We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£134
Breakfast included
Vio.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Richard G
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom

Restaurant- Friendly & polite service with good choice and great value

Review of Garth Hotel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 Aug 2023
As always these past 2-3 years, the booking has been straightforward, the service polite, friendly and efficient, and the restaurant choices good and the food quality represents great value. Thank you one again.
Date of stay: May 2023
Room Tip: We have not stayed in the hotel bust have visited the restaurant many times in the past 4+...
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
£105
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
    £105
  • Priceline
0.1 miles from Garth Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£145
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
  • Agoda.com
    £128
  • Hotels.com
    £145
0.4 miles from Garth Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£127
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £127
  • Vio.com
0.2 miles from Garth Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£127
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    £127
  • Vio.com
  • ZenHotels.com
0.5 miles from Garth Hotel
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
0.2 miles from Garth Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Vio.com
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
0.2 miles from Garth Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
0.3 miles from Garth Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
0.7 miles from Garth Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
3.3 miles from Garth Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Grantown-on-Spey
Reviews (127)
Filter reviews
127 results
Traveller rating
77
21
11
15
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
77
21
11
15
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beer garden friendly and welcoming staff nespresso coffee machine date pudding delicious lunch provide fresh garlic chicken creaking floorboards young guy venison main ribeye steak an extensive menu fabulous food pie both mornings fresh milk enjoy your stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 127 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2023 via mobile

Lovely meal in a traditional highland hotel
Good choice on a pretty basic menu but food was well prepared and presented
Drinks selection is a bit limited
Young waiting staff very attentive
It was very busy so best to book in advance for evening meals

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank oldcastlerock
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 August 2023

We stopped off here for Sunday lunch and had a wonderful visit. We chose to dine outside in the beer garden as we had a dog with us and the weather was good. The staff were very friendly and attentive (especially Sheila who was very kind to the dog with treats). The food was served quickly, tasted superb and was very reasonably priced (£20 pp for 2 courses). Will definitely be stopping off again next time we are passing through.

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dogstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 July 2023 via mobile

Think this hotel has tried hard to “ upgrade” it’s amenities,but is very “ tired” Ground floor room was stifling hot with no AC and ability to open windows to the street. Restaurant food was “ marginal” Bar staff ,however,were very helpful.
Grantown on Spey would not make our itinerary on any future visit to Scotland.

Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 June 2023 via mobile

This hotel sits in a commanding position, that's it. The hotel carpark is a piece of waste ground. The beer garden is waste ground. The rooms are ok but need to be modernized. My shower was powerful enough but made a hell of a noise. The food was, in my opinion, below average, the hosting staff, apart from the Stoney faced receptionist, are brilliant and very attentive, would I return.....possibly.

Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank pete8564
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 June 2023

Really good lunch. Six of us had Sunday lunch at the Garth and really enjoyed it. There is a new manager, who is great and the food was excellent. A new menu for Sundays, very reasonably priced. We also ate there a couple of weeks ago on a weekday and enjoyed that too.
Highly recommend for a good lunch and will be back to visit in the evening soon.

Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank KRMx
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews