We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highland lunches to a consistently high standard”
Review of Revack Lodge - CLOSED

Revack Lodge
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Highland lunches to a consistently high standard”
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We have visited Revack Estate a number of times both as a couple and with our children. It has the best "assisted" self-service restaurant in the area. Cooked lunches are consistently to a high standard with old favourites plus specials. We always enjoy our meal and afterwards enjoy browsing in the gift shop followed by attractive and interesting walks in the gardens and woodlands. Red squirrels abound here. They are fascinating to watch just a few feet away through the restaurant conservatory windows. There is an extremely popular Sunday buffet and booking is essential for this.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matsudana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    15
    11
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
highlands
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely shop and great for lunch”
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Revack has one of the best gift shops in the area and always offers a lovely lunch with superb cakes to indulge in. I would tend to avoid Sundays as it does get rather over crowded the the buffet is very good value for money.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Moorfield H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Mixed review”
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Lovely shop, pleasant place for a cup of tea and slice of cake but very expensive for sandwiches. I ordered a prawn sandwich and at £6.95 thought it must be something special but when it arrived it was nothing more than what I would have got from a packet except this came with two pringles! Extremely disappointing value and to top it off we got accused of trying to leave without paying our bill. Highlight was watching the red squirrel eating outside the window.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westhill, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Best place for lunch in Grantown on Spey area”
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We have been many times for lunch at Revack, and would recommend this restaurant to anyone wanting a very nice lunch in great surroundings. If you like watching red squirrels, this is the place. Home-made food is great - try Stav's chicken and mushroom pie - and the staff are all very friendly and attentive. Karen is in charge front of house, and is most organised and professional.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lindsayburnett001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Don't pass this one by....”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

If you are in the vicinity of Grantown on Spey and looking for a coffee break or lunch this is a great place to visit. With it's inside or outside eating area the choice is yours, a very varied many menu to chose from. The staff and friendly and very helpful and do have a good sense of humour. Sundays there is a buffet special and that provides a delight of different salads, salmon, ham and beef and fresh rolls. The store has a great stock of items that you won't be able to resist. With bird feeders out on the stoned patio area there is always something to see, birds galore, red squirrels and sometimes their ornatmental pheasant.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank abunni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Revack Lodge also viewed

Dulnain Bridge, Grantown-on-Spey
Grantown-on-Spey, Badenoch and Strathspey
 
Grantown-on-Spey, Badenoch and Strathspey
Grantown-on-Spey, Badenoch and Strathspey
 
Grantown-on-Spey, Badenoch and Strathspey
Grantown-on-Spey, Badenoch and Strathspey
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing