathroom large and very modern. the bed very comfortable and we enjoyed very good sleep. The breakfasts are huge and very well cooked with plenty of choice, Dinner was for my taste a little plain but the ingredients were excellent and hearty portions. The rate we had was inclusive of dinner so all not too bad given it is high season, not cheap but no rip off either. So what is my gripe, well for me it was just a little cold in the sense that I felt that I was a guest in someones elses house not a commercial venture, there was a little too much of the owners personal effects on show and it was a little uncomfortable in vibe, and I was paying to stay there. Some of the house rule are a bit weird, being told when to report for dinner, no drinks or food beloning to guests in the rooms, small issues I know, and to 95 out of 100 people they wont matter, but for me they just felt strange. Once William warmed up he was fine, but Sonia was lovely from the get go. So it almost ticks all the boxes, or maybe I am just a bit weird.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DSG01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We have just returned from a 4 night stay here with 2 children (10 & 13 years) in 2 rooms on the top floor (ours lovely & spacious) with the children in a smaller room with an extra bed.
Made to feel welcome, our boots were dried and cleaned for us every night and we aired our jackets over the banisters on the top floor (as we had both rooms didn't disturb anyone).
Yes dinner is at 7pm and breakfast between 8-9am (although they did ours earlier at 7.30am 2 days running as we had a tight schedule) - however this is a small hotel run by the owners so therefore they will need to run a tight ship, otherwise they would be up til all hours i assume?!
As it is small (only 6 rooms i believe) it is lovely to be able to chat to the other guests and there are games available in the living room and papers to be borrowed daily over breakfast. The children were very well accomodated and although the only children present during our stay were not made to feel a bother at all.
I would recommend this hotel if you are in need of a quiet rest with good food and service.

Room Tip: For a family have 2 rooms on top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loulouSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Divonne-les-Bains, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2011

An excellent small and quiet hotel, well appointed and comfortable. Run by the owners, who produce high quality food and very good, unobtrusive, service. They very quickly assessed what interested us and pointed us unfailingly in the right direction. There is lot's so do in the area, especially if you like wild scenery and well-kept stately homes, plus of course fishing, shooting etc.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank screenname059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

This property is labelled as a hotel but it definitely has a guest house atmosphere, for example you have to ring the doorbell every time you want to come in, breakfast is only served between 8 and 9am (even on Sundays!), and check out time is very early - 10.30am. We also thought the £130 per night bed and breakfast rate a very high price for the extremely small room and bathroom we had. On the plus side the house is spotlessly clean and nicely furnished and the breakfast was excellent.

Room Tip: Don't choose Inverary unless you are a single person!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank muffet13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oorwullieScotland, Owner at Culdearn House, responded to this review, 29 July 2011
We are astounded to receive this write up. This couple did not book to stay with us. They booked into another hotel for 3 nights for a big wedding that was in the area. The whole town had been booked for over a year as we had. When they came to our door they explained that they were DESPERATE for a room because they had walked out of the hotel they had booked because it was dirty.

It was explained to them that we only had one room left, a small double, because we too were fully booked. This room was on the second floor, in the eaves of the house and was a small double usually used for one person. It was explained to them and shown to them before they accepted it but they said that they had no-where else to stay as the town was booked/full and they needed 3 nights accommodation to attend a wedding. We should point out that we were cheaper than the other hotel they had booked 3 months previously so how can they say we were overpriced? Her response to the size of the bed was that she would just have to 'cuddle' up to her husband.

We could not offer 3 nights only two, which they accepted, and were advised of the times of breakfast, the tarriff and check out time. They accepted all of this. It is extremely un-christian of them of what they have written/commented. We could have said no keeping this room for single occupancy but we went out of our way to help them.

We would also point out that when they checked out they then returned two hours later having befriended another guest and used his room and facilities to do her make-up and hair so she could return to the wedding on the Sunday. This was unbelievable and unheard of. We were not asked if this was accepted but said nothing and allowed her to do it despite her having settled her account and left the premises. His passing shot was - we have looked at the others rooms which are lovely and may come back to stay with you!

It just shows that, despite thinking you are helping people, it is never enough and they turn round and stab you in the back even though you have done nothing wrong.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantown-on-Spey
2.7 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
2.7 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
7.8 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Culdearn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culdearn House

Property: Culdearn House
Address: Culdearn House Woodlands Terrace, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3JU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beatiful Victoria Country House built in 1860 which has retained many of its original features. It is now a small hotel offering fine food, excellent malts and wines and is ideally based within the heart of Speyside on the whisky and castle trails. Salmon and sea trout fishing on the nearby River Spey, 5 beautiful golf courses, steam train, funicular railway to the top of Cairngorm Mountain are all within easy short distance from the house. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Culdearn House Hotel Grantown-On-Spey
Culdearn Hotel Grantown On Spey
Culdearn House Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing