We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for a family break”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grantown-on-Spey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rosegrove Guest House
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place for a family break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We all loved our stay at Rosegrove. Sue & Graham are excellent hosts and nothing was too much trouble. The kids enjoyed sleeping in the family room with double bed and bunks. The room has a sink and we had exclusive use of the bathroom across the hall. The Walters seem to have thought of everything - guests have access to tea & coffee, glasses, small fridge with milk and squash, binoculars, biscuits, fruit. There are toys and books for the children; the dolls house was a big hit. One evening we brought takeaway food back and they provided plates and cutlery. There was secure storage for our bikes. Breakfast in the conservatory was very good and watching the birds on the feeders was a lovely start to the day. The kids want to know when we are going back! Would highly recommend for families.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
10
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

I have stayed here several times in the last three years. The owners have done marvels in making water features & feeders for the birds:siskins, chaffinches, blackbirds, spotted woodpeckers etc. which feed within a few feet of the breakfast tables. The owners have a good knowledge of the local wildlife &, if they do not know the best place to find what you wish to see, they will find out for you. Fruit is available for guests to help themselves & the landline telephone can be used on request, since mobiles don't always work in the Highlands. The only problem is that at peak times they can be booked up!

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 370Robert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunbar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

This is a modest B&B nearish to Aviemore and Grantown on Spey. The owners - particularly the woman - are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent.

It was reasonably cheap - by Scottish standards anyway - and our young children loved our room as it was absolutely full of books and toys. The dining room was too. The house was clean enough but - without being rude- the dated décor may not be to everyone's taste. The only real downside is that there is a shared shower room, which seemed to be shared with quite a few others. That said, it was clean and I suppose it's good for kids to see what all B&Bs were like in their parents' day!

There is a lovely forest walk directly opposite the property.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terryEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed here for a night as part of a wee four day break away from the city. This really is an extremely welcoming place to stay - the couple running it really couldn't have been more friendly and accommodating. Spotlessly clean, great breakfast, lots of very thoughtful little touches like little bowls of sweets / biscuits everywhere, endless free tea and coffee, and bird books and binoculars beside the breakfast tables (it's quite popular with twitchers). We got a Chinese takeaway the night we were there and they very happily provided plates (warmed!) and cutlery etc. The only thing to be aware of is that this is a wee bit out of town - the majority will drive rather than walk into Granton on Spey - but this wasn't a concern for us. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gav12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

We arrived at this B&B after a thorough soaking we got while attempting to climb Ben Nevis with 2 small children. The owners were very warm and gracious. They let us use their dryer to dry our coats and shoes! Kids felt like they were home instantly. This is the first place where they had toys for children. Room was very comfortable - we stayed in the room with a double bed and bunk beds for kids. Very quiet and peaceful location. Guests have their own lounge to hang out where we also met other guests. Breakfast was excellent. Highly recommend this place. We will be back at this place next time we are in this area.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thanirs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2011

Just outside of Grantown-on-Spey this small b&b is very comfy and welcoming with great views. We were welcomed by one of the daughters as the owners were on holiday, she showed us to our room and gave us a few ideas of where to eat. Evening meals are available but they like to know the day before and we were only staying for one night. Breakfast was very filling and the conservatory overlooked the garden where there were plenty of birdfeeders and birds to watch whilst having breakfast, we even saw a red squirrel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnCEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantown-on-Spey
0.6 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
4.2 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
2.1 mi away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
9.2 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosegrove Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosegrove Guest House

Property: Rosegrove Guest House
Address: Skye of Curr Road | Dulnain Bridge, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3PA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Grantown-on-Spey
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between Aviemore and Grantown on Spey in a picturesque area of beauty in the Scottish Highlands, is where you'll find Rosegrove Guesthouse bed and breakfast, situated on a seven acre croft in the Spey Valley.- Mountain views- Excellent service- Superb food- En-suite facilitiesChildren are very welcome, with baby equipment and toys available upon request.Outdoor Activities & Winter Sports near Rosegrove Guesthouse B&B:Winter walking, pony trekking, snow boarding, skiing, ice climbing, survival, hill walking, mountain and rock climbing, Dinghy sailing, Canoeing and Kayaking are available at Cairngorm Mountain, Loch Morlich and Loch Insh all only a few miles away with the Lecht ski are a short drive away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rosegrove Guest House Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing