We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Bar / Pub”
Review of Seafield Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Seafield Lodge
Chicago, IL
1 review
“Perfect Bar / Pub”
Reviewed 3 August 2007

We stayed at another inn in Grantown, but came to the Seafield Inn twice for dinner and drinks in the lovely little pub -- great barman, wonderful food an overall just a perfect spot for a "toes up" and a scotch. Would definately return -

  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathrynremus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    42
    18
    12
    10
See reviews for
16
53
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2007

We stayed for two nights in this hotel, The service was friendly and breakfast was very good apart from you have to go down some stairs via the residents lounge to the breakfast room.
The rooms are basic but very clean, they are a little dated in decor and the TV reception is not good. If you need somewhere clean and warm in Grantown on Spey then you could stay in much worse that theis hotel.

  • Liked — Very clean and friendly staff
  • Disliked — the view of the car park from my room
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Neill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2007

We booked this hotel after having looked at its website ,and after having made a reservation, received a brochure from the owners which looked ok.
On arrival, we were shocked to see that what was rated as standard rooms were very basic and the one we were shown was a very small doubleroom with rough looking fittings. Furniture was very dated. We approached the owner to look at an alternative room which was larger. This looked just as old fashioned and one of the beds was sloping in a downwards direction!
What annoyed us was that the website and the brochure were inconsistant with what you actually got. We were so disappointed, especially after having travelled a distance and looking forward to enjoying our short break.
Give the owner some regard, she did give us our desposit back when we asked for it!!

  • Liked — Getting the deposit back
  • Disliked — Finding that it wasn't how it looked online or in brochure.
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank La_Chica04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Grantown-on-Spey hotels

England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2006

First time staying in Grantown, we were fortunate to find this hotel. The new owners are lovely, very friendly and helpful. We took our little dog with us and they were brilliant with him. Food is good, breakfast plentiful but the coffee could be better however. The room was spacious and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LL101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 September 2004

We stayed in the Trout Suite and it suited our purposes well. It was very nice to have a separate bedroom and lounge room. The staff were very friendly and very accommodating of a two-year-old. The meals were good and there is plenty of off-street parking. It is a block back from the high street, but a pleasant walk.
There is plenty to see and do in the area though the hotel is mainly aimed at hunting parties and fishing parties.
JJs is a lovely place to eat (make sure you book) but avoid the Royal. They are basically a take-away with seating next door.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 3 June 2004

I wanted to explore my Scottish roots, and stayed in the Seafield Lodge Hotel. From the moment I arrived, the welcome I got was fantastic.
The food was outstanding, and served with a friendly smile. The lounge bar was exceptionally cosy, and the choice of 120 whiskies was quite overwhelming!
Played several rounds of golf on some stunning links golf courses, and even tried out a bit of fly-fishing (never done it before, but thoroughly enjoyed it!!).
The scenery was stunning and even the Scottish weather was good for the week I was there.
I would thoroughly recommend the Seafield Lodge to anyone thinking of going to the Scottish Highlands.

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grantown-on-Spey hotels
0.1 mi away
Ben Mhor Hotel
Ben Mhor Hotel
#8 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
100 reviews
3.1 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Ravenscourt House
Ravenscourt House
#4 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
659 reviews
0.1 mi away
Waverley Villa Guesthouse
Waverley Villa Guesthouse
#18 of 23 in Grantown-on-Spey
21 reviews
0.2 mi away
Westhaven Bed & Breakfast
Westhaven Bed & Breakfast
#19 of 23 in Grantown-on-Spey
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seafield Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seafield Lodge

Property: Seafield Lodge
Address: Woodside Avenue, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3JN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Seafield Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garden Park Guest House is a 6 bedroom guest house in Grantown on Spey, the Highlands of Scotland. Built in 1863, quietly situated in 1/2 an acre of well stocked attractive gardens close to Grantown Golf Course, Speyside river walk and pine forests. Only a couple of minutes away is the High Street with its attractive range of family owned shops and eating places. Now part of the Cairngorms National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Seafield Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seafield Hotel Grantown On Spey
Seafield Lodge Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing