We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a pub should be.”
Review of The Craig Bar

The Craig Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: This bar/restaurant haz a lovely feel about it. There is a small bar with an open fire. Speciality food..pies. A variety of pies to choose from including vegetarian fillings. The supplier provides the uncooked pies and the bar cook them. We were told exactly how long we would need to wait before we could eaf right from the start. All pies served with chips anx and cost about £7.25ish. Beans and gravy cost extra. Tbe pies are to die for.
Dukinfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What a pub should be.”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Off-beat, friendly, good food, great humour and warm atmosphere. Crazy and entertaining, this pub is run by mother and son who are very warm and welcoming. (Great whiskies too). We will definitely go back whenever we visit this area again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie3700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    442
    165
    42
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Good menu but specialising in pies of all ingredients. The atmosphere was warm and welcoming and the food was well presented and prepared to perfection. The place offers good value for money

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A little 'Pie'ce of heaven!”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Wow! What a find. We were in Grantown for 2 nights and decided from the start to try 2 places to eat. Th Craig in was described by our tour guide as "food, they do one thing but they do it well - pie!". This was not far from the mark and on our first night we had fantastic food, a few beers and few more whiskeys, all in the brilliant company of the owner. In fact it was her that suggested that if we fancied a change in menu tomorrow we could bring a take-out in.
The atmosphere was so good that we did exactly that....... Almost! We arrived with our Indian and were warmly welcomed with a round of our usuals. However, once eaten our stomachs still yearned for pie, so we had them as afters :-)
The same welcome from the owners son on the second visit meant we left feeling like locals.
Thank you both and all of the bar staff for a memorable trip to Scotland.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheeseplants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Love these guys”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Good food, good environment, good prices and great fun. The menu is small but you will not be disappointed. Four of us had four different items and all wee satisfied. Go

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gloversvillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“How a pub should be!”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Not knowing where to eat or drink in Grantown On Spey we took advice from TA. Had we seen the pub from the outside we might not of ventured in... but it would seem that looks are only skin deep when it comes to pub exteriors too!....................A cosy, very interesting (military) decor, busy and lively yet relaxed pub!
We were greeted by both staff as soon as we set foot in the door..... as was every single customer! Throughout the couple of hours we spent there... we chatted to Robbie the bartender who entertained us and everyone else the whole time! At the same time serving drinks and buzzing around the pub doing bar tendery type stuff!
Unfortunately we had already eaten so did not have any of the amazing looking and sounding pies (the names/descriptions of the pies - not the noise they made...they didn't make a noise at all actually!). It seemed very busy and very popular and I think a wait is sometimes to be expected for a table....but good things come to those who do and they definitely seem to be worth the wait!
Hard working, very friendly, relaxed, entertaining staff along with the surroundings make this the kind of pub we want as our local - go there!... you won't be disappointed!
We will most definitely be back to enjoy the banter, the craic and the pies!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roonsanddodds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Craig Bar also viewed

Grantown-on-Spey, Badenoch and Strathspey
Grantown-on-Spey, Badenoch and Strathspey
 
Grantown-on-Spey, Badenoch and Strathspey
Grantown-on-Spey, Badenoch and Strathspey
 

Been to The Craig Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing