We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Educational visit.

We were staying in Grantown and determined to learn a little more about this beautiful place - and... read more

Reviewed 21 October 2019
Gary H
,
Glasgow, United Kingdom
never expected it to be this good!

what a delightful museum this is run by volunteers. Tells the story of Speyside, Grantown itself... read more

Reviewed 23 September 2019
242corab
,
Scherpenzeel, The Netherlands
via mobile
Read all 107 reviews
  
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
48
33
21
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
48
33
21
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews interesting visit hudson bay company interesting place great fun history volunteers photos dedication
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 107 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2019 via mobile

what a delightful museum this is run by volunteers. Tells the story of Speyside, Grantown itself and loads of other things. Loved the headphone stories, to be honest never expected it to be this professional! the best was the story about Alexander Graham Bell, you had to lift the receiver of a really old, very heavy, phone to hear the story. the exhibition about our Canadian cousins was very informative. little shop with high quality items. entrance fee is 4£ but really worth it.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank 242corab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WolfieGirl, Director at Grantown Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2019

Thanks so much for visiting our museum and your wonderful comments - we really appreciate it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2019

Beware the map at the 'Square' (it's actually oblong) that is upside down so as to confuse visitors, however the cast iron signs, etc point in the right direction. The museum lies behind the town centre buildings and can be spotted by it's wooden belltower. You get a friendly greeting and before you ask, it's not free. Well worth the price of the 'donation' though and it has a good wee shop with local books for sale. The local history area is quite small and limited in artifacts but tells the story well - I liked the clarsach, which you are invited to strum.

A Scots in Canada exhibition was on in a well presented hall, however it was mostly a reading exercise with a video booth and very few artifacts. A lot of effort to display, however lacking in little in appeal to visitors. The various electronic devices were working which is unusual. Run by volunteers who seemed knowledgeable and helpful if lacking a little in warmth in the case of one of the staff.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Rossergruffydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WolfieGirl, Director at Grantown Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2019

Thanks for visiting the museum and your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2019 via mobile

Just popped in to have a look at the shop and buy a postcard. However, on heading towards the toilets, my husband was made to feel extremely unwelcome by the lady on reception, who asked whether she could help in a tone of voice, and look that suggested she definitely didn’t want to help us. She just came across as very rude. After a brief exchange, she said we could use the facility as long as we made a donation, with which we don’t have a problem, as we appreciate it’s a volunteer lead charity. I would have liked to have had a little look at the shop, but felt pretty uncomfortable, so we quickly left. I appreciate it’s a charity, and people aren’t paid, but I’m sure volunteers can be nice to people, can’t they? Sadly, it put us off visiting the museum.

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank 744nikkic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WolfieGirl, Director at Grantown Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2019

I'm really sorry you did not have a pleasant experience at the museum - are you still in the area? can I invite you back to have a personal guided tour? You can email me at suzi@grantownmuseum.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2019

A warm welcome when we entered the building with the TV switched on for us and then left to enjoy the peaceful atmosphere at our own pace The history of the Hudson Bay Company was very enlightening, not a lot on display but enough to whet the appetite. Definitely a museum to visit

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank the-blackisler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WolfieGirl, Guest Relations Manager at Grantown Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2019

Thanks for your review - glad to hear you enjoyed the museum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2019 via mobile

This small museum is packed with information & displays about the Grants & how the local area & town were established. There is interactive listening points to confirm the details of the displays.
Look out for the clock tower outside.

Date of experience: June 2019
1  Thank U8982CDkarenm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WolfieGirl, Director at Grantown Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2019

Thanks for visiting our museum, and are glad to hear you enjoyed your visit - we appreciate you taking the time to write a review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews