We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Highland Hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Seafield Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Seafield Lodge
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Superb Highland Hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

Second time we have stayed at the Seafield Lodge. Minor criticism last year about the quantity of oil used to cook the breakfast had been addressed. Choice of a full Scottish breakfast (well cooked and presented) or kippers. The Proprietor was friendly and very attentive - nothing was too much trouble.

We had paid in advance for a superior room but the Proprietor upgraded us to a suite on arrival. The suite was clean, spacious and very comfortable with tea/coffee making facilities. The bathroom was large and more than adequate although the decor was slightly dated. The bathroom had been fitted with a luxury spa bath which was much appreciated at the end of an arduous day.

Overall a very welcoming hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    42
    18
    12
    10
See reviews for
16
53
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

stayed for four nights in a superior room really enjoyed it,loretta was so attentive and deserves the highest praise she is a wonderful lady.the hotel has loads of character which we like, good food and cosy bar, a big thank you to all the staff and thanks for the birthday card,nice touch

Room Tip: go for superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank busterbenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

We stayed at this hotel in June for 4 nights it was my brother and husbands birthdays. Loretta and Trevor run this hotel we didn't really see Trevor however Loretta was excellent plenty of time to talk to her guests,Loretta makes this hotel different to others with her outstanding customer service, even giving the birthday boys a card each.
The Seafield Lodge is in a great location 5 mins from the high street .We stayed in the twin and double superior rooms which were very clean with coffee and tea facilities. The rooms are not modern but they have real character which works. Breakfast was very good plenty of everything you wanted. If we are back up this way we would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baggssnaggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

Hotel spotlessly clean, friendly staff, excellent food.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodfan80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

recently stayed at this hotel and i must say i was greeted with a warm and friendly face.The place felt cosy and very welcoming which makes a change from my other previous hotel visits.I found the room very clean and had all i needed for my stay.It had and on suite bathroom which had a big deep bath and not a small squashed one (very rare these days) and also i must say the most softest towels ive ever had. For breakfast i had the full scotch breakfast and everything was piping hot and cooked fresh and i must have put on a few pounds with the unlimited toast and tea and coffee
My evening meals were fantastic, the menu had such a fabulous choice from fish to pork ribs and homemade steak pie and many other dishes i was spoilt for choice.We have already booked up to stay there again. The staff are so helpful and friendly, a very nice warm and welcolming hotel

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

Booked a two day stay with dinner bed and breakfast and a tour of Cardhu distillery for a reasonable cost.
The hotel is dated but exceptionally clean.
Telephoned our order for dinner as we arrived late the 1st night and everything was ready for us on arrival.
On our second morning Loretta was very helpful and kept the breakfasts back as a few of the younger party were suffering from the previous nights activities. The staff were very helpful throughout our stay and I would recommend it for a break in Granton on Spay

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimbo1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

From beginning to end this place was a disappointment - the decor and cleanliness were well below par, the bedding even had a hole in it! There was no hot water any time we tried to shower (on a walking holiday this was particularly a problem!) Breakfast was the cheapest of everything - and the cooking left a lot to be desired. But it was really the service that was the biggest problem - we pointed out that the butter was off but the same butter was served the next morning, on the last morning we tried to complain to the owner, she just wasn't interested. Terrible experience, other stayed elsewhere in Grantown and had a much better time!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MountainGoatDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Grantown-on-Spey hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grantown-on-Spey hotels
0.2 mi away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
3.1 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
#5 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
3.1 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Rosehall Guest House
Rosehall Guest House
#6 of 23 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seafield Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seafield Lodge

Property: Seafield Lodge
Address: Woodside Avenue, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3JN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Seafield Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garden Park Guest House is a 6 bedroom guest house in Grantown on Spey, the Highlands of Scotland. Built in 1863, quietly situated in 1/2 an acre of well stocked attractive gardens close to Grantown Golf Course, Speyside river walk and pine forests. Only a couple of minutes away is the High Street with its attractive range of family owned shops and eating places. Now part of the Cairngorms National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Seafield Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seafield Hotel Grantown On Spey
Seafield Lodge Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing